BrownPaperBag
- Sep 26, 2024
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
That was a 50 every time it was an easy callTBF, last week I saw squillions just as bad. Umpire interpretation at its usual.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
That was a 50 every time it was an easy callTBF, last week I saw squillions just as bad. Umpire interpretation at its usual.
It was shocking. People paid out Luke McDonald for throwing the ball 20m+ to a player on the first bounce (something we never get frees for even when the interpretation isn't 1930s convent school levels of strictness like it was for Luke in that game,) but what LDU did was incredibly dumb, not unlucky/ripped off.That was a 50 every time it was an easy call
It was shocking. People paid out Luke McDonald for throwing the ball 20m+ to a player on the first bounce (something we never get frees for even when the interpretation isn't 1930s convent school levels of strictness like it was for Luke in that game,) but what LDU did was incredibly dumb, not unlucky/ripped off.
He did it and ran back, he was making the effort to get back and defend not to hold up play imo. It was just not a very smart way to do it.Yep. If he wanted to hold things up he could have stopped and asked the ump whose free it was, acting like it could’ve been a line ball advantage situation.
Dropping the ball like he did was silly
Tom Harley from Geelong spoke about the constructive criticism their leadership team gave Gary Ablett Jnr early on his career. Basically they said “we need you to be at your best because your best takes us all to another level”.
After those chats Gary had the biggest pre-season of his life and turned himself into one of the most damaging players in the history of the competition.
While I don’t think LDU had the ceiling of GAJ, he sure does have far higher ceiling than his current output suggests. He has the scope to be a top 10 player in the comp if he really wants it, but he is quickly running out of time.
I just hope that someone within the 4 walls is having the same conversations with LDU that Harley & co had with GAJ.
If he wants to see this club improve, why doesn’t he throw it on his back, become the player who reaches his potential and brings everyone along with him for the ride.
Problem with this is, GAJ had his shit well in order by about 2008. For LDU, the equivalent year age wise was 2023. GAJ then had one of the greatest seasons ever in 2009. LDU's equivalent year age wise was 2024.Tom Harley from Geelong spoke about the constructive criticism their leadership team gave Gary Ablett Jnr early on his career. Basically they said “we need you to be at your best because your best takes us all to another level”.
After those chats Gary had the biggest pre-season of his life and turned himself into one of the most damaging players in the history of the competition.
While I don’t think LDU had the ceiling of GAJ, he sure does have far higher ceiling than his current output suggests. He has the scope to be a top 10 player in the comp if he really wants it, but he is quickly running out of time.
I just hope that someone within the 4 walls is having the same conversations with LDU that Harley & co had with GAJ.
If he wants to see this club improve, why doesn’t he throw it on his back, become the player who reaches his potential and brings everyone along with him for the ride.
GAJ also wasn't playing in the worst team in 5 decades - otherwise completely agree. Time is ticking. The great players show up and deliver to an exceptional standard, whether or not their team mates are along for the ride.Problem with this is, GAJ had his shit well in order by about 2008. For LDU, the equivalent year age wise was 2023. GAJ then had one of the greatest seasons ever in 2009. LDU's equivalent year age wise was 2024.
Time's flat out running out. And who really has faith in any of these players anymore
I don’t think mentally he is built that way. Last year, he played some brilliant footy. A few BOG performances. But how many times can you remember him carrying the team on his back?Tom Harley from Geelong spoke about the constructive criticism their leadership team gave Gary Ablett Jnr early on his career. Basically they said “we need you to be at your best because your best takes us all to another level”.
LDU was very good last year.Problem with this is, GAJ had his shit well in order by about 2008. For LDU, the equivalent year age wise was 2023. GAJ then had one of the greatest seasons ever in 2009. LDU's equivalent year age wise was 2024.
Time's flat out running out. And who really has faith in any of these players anymore
For the love of Ding get someone there to train our mids to not over kick the footy so our forwards have a chance to run to it. Watching Suns vs Brissie live on Saturday how they kick it to their players either on the lead or if stationary to their advantage should be practiced over and over and over and over in the off season.Tom Harley from Geelong spoke about the constructive criticism their leadership team gave Gary Ablett Jnr early on his career. Basically they said “we need you to be at your best because your best takes us all to another level”.
I don’t think mentally he is built that way. Last year, he played some brilliant footy. A few BOG performances. But how many times can you remember him carrying the team on his back?
I would say Xerri, Zurhaar, even Jy have done that before.
Just can’t really remember Luke doing it.
I’d bloody well hope he has a higher ceiling than he’s shown for the cash he’s onTom Harley from Geelong spoke about the constructive criticism their leadership team gave Gary Ablett Jnr early on his career. Basically they said “we need you to be at your best because your best takes us all to another level”.
That should now be his norm. I don't think it ever will beLDU was very good last year.
Especially compared to this year.
I hope you're wrong about that.That should now be his norm. I don't think it ever will be
Me tooI hope you're wrong about that.
The fact that LDU, who will be 27 next year, needs a mentor, is damning.The reason why I specifically mentioned GAJ was because he had that similar laconic and not overly competitive nature. Much the same as LDU.
But when the responsibility was thrust upon for the reason of making those better around him, it finally clicked.
For the sake of our development, we really need to be contacting ex champion players and engaging them to mentor our youngsters because we just don’t have the leadership inside our 4 walls.
Get Joel Selwood to mentor Wardlaw.
Nathan Buckley to mentor LDU.
More needs to be done to get the absolute best out of this so called “talent”
Its not surprising.The fact that LDU, who will be 27 next year, needs a mentor, is damning.
Ferbs I love you mate, you know this but there is shit LDU and other senior players do that is nothing to do with changing coaches. I don’t think some kind of mentoring is a bad idea but honestly nothing will change if there isn’t consequences either in match or at the selection table there are expectations that come with the pay packet and if it was true that he wanted improvement from us before he recommitted then he should be held to such standards.Its not surprising.
He's 26 and hasn't had the same coach for two full seasons in a row!
The coaches he has had include Rhyce Shaw, David Noble and Brett Ratten. None of these guys were at the club for more than two years in any capacity.
The closest he had to mentor's were Higgo and Cunners and both of these players were great attacking mids but very poor on defensive transition and neither are available when LDU needs mentoring regarding putting the side on his back. But no one at the club for a long period of time who had a history of doing that who he and other players could talk to is available either.
There is no TBF about it. Thats a 50 EVERY TIME. Has been for 47 years!TBF, last week I saw squillions just as bad. Umpire interpretation at its usual.
I dont agree with this. He has too many outside influences like Matty Lloyd and Gerard Healy for that to be the case. He’s an introvert that is down. Its obvious. The bloke is held at every contest, he holds someone free kick against.I think the worry is he signed a 7 year deal with us, when the team showed next to no improvement.
He will probably retire at 30-31 and get paid a settlement on his last 1or 2 years.
Don’t think he even has enough drive to swap clubs for a chance at success.
Too easy to get paid big bucks, stay out of the limelight and have no piers to answer to.
Of course it is.Ferbs I love you mate, you know this but there is shit LDU and other senior players do that is nothing to do with changing coaches. I don’t think some kind of mentoring is a bad idea but honestly nothing will change if there isn’t consequences either in match or at the selection table there are expectations that come with the pay packet and if it was true that he wanted improvement from us before he recommitted then he should be held to such standards.