Free Agent # 6: Joe Daniher (part 1)

Dont underestimate the impact losing Daniher and Fantasia will have on our teams morale and culture. Our best year in recent memory 2017 was based off these two boys being all smiles, kicking snags and taking grabs. They have big personalities and are positive types, that helps build the kind of culture Richmond have now. No amount of draft picks can replace that.... except for maybe like 5 first round draft picks... that would replace it...
I dunno. If it happens I'm sure there'll be disappointment in the playing group but I reckon it would be moved along pretty quickly and even act to galvanise the rest of them. I think the biggest impact will be on our forward line as they would been looking forward to having both fit and firing next year. It would be a bit deflating but footy teams tend to move on pretty quickly I think.

On field, definitely. But have a look at what the 3x first rounders did for Port Adelaide this year. In the interviews I’ve seen there’s been a few port players talk about the excitement they brought into the club, a breath of fresh air for the playing group.
Just a theory

On field, definitely. But have a look at what the 3x first rounders did for Port Adelaide this year. In the interviews I’ve seen there’s been a few port players talk about the excitement they brought into the club, a breath of fresh air for the playing group.
Just a theory

But they actually played the kids..........

What makes you think that?

I have doubts he'll say anything much publicly. I'd imagine one way or another we'll only hear about it around the time something happens, whether he's definitely going or definitely staying.
Just figured the Friday before trade period is usually the deadline when things are announced. Think Shiel was a similar time frame

Maybe for players who have announced they are leaving and have many suitors. Otherwise things often don't get announced.

Trade period is only open for 9 days, would be hard to get a deal done if club is still in the dark.

I still don't get how the Swans will fit in his assumed big contract with Buddy on $1.5m next two years.

I dunno. If it happens I'm sure there'll be disappointment in the playing group but I reckon it would be moved along pretty quickly and even act to galvanise the rest of them. I think the biggest impact will be on our forward line as they would been looking forward to having both fit and firing next year. It would be a bit deflating but footy teams tend to move on pretty quickly I think.

This, particularly the bolded. If they leave the players could adopt a "screw you" mentality, might drive them to succeed even more to prove a point we're more than a couple KPF's. We can piss and moan about something being wrong at the club, but you look at Draper (4 years) Francis (3 years) Walla (3) Redman (2) Parish (2) you tend to withhold going down the doom and gloom rabbit hole. We've got great players who want to play for this club.

....could be worse too, look at the Crows...

This, particularly the bolded. If they leave the players could adopt a "screw you" mentality, might drive them to succeed even more to prove a point we're more than a couple KPF's. We can piss and moan about something being wrong at the club, but you look at Draper (4 years) Francis (3 years) Walla (3) Redman (2) Parish (2) you tend to withhold going down the doom and gloom rabbit hole. We've got great players who want to play for this club.

Exactly. Throw in new recruits with their unbridled enthusiasm to be a part of it all and just play and it's all good.

Can't like this enough. Ultimately we want players at the club who want to be there. The names you mentioned will be outstanding players for our club and will lead us into our next phase whatever that may be.

Trade period is only open for 9 days, would be hard to get a deal done if club is still in the dark.

I still don't get how the Swans will fit in his assumed big contract with Buddy on $1.5m next two years.
Who said anything about the clubs being in the dark? Clubs know plenty of things that don't get announced or leaked. If something is agreed upon then we'll find out quickly or if he's definitely going to stay at Essendon then we'll also know quickly I imagine. Anywhere in between it will all remain speculation IMO.

Guys on contracts seems to mean not much at all. Re-sign today, ask for a trade a few months later. Any club that loses two of their most important half dozen players is going to take a big hit on the field and mentally. If you then fall behind following year, all of a sudden other players start thinking I may have more success elsewhere

What about when he first started showing signs of injury though. Do you think it was mismanagement by the club to play him 3 times in 10 days or whatever it was around Anzac Day last year when he clearly wasn't right? Or was it more a case of Joe not being completely upfront about how he was feeling?
The latter.

Anyone happy for him to go watch ANZAC Day this year and come back to me.
And then watch his next game and count the games he missed after it .....

Didn't he come back from injury and our rocket science coaches threw him into the ruck.

When he gets full clearance from the medical staff how are the coaches not to argue ?

Surely it should have been a case of 'needs a run' . Bit like asking Usain Bolt to run a half marathon first up.