Player Watch #30: Reece Conca

Probably got cuddled once to often by TI in that venue in coburg...
If you get to meet Reece a few times you will find he's a shy and simple kid with not a bone of malice in him. He almost borders on an introvert type he's that shy.

Imo Prestia is a poor kick and tends to throw the ball onto the boot when under pressure.
What he does bring though is a whole heap of tackles contested possesions more than his fair share of clearances and is good for 20 plus disposals a game. He is good for all these things nearly every week.

Personally i dont need stats to tell me when a bloke has a poor game, i dont need stats to show me a players strengths and weaknesses i can see them for myself.

Personally i dont think Conca is best 22. I think hes been pretty ordinary in three games and servicable in the rest.
His best is good enough but he cant play at his best anywhere near often enough, any small drop off from his best makes him a liability imo.

The current regime drafted him. They have kept him on the list for a very long time when imo he should have been cut. He continues to get games despite never earning them imo. He has regularly come back from injury and got a game in front of blokes who have done plenty in the two's and easily out performed him. He was even rushed into a finals side for god knows what reason.The bloke is clearly a favorite of the coach/coaches.
Imo with this bloke there are double standards.He has rarely ever done enough to warrant automatic selection yet this is what happens he has rarelyever done enough in the two's to warrant selection in front of others who have.
Like a few others it is highly unlikely he will get dropped, he plods along doing what he does and when he has a v/good game persevering with him will be justified by all and sundry.

Personally if people cant see how poor he is in areas or dont think it matters and they think hes playing consistent good footy then theres no way anything anyone says is going to change their minds. All one can do is post his opinion and leave it at that.

Its footy and in this game one blokes favorite player is inevitably a disliked player to others.
it could be said that goes booth ways.
Just reckon we should hold off on this thread until a bit later in the season, ..... or he has a great game or a real stinker.

that's fine but why aren't other afforded the same ?
Good players, have all the time in the world when in congestion as well as having a great sense of where others are and it is evident from a very young age in any level of football.
Those that are not so great always look rushed , unbalanced and have now sense of others around them , which is amplified when the heet comes on.
Conca is in the later.

Disposal efficiency can be a little misleading.. The midfield Conca handballs in a chain more than he kicks and if he cant hit someone running past him with handball well you are't league standard.
I am most nervous when he kicks TBH, he has to many howlers IMO
In saying that I believe on current exposed form he is best 22 and good luck to him !!

Good players, have all the time in the world when in congestion as well as having a great sense of where others are and it is evident from a very young age in any level of football.
Those that are not so great always look rushed , unbalanced and have now sense of others around them , which is amplified when the heet comes on.
Conca is in the later.
But that is not what I see. Sure he did it early in the season playing HB, but since he has gone in the guts he is much more at home (last week hardly played there, so managing him I'd think). He make a mistake or two and everyone jumps on him. But he does some great stuff as well. Playing with confidence I see him as a real positive, and he give us a hard tackling inside mid. We have one of those Prestia, unless we want Cotchin in there.
I think he gets himself out of trouble as good as anyone is the team. He is finding his feet after years out or not in the right space to play footy.
Others were given a go like CEllis, but not up to it, Lloyd was okay but not an inside mid, and the only other is Miles, who I'm sorry has little upside, especially compared to Conca.

Why ? ive watched Conca for going on 8 yrs now and not a lot has changed in that time. I dont need to see much more of him or give him more time i pretty much know what hes going to offer up.

But that is not what I see. Sure he did it early in the season playing HB, but since he has gone in the guts he is much more at home (last week hardly played there, so managing him I'd think). He make a mistake or two and everyone jumps on him. But he does some great stuff as well. Playing with confidence I see him as a real positive, and he give us a hard tackling inside mid. We have one of those Prestia, unless we want Cotchin in there.
I think he gets himself out of trouble as good as anyone is the team. He is finding his feet after years out or not in the right space to play footy.
Others were given a go like CEllis, but not up to it, Lloyd was okay but not an inside mid, and the only other is Miles, who I'm sorry has little upside, especially compared to Conca.
From this post i take it you think him an inside mid. Mate in that role he cant tie Miles shoe laces yet Miles is on the outer.

The form of both of them over their careers as mids is chalk and cheese and just about everything that you can look at suggests this is the case.

Id agree Miles as a pure inside mid has little upside because in that role he actually achieved a very high consistent standard. Actually on a par with Prestia as far as the inside role goes that would make him = 3rd at the club for inside mids.
Gotta ask what upside does Conca have? What you see is what you get the simple fact is at nearly 26 same age as Miles he has not got anywhere near Miles level.

Like Conca and others Miles has weaknesses but IMO he has strengths that at least offset those weaknesses.

As i said one mans favorite is another mans dislike Id take Miles over Conca every single day of the week and i dont see any upside to Conca either.

Why ? ive watched Conca for going on 8 yrs now and not a lot has changed in that time. I dont need to see much more of him or give him more time i pretty much know what hes going to offer up.

From this post i take it you think him an inside mid. Mate in that role he cant tie Miles shoe laces yet Miles is on the outer.

The form of both of them over their careers as mids is chalk and cheese and just about everything that you can look at suggests this is the case.

Id agree Miles as a pure inside mid has little upside because in that role he actually achieved a very high consistent standard. Actually on a par with Prestia as far as the inside role goes that would make him = 3rd at the club for inside mids.
Gotta ask what upside does Conca have? What you see is what you get the simple fact is at nearly 26 same age as Miles he has not got anywhere near Miles level.

Like Conca and others Miles has weaknesses but IMO he has strengths that at least offset those weaknesses.

As i said one mans favorite is another mans dislike Id take Miles over Conca every single day of the week and i dont see any upside to Conca either.
I'd have Conca any day over Miles. Miles gets the ball very well, but has no evasive skills at all. So he dishes off with little vision (usually because he is under the ruck mans feet). So he is a good ordinary player. The speed of the game has left his type behind unless you are big inside player like Fyfe or Cripps. Even at VFL he is an accumulator not a creative player, although he has dropped weight and runs better now. He is only about 180cm and 77kg, very small for a slowish inside mid.

Conca wins the ball at the pack face but has great agility and decent speed, which with confidence and a bit more football, means that he can win the ball and break away with it. He also tackles not only in the contest but chasing blokes down. To me he has loads of upside which he is only just starting to show, although he has always had it, but for injuries.

RFC is in that rare space where the name Conca is not on the injury list. I think the selectors want him IN. He hasn't exactly had mind-blowing good games. Be very interesting to see how it unfolds this year.

My god there is so much over rating of miles here , Sure he gets the ball alot and tries his heart out but butchers the ball like no tomorrow
When he was playing seniors he was handballing alot more and his disposals were masked over.
Watching him in the VFL he is now kicking the ball more and the amount of times i have seen him butcher the ball is crazy,Not saying Conca is a good player but we really dont have a great deal of depth in the midfield if you take out the players with real issue's in Miles,Lloyd,Cellis,Conca

My god there is so much over rating of miles here , Sure he gets the ball alot and tries his heart out but butchers the ball like no tomorrow
When he was playing seniors he was handballing alot more and his disposals were masked over.
Watching him in the VFL he is now kicking the ball more and the amount of times i have seen him butcher the ball is crazy,Not saying Conca is a good player but we really dont have a great deal of depth in the midfield if you take out the players with real issue's in Miles,Lloyd,Cellis,Conca
Yes Reecey is miles in front! ;)

Don't you know you can't criticize Miles whose career has been ruined because he isn't a favorite of Dimma

Miles appears to be a victim of our style of play.
Think they see more value in a player like McIntosh who will get half the possessions of Miles but does a heap of the unsung pressure acts that our MC love, hard two way running, manic pressure on the opposition outlet kick (so many times I notice Macca stopping the easy second chip kick out of defence) and spoiling, harrassing and generally being a pest. Plus, when he is winning the ball he tends to make distance.
Reece also is a harrasser and good pressure player.
Our style is far more than just kicks and handballs, Collingwood had 52 more of them on Sunday and we ended up with 43 more points than them.
A fit Conca suits us more than Miles at this stage.

Miles appears to be a victim of our style of play.
Think they see more value in a player like McIntosh who will get half the possessions of Miles but does a heap of the unsung pressure acts that our MC love, hard two way running, manic pressure on the opposition outlet kick (so many times I notice Macca stopping the easy second chip kick out of defence) and spoiling, harrassing and generally being a pest. Plus, when he is winning the ball he tends to make distance.
Reece also is a harrasser and good pressure player.
Our style is far more than just kicks and handballs, Collingwood had 52 more of them on Sunday and we ended up with 43 more points than them.
A fit Conca suits us more than Miles at this stage.

Exactly this. I’m not sure you rate our players purely on possessions, we are 13th in the league for disposals.

Mind you, Miles has poster boy CEllis covered by the length of the Flemington straight ... and the rest of the track!

I'd have Conca any day over Miles. Miles gets the ball very well, but has no evasive skills at all. So he dishes off with little vision (usually because he is under the ruck mans feet). So he is a good ordinary player. The speed of the game has left his type behind unless you are big inside player like Fyfe or Cripps. Even at VFL he is an accumulator not a creative player, although he has dropped weight and runs better now. He is only about 180cm and 77kg, very small for a slowish inside mid.

Conca wins the ball at the pack face but has great agility and decent speed, which with confidence and a bit more football, means that he can win the ball and break away with it. He also tackles not only in the contest but chasing blokes down. To me he has loads of upside which he is only just starting to show, although he has always had it, but for injuries.
Rubbish inside mids role is to get first hands on the ball and dish it out. Failing that apply pressure to opponents ie tackle.
If we talk performance at the level their really is no comparison Miles wins hands down and it is backed up with stats.
Inside mids need Good stamina their job is to get from contest to contest. Get plenty of ball win contested ball win some clearances and tackle.
At this Miles remains one of the best at the club and Conca doesnt lay a glove on him.

Conca has never ever reached a consistent high standard in any area of the game and at age 26 he is never likely to.Hes prone to brain fades, poor decision making, and poor ball use and quite frankly doesnt win enough C/P'S or consistently get enough ball.
You mentionEed Conca's role is inside mid in that role and its proven Miles kills him.

So we cant agree with our eyes so lets look at the stats.

. Conca Miles.
DISPOSALS - 17.8 - 22.2
Kicks -10.2 - 11.1
H/Balls - 7.6 - 11.1
C/P'S - 6.1 - 10.3
Clr - - 2.1 - 4.9
Tackles - 3.5 - 4.1

Would also add that Miles has a better Disposal efficiency than Conca a better inside 50 rate and a better goals average.

Finally people who can't be seen to be wrong accuse him of being as slow as they come, yet hes as quick as half the list and no slower than some of the games best inside players.
Those inside stats stack up very favorably to Prestia and arent that far off Cotchin.Of course those two are a bit more rounded and do more on the outside.
Miles inside game doesnt need an upside its been consistently good enough for a long time Unlike Conca's

To me the most important area for an inside mid is an ability to win inside and contested ball, its what they are there to do.They also need to lay Tackles and win some Clearances when the opportunity arises and have a tank that enables them to get from contest to contest.

Mopsy and Goldy stirring up shit again while the Tiges go marching on !!!

:D:D:p:D:D:p:p:D:p:p:p:D:D:D

Yeah, what a d***h****! Contributed one post in the last six pages defending Miles, yet you try and stir everyone into a lather and being the eternal tosspot thinking I don't like us winning games.
So so old!!!

So we cant agree with our eyes so lets look at the stats.

. Conca Miles.
DISPOSALS - 17.8 - 22.2
Kicks -10.2 - 11.1
H/Balls - 7.6 - 11.1
C/P'S - 6.1 - 10.3
Clr - - 2.1 - 4.9
Tackles - 3.5 - 4.1

careful mopsy, stats mean nothing and it is more the 'visual feel.' stats are not allowed to be dissected.
your stats do seem to paint a winner by about half a length. but I think we are all on a hiding to nothing comparing our own.
they are both quality players. and conca has had his injury issues which may affect those figures.
For me it's conca and for you miles. I respect that.
however we look at it the tigers are in good shape having these quality players laying around ready for action.

Conca is in the later.
rubbish, its his frantic style, a lot of good footballers do it. how many time have we seen cyril ran around like a headless chook.

Yeah, what a d***h****! Contributed one post in the last six pages defending Miles, yet you try and stir everyone into a lather and being the eternal tosspot thinking I don't like us winning games.
So so old!!!
Yep here i am actually defending a very good Richmond player and still cop crap. Nothing changes with the eternal optimists. dont dare criticise any player or take a balanced approach where you look at both sides of the coin for fear of copping the crap that we do.

Its laughable that people really think Conca has outperformed Anthony Miles when theres not one skerrick of evidence to support the stance.
But wait the club plays Conca over Miles so they must be right.Unthinking ill informed sheep.If the club said it was okay to jump off a cliff im sure they would.

Mind you, Miles has poster boy CEllis covered by the length of the Flemington straight ... and the rest of the track!
In ya dreams mate, If CEllis is offered for trade or wants out... 17 other clubs would be interested and bidding would start north of 300k too. Milesy didnt get a nibble last year and sadly/good luck to him, he's likely to be playing for a rich country club next year.

Yep here i am actually defending a very good Richmond player and still cop crap. Nothing changes with the eternal optimists. dont dare criticise any player or take a balanced approach where you look at both sides of the coin for fear of copping the crap that we do.

Its laughable that people really think Conca has outperformed Anthony Miles when theres not one skerrick of evidence to support the stance.
But wait the club plays Conca over Miles so they must be right.Unthinking ill informed sheep.If the club said it was okay to jump off a cliff im sure they would.

Can only suggest blokes like that that seriously lack in the rest of their lives, so have to compensate by taking pot shots at others who don't share some of their views on Big Footy. Pretty pathetic!
As I sarcastically posted on here last week, only to be pulled up, best and fairest votes mean nothing (which of course they do).
What do they reveal.
Well Miles finished third in 2015, sixth in 2016 and 11th in 2014 in about 11 games ..... double his vote tally for a full season and he comfortably wins it. And he wins the ressies b&f last year.
It's a record in our b@f the envy of all bar Martim, Cotchin and Rance for consistency, yet the eternal optimists continue to illuminate his flaws and paint him out to be a dud. Pathetic!!!
FFS ... had two blokes sitting on him all day in the Twos last week and still racked up 26 possies and was in our best. Yet blokes on here knock him all for a petty gripe with some fellow posters and continue to talk up CEllis' amazing 12 possession game. Incredible!

In ya dreams mate, If CEllis is offered for trade or wants out... 17 other clubs would be interested and bidding would start north of 300k too. Milesy didnt get a nibble last year and sadly/good luck to him, he's likely to be playing for a rich country club next year.

CEllis has made a fool of enough of you. A miserly 12 possessions last week ... but let me guess .... was it:
A: Limited pre-season that only affects one bloke every year on our list .. him?
B. He's still maturing (because no 18 or 19 yo, let alone a 21yo ever came good)?
C. Troubles at home?
D. He needs the confidebce.

Save it ..
E. No good.
You were probably one of the blokes telling me Lennon was going to come good and he'd have clubs chasing him .... and how Griff's 19th year at the club would prove us all wrong!