Player Watch #9: Luke Davies-Uniacke [Part II] - '24 SBM - re-signed until the end of 2032 [7 year deal]

Paging ChairmanZia
Check In R U Ok GIF by Audacy

Irrelevant anyway because we were never matching the magoo offer, zero reason why we wouldnt match any ldu offer, but why lowball him in the first place.
Yep. Pay the man what he wants for as long as he wants
If I were him I'd be waiting till the end of the season simply because while we say he's had a poor start to the year its been a similar year to last year so far but he is building a bit and with some continuity could tear the second half of the season apart like in 2022. He hasn't had as many 30+ games this year but he's been more consistent, dealt with more attention and seems to be playing a blocking role for the younger guys as well. (Which is why another bigger older mid would be good imo.)

If he or his manager thinks we can win a few off his efforts later in the year that would help make his pay appear reasonable (if its insanely high).

Tired of the Dan Howe hate, played a role for us in a difficult year. While he was a limited player he always put in his best effort
He was a limited player. If he could dispose of the ball better he'd still be playing cos everything else was okay. No surprise he's blitzing in a league where the standards are lower. Only the very best get away with major weaknesses in their game at AFL level.

I feel for ChairmanZia, in times as troubling as these they have succumbed to their pessimism and angst. But in life there must be balance.

From this point on I will stand as a beacon of optimism, of hope in these trying times. The Anti-Chairman if you will.

Don’t come and cry here when he stays.

I can see the sign(ature) of LDU.

Sadly true.

Ben McKay Opens Up On His Future At North​

Ben McKay Opens Up On His Future At North

One of 2023’s most lucrative free agents Ben McKay has reaffirmed his love for North Melbourne on Triple M Footy’s Saturday Rub.

BEN MCKAY TALKS ABOUT HIS FUTURE:​

McKay is out of contract at the end of the year, and is currently dealing with a stress fracture in his toe, but he says the past off-season has been a breath of fresh air for the Roos.

“I’m loving the club mate.

“The last three or four months is the best I’ve had in seven years.

“The changes we’ve had, starting from Clarko and Todd Viney, and the maturity of the group from a holistic point of view has been very impressive.

“I can understand the talk but I’m really happy.”
Difference is McKay had our blessing to take the offer given the compo we'd receive in return. Unless we finish bottom next year nothing we'd get for LDU would be worth it.

Sadly true.

Ben McKay Opens Up On His Future At North​

Ben McKay Opens Up On His Future At North

One of 2023’s most lucrative free agents Ben McKay has reaffirmed his love for North Melbourne on Triple M Footy’s Saturday Rub.

BEN MCKAY TALKS ABOUT HIS FUTURE:​

McKay is out of contract at the end of the year, and is currently dealing with a stress fracture in his toe, but he says the past off-season has been a breath of fresh air for the Roos.

“I’m loving the club mate.

“The last three or four months is the best I’ve had in seven years.

“The changes we’ve had, starting from Clarko and Todd Viney, and the maturity of the group from a holistic point of view has been very impressive.

“I can understand the talk but I’m really happy.”
You are failing to understand the key factor here. Ben would probably still be a kanga if we paid him what * are paying him. We decided he was not worth what he was asking.

Thats the difference right there.

To be completely honest, with all the bagging and slandering of that big nose goose. Thats a decision worth its weight in gold

I feel for ChairmanZia, in times as troubling as these they have succumbed to their pessimism and angst. But in life there must be balance.

From this point on I will stand as a beacon of optimism, of hope in these trying times. The Anti-Chairman if you will.

Don’t come and cry here when he stays.

I can see the sign(ature) of LDU.
ChairmanZia is that JayZee flog.. 90% sure

Said it before already but we should have signed LDU on a long term contract before anyone else. He has been through this garbage period the longest and deserved to be rewarded based on form. His reaction to Sheezel's long term contract announcement said it all. Sheeze was going nowhere. There was no need to rush him. I feel this has a bit to do with the current situation.

You are failing to understand the key factor here. Ben would probably still be a kanga if we paid him what * are paying him. We decided he was not worth what he was asking.

Thats the difference right there.

To be completely honest, with all the bagging and slandering of that big nose goose. Thats a decision worth its weight in gold
McKay didn't want to stay a roo mate. Even Brady said it publicly that Ben and his manager never opened talks with us.

"No doubt my manager and the club can be talking next year, I’ve got no doubt they’ll get something done."

That's all I need to hear
Personally I won’t be able to remain comfortable about his long term future with us unless he extends this year. Preferably soon and long term. He’s just way, way too important to our footy club to leave this hanging over us all over the summer.

Interesting quote from McKercher’s manager about why there’s no rush to extend his contract - he said typically negotiations for wanted players start 1.5 years prior to the current contracting ending (McKercher has 2.5 years remaining).

LDU’s words sound promising but a contract extension sooner rather than later will spare this thread of 100s of anxiety ridden pages.

At hospital with pnumonia...
So sorry to hear that, you know at the end of the day we are all ROO SUPPORTERS so even if we take the p*ss out of one & another its all in good fun, but gee wiz I really hope you get better and get out of the hospital and back home, pneumonia is a terrible thing to have, had it a few times and its not something you forget, get better ChairmanZia!!!!

Personally I won’t be able to remain comfortable about his long term future with us unless he extends this year.
Same here, but his comments are a world apart from Zurhaar's. Zurhaar's read like a bloke looking for a reason to leave, and LDU's read like a bloke looking for a reason to stay.

Player Watch #9: Luke Davies-Uniacke [Part II] - '24 SBM - re-signed until the end of 2032 [7 year deal]