Bruman

Rookie
Has there been any fallout about the 50mtr penalty paid against Kane JOhnson Sat Night.. Heard plenty about richo push but nothing about the 50..

I tell you what was an absolute disgrace. Sugar got penalised 50m which showed an absolute lack of football knowledge from the umpire. OK we can accept that because surely there will be consistency- right? Wrong. Golden child, fairy boy, get the easy kick, Jimmy Hird does exactly what Kane did, the result. Of course NO 50. Interesting was Geish says.

don't blame Hird - neither of those should have been 50. You guys were r*ped with that first 50, but that doesn't mean Hird should have been pinged too.

But that’s the point Lance. All we supporters are asking for is consistency. If the three umpires see the first one paid then they MUST pay the second one. The standard has been set for the match. If they do not agree with this standard, then one on the two other umpires must run in and reverse the first 50 which was clearly wrong. The problem that exists is that umpires are loath to over-rule a fellow field umpire (although they have no problem calling for another ball in) this in my opinion smacks of cronyism.

I agree in principle. Mate, even I was saying that that was blatant hypocritical rubbish.

I just feel that 2 rights don't make a wrong. The first should never have been given. However, given it, I wouldn't have been too distraught if Hird was penalised, because you guys got robbed and it would at least have been consistent.

It does when the umpires are supposed to be consistent.

If you pay one then you should pay the other.

Doesnt matter if its right or wrong, the fact is it was paid before, all supporters / players ask for is consistency with umpiring.

We get nothing and when they review the match they always come back with everything was fine, one of 2 decisions may have been incorrect.

It's BS

I agree in principle. Mate, even I was saying that that was blatant hypocritical rubbish.

I just feel that 2 rights don't make a wrong. The first should never have been given. However, given it, I wouldn't have been too distraught if Hird was penalised, because you guys got robbed and it would at least have been consistent.

Over the course of two matches I agree that two wrongs do not make a right. However within a match all that matters is that the umpirers are consistent. However they interpret a rule at the begining of a game is how they must continue to interpret the same rule. Unfortunately that seems to be beyond the mental abilities of most umpirers and definately well beyond the abilities of Jeff Gieshen.

As you stated, given the first one was paid you wouldn't have had any problem with the second one being paid. That is because the umpirers would have been consistently interpreting the 50 meter rule. The fact that the interpretation was wrong should be a matter for another time, what would be important is that over the course of the match the interpretation was consistent. Again that is all we (the supporters) are asking for.

Wasnt it McPhee??

In the forward pocket when Richo kicked the goal anyway from the pocket but McPhee kick it away long after the umpire blew the whistle??

Or am I thinking of another incident?

There were 2.

Johnson got pinged for hanging on to a guy after a mark. 6 minutes to go in the second quarter Hird did the same thing and nothing.

Late in the last Richo got pinged for playing on after the whistle. Earlier on McPhee did the same (way, way, way after the whistle) and nothing.

2 horrible inconsistencies from the umpires.

what's everyones thoughts on the 50m against rhicho that won the game for the dons?? i personally think its a croc of s***?

thoughts?

what's everyones thoughts on the 50m against rhicho that won the game for the dons?? i personally think its a croc of s***?

thoughts?
The 50 was shit but . . .

It didnt win them the game.

I dont even think they scored from that and we shouldve had composure to stop them scoring and have another dip and score ourselves.

We must move on.

What about Newmans run down of Winderlick? he chased him 100 metres down the ground and tackled him as he was going to kick and he didnt dispose of the ball properly and it was called play on, how the hell can it not be holding the footy if you have been runned down after taking the ball almost 100 metres? At least it didnt cost us and we got a goal from the rebound.

Agree with you there it was a good tackle and was a free kick 100%. However the umpire dont like it getting called holding the ball its more incorrect disposal which it was however not paid. People say we should not bag em why thats part of the reason i go to the games. Umpire bashing is good :thumbsu:

I still reckon Newman tackled correctly & was not rewarded...
Hird's "wonder tackle" was a push in the back and cost a goal...
Go figure...:cool:

There were 2.

Johnson got pinged for hanging on to a guy after a mark. 6 minutes to go in the second quarter Hird did the same thing and nothing.

Late in the last Richo got pinged for playing on after the whistle. Earlier on McPhee did the same (way, way, way after the whistle) and nothing.

Richo's 50 was actually given for backchat by another player, not for Richo playing on. But McPhee's should have been a 50 aswell.

Same goes with Hirds tackle on Meyer. Wasnt paid as a free, and we still got a goal from it.

You've lost me there Donsman.

How can you compare Newman running down Winderlich after chasing for a long time and Meyer getting a quick handball and tackled without prior opportunity.

Stupid comparison.

There were 2.

Terry has spoken to the geish about this one, expect some payback this week, we are going to get crucified

I still reckon Newman tackled correctly & was not rewarded...
Hird's "wonder tackle" was a push in the back and cost a goal...
Go figure...:cool:

Good tackle by newman however got stuff all for it :( As for hird ofcourse they wont pay it against him after all the umpires love him that much he gets away with alot. All depends on who you are if it gets paid or not.

That 10 grand Hird had to pay went to a good cause for the Dons's....
Maybe they can ping Richo 10 grand this week for his comments and then go soft on us for the next couple of years.:D

If only lol. However Terry going to speak with the umpires boss today. Wont help us come sat night now will it :( . Wonder when we will get Brett Allen as an umpire again this year hmm