Player Watch #9: Luke Davies-Uniacke [Part II] - '24 SBM - re-signed until the end of 2032 [7 year deal]

Toxic shit and I doubt the playing group is all zen with each other.

I doubt any of them are.

I assume after a loss like that there is ructions between players and between players and coaches.

but it doesn't matter, we've been at this so f***ing long it doesn't matter.

It absolutely boggles my mind that any player who works hard enough to even make the AFL isn't busting their arse to get the absolute most out of it.

So many passengers so many content with rocking up getting flogged.

As of right now the only player we've drafted that has a meaningful accolade is Sheez. Everyone else, regardless of Syd Barkers or not, the biggest thing in their careers is being part of the worst era AFL side.

Clarko spoke about the dash and about legacy, well currently that is theirs.

I agree the 50 against LDU was 100% warranted, and it was ****ing stupid by him.

But the issue I have, is if the free was to one of our players and the opposition did that, the ump would have gone with "Hurry up, pick up the ball".
Just like they do whenever the oppo throw the ball back to us and it bounces and rolls away. They never pay the 50, only tell us to stop sooking and pick it up.
I've watched every game you guys play & I've never seen that happen.

either have I.

However, in the last quarter Geelong player kicked the ball away and we did not get a 50.

So while is disagree somewhat with the example I am not sure the premise is without foundation.

Of course it is.

Where's that stuff sposed to come from - a consistent system with consistent standards.
Regardless of coach I reckon standards across the board wouldn’t tolerate things like that 50 , there are a few instances of that type of thing happening im not saying many coaches isn’t a factor but it is a smaller factor of the mess we are in.

Its players like Luke who need to drive it, it’s part of the package that comes with the $$

I doubt any of them are.

I assume after a loss like that there is ructions between players and between players and coaches.

It absolutely boggles my mind that any player who works hard enough to even make the AFL isn't busting their arse to get the absolute most out of it.

As of right now the only player we've drafted that has a meaningful accolade is Sheez. Everyone else, regardless of Syd Barkers or not, the biggest thing in their careers is being part of the worst era AFL side.

Would it be worse if there were fractures, or if there weren't, and everything was tickety boo, with bum taps and laughter aplenty?

Did you see the game against the Bulldogs where Xerri got whacked in the head by Darcy in the last quarter and was lying face down on the ground? No free kick. Ball up 10 meters out from our goal.

Xerri then did the exact same thing the following week to Sparrow. Xerri gets suspended for 3 weeks and Melbourne get a free kick.

This is just one example of many absolute howlers that have gone against us, (the non-free to Xerri in this case), throughout the season that simply don't happen to other clubs.

Did you see the game against the Bulldogs where Xerri got whacked in the head by Darcy in the last quarter and was lying face down on the ground? No free kick. Ball up 10 meters out from our goal.

Xerri then did the exact same thing the following week to Sparrow. Xerri gets suspended for 3 weeks and Melbourne get a free kick.

Jesus Christ these incidents were nothing alike.

And you reckon you call a spade a spade?

Jesus Christ these incidents were nothing alike.

And you reckon you call a spade a spade?

Nothing alike? So Xerri didn't cop a forearm to the head which left him lying on the ground? And then was subsequently removed from the ground for a concussion test?

Was that the only knock to the head he received before the test?

and put the Darcy and sparrow vision together - there is no comparison. They are not the “exact same thing”.

You are making yourself look like a fool going down this line.

I doubt any of them are.

Nail head mate

If there are no consequences to poor performance then why will shit ever change.

As long as the next months pay run clears on time then who gives a shit.

Lots of them on guaranteed coin and whether they are playing AFL, VFL our sitting out injured - it’s all irrelevant.

Skills, speed, ability :heavycheck:
Smarts, positioning, decision making :crossmark:
Effort, in game and outside :crossmark:

He is not elite, a-grader, whatever you want to call it. Ridiculous contract we signed him on - we should have been best placed to know these things, and we have overcommitted on a player who isn't driving improvement.

He looks cool bro, but is a factor in why we can't get it together.

Don't excuse him for not chasing just because no one else is. At his age, in his position, with his salary, he should be showing the way, not just running with the crowd.
Couldn't have put it any more succinctly.

I know it won’t happen so it’s hardly worth floating the idea, but I would be shopping him end of season.

We’d be made to look stupid with how good he’d be in a hawks or Geelong jumper but it’s still 100% the right call imo.

This guy is exactly what we don’t need now.

Player Watch #9: Luke Davies-Uniacke [Part II] - '24 SBM - re-signed until the end of 2032 [7 year deal]