Past #5: Ben Jacobs - delisted after 64 NM games/10 NM goals - thanks Benny

Yep. True professional. Ask anyone at the club and they will tell you just how hard he worked during the week. Studying opposition players and working with the coaches.

Will be gutted if he can't get back.

unfortunately mate, i think we are all going to be gutted.
if this lasest surgery is one final try to play footy, i reckon its a hail,mary type chance.
jws, curren, now jacobs and posibbly wrighty.....:-(

Surely, SURELY even if both BJ and Wright are injured but still a chance to play in 2018 then we sign them up on 1 year deals. Nothing to be lost by it, they'd be on average salaries and we'll still have > $2.5m in the kitty litter. Plus they are both very well liked among the playing group.

I dont think injury is the question in 2018.

Its whether or not the injury will ever repair/ end of career discussion

Luck is when preparation meets opportunity.

Unfortunately, we don't prepare the young lads to step up very well...

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
The foot isn't some motivational cat poster.

Luck is when preparation meets opportunity.

Unfortunately, we don't prepare the young lads to step up very well...

Ahhhh yes we do. Unfortunately these issues happen in all spots. The foot/ankle region is a mine field.
I believe he is going to get a third opinion by an interstate specialist over the coming weeks. The prognosis was not good from our melbourne based specialists....
God dammit!

Ahhhh yes we do. Unfortunately these issues happen in all spots. The foot/ankle region is a mine field.

God dammit!
OK. Let me clarify.

Injuries are almost guaranteed in our sport. So, it would be pertinent to prepare the second and third tier to step up and not only fill the role of those injured, but to also make the most of the opportunity.

Those who bang on about luck this, luck that, they had soo much luck are making excuses.

Luck plays a very, very, very small part in putting together a solid list of performers...

OK. Let me clarify.

Injuries are almost guaranteed in our sport. So, it would be pertinent to prepare the second and third tier to step up and not only fill the role of those injured, but to also make the most of the opportunity.

Those who bang on about luck this, luck that, they had soo much luck are making excuses.

Luck plays a very, very, very small part in putting together a solid list of performers...

....well where would you have ranked Jacobs?

Outside of 2015 he was probably 3rd tier looking like heading off to Werribee.

His 2015 was exceptional that put him into 2nd tier.

How do you replace a 2nd tier with a 3rd tier and expect him to get to the levels of totally blanketing the best midfielders in the game?

Maybe someone will emerge in 2018.

But when you have 7 years of a Coach telling the world that we 'don't tag at North', the gap was always going to be huge to fill.

OK. Let me clarify.

Here's an exercise for you - compare Richmond's injury list from the middle of this year to now against ours for the same period last year. And then tell us who the dozen Richmond players are that would have stepped in and got them to the big dance.

It's just crap to suggest luck plays a very (x3? wtf?) small part.

Ziebell and Cunnington miss this bloke more than we do.
He absolutely made their lives so much easier I reckon the whole playing group would be just about shattered.

Great news Brufen. I can only presume the prognosis is good news following his most recent procedure. Fingers crossed he can have a solid injury free preseason. Somewhere in the Greek Isles Cotchin is waking in a cold sweat.

forgot the n :-D

Benny Jacobs has been offered a new one year contract at NMFC for 2018.

Best of luck BJ

1xaf58.jpg