A. Browne

• Thread starter Thread starter Roby

Did Browne shit in your breakfast cereal, Bazzar?

No...I think he is upset because in the week leading up to Gus getting dropped, Bazzar and Razor were pumping Gus's tyres as the rest of us were questioning his efforts and skill.

To validate the opinion of Graham, and his 'crucifying at the selection table', Browne seems to be in the firing line.

Personally I think, as someone else stated,Browne didn't dominate, but his second efforts and pushing to the contests was great.

The thing is mate, Browne got down and got dirty and wasn't afraid to get on his hands and knees when the pill was on the ground.
Gus would have been standing huffing and puffing, 30 metres away from the contest.

Just to clarify, I was sticking up for Browne in my post.

No, im just perplexed the hatred for Gus when he is clearly a better player, and im even more perplexed at how everyone here has rated Brownes game as exceptional, when in fact it was just passable.
How can you say Gus is clearly a better player? Browne may not have the same natural ability but he has 2nd,3rd and 4th efoorts which is all you can ask with such a young inexpierenced player.

Ok he is a young inexperienced player. Lets see how long we trundle that out for. Cant wait to see his 1st effort start to make his opponents have to opt for their 2nd, 3rd and 4th efforts.. Happy to be proven wrong but we are clutching for straws if we are pinning our ruck fortunes in Browne. ;)

No, im just perplexed the hatred for Gus when he is clearly a better player, and im even more perplexed at how everyone here has rated Brownes game as exceptional, when in fact it was just passable.

Both are ordinary but there is a key difference.

Graham is soft and Browne went hard at everything and worked his arse off. I know there isn't an eff% stat for it but it makes more impact on an actual game of football than any number you can pull out.

You do realise that free kicks against are considered clangers? Browne had 4 frees against and two of those were for diving into the pack to get the ball and getting a holding the ball against him. One in particular I remember looked like he tried to dive in to clear the ball out of the pack but he rolled over the ball and it ended up under his stomach when the pack jumped on top of him. So in reality he had two clangers from skill errors, the rest were free kicks. For a player in his 6th game and 1st for the season at AFL level, I have no problem with that.

That may not have been a skill error as you see it, but its pretty damn unskilled!:p The players know if you dive on it and can't get it out, you are gone. Why is a slow moving giant like him even attempting such a move? He should be on his feet applying a physical presence to protect the smaller guys who are going into get it. There is courage and effort, and then there is football smarts. Diving on a ball in a contested situation when you are a man mountain is just dumb.

Honestly, aside from the clangers we were better off when he lost the ruck contests than when he won them. We would have been better off playing nahas in the ruck!

I am not at all saying Browne is a lost cause (although if he keeps putting in efforts like that my opinion may change). In fact, I am currently a fan of him as he has a mean streak and he gives his all, unlike Gus who is arguably a much better all-round player at this stage. He also well and truly deserved his game after some exceptional work at Coburg (and gus definitely deserved to be dropped). But Browne made some monumental errors on Saturday night and complimented them with some poor ruckwork.

Just loving the people who reckon Gus is soft. Lol.

Just had 7 solid weeks using his body as a battering ram, and one very strange week briefly taking his eyes of the ball, still a puzzle that hasnt been explained. People who reckon he is soft have nfi.

Like i said there's no stat for it it's just a matter of perception. I see Graham trying to avoid contact at center bounces and making no impact in pack marking situations and think to myself he really needs to go harder. He hasn't been a battering ram at all.

Ok he is a young inexperienced player. Lets see how long we trundle that out for. Cant wait to see his 1st effort start to make his opponents have to opt for their 2nd, 3rd and 4th efforts.. Happy to be proven wrong but we are clutching for straws if we are pinning our ruck fortunes in Browne. ;)
Totally agree about the long term prospect of Browne aswell as Gus. But I would rather watch a bloke busting his arse, then a bloke we doesnt have a 2nd effort. Browne reminds a bit of Patto, real tryer but probably going to be the answer long term

It comes down to how much you even rate rucks. Lots dont, and if you look at team hitouts we are ranked 12th, yet the two best teams the Pies and Cats are ranked below us on 14 and 15.

28 to 50 clearances against the Bombers with Browne hitouts 24 @ 13% was our worst for the entire year. Pathetic effort.

Our next worst clearance rate was 37 to the Pies 48 and Gus had 36 hitouts @19%

Gus`s so called shocker against the Dogs had us at 37 to the Dogs 45 with Gus 29 hitouts @ 21%

Center clearance work hansnt anything to do with Gus or Browne, its the mids who have been terrible reading both rucks and not getting first possession and clearances. Give Browne another 3 or 7 games and then select the one to go forward. Im in the minority, but my money is on Gus.

Totally agree about the long term prospect of Browne aswell as Gus. But I would rather watch a bloke busting his arse, then a bloke we doesnt have a 2nd effort. Browne reminds a bit of Patto, real tryer but probably going to be the answer long term

You need to keep a lid on it dude...its early days yet and to rate him in the upper echelons of suburban footy is going to far. ;)

I'd say we are pinning on ruck fortunes on Vickery. As he fills out he will become more of a ruck-forward than a forward-ruck. Browne and Graham will be the possible backups, though if they progress we may get to a happy position of being able to have a couple of ruckmen that play at 50-50 or 60-40 split between the ruck and forward.

What I liked about Browns game was that he was positioning himself well around the ground, something I don't think Gus has done particularly well this year. My young son made the comment during the last quarter that Brown had more possessions than disposals because once he had it he fumbled it without disposing of it properly fairly regularly. :) But at least he was fumbling it in the right spots on the ground.:D

As he adjusts to the game hopefully he will handle it more cleanly, but knowing where to run to is a good start.:thumbsu:

Which fans?

You.

Brownes 13% hitout eff was the highlight, especially the 2 times he palmed perfectly down a Bomber throat that lead to 2 goals. :thumbsu:

You talked down Browne's first game in the seniors this year and 6th game of his career to talk up Graham. Couldn't focus on his workrate, physical presence, contested marking, etc.

Both are ordinary but there is a key difference.

Graham is soft and Browne went hard at everything and worked his arse off. I know there isn't an eff% stat for it but it makes more impact on an actual game of football than any number you can pull out.

spot on if ya got a big bloke throwing his weight around ,trying is guts out , not shirking contests it lifts others around him. ive played and watched footy for 40 years and i assure everbody on here gus is soft and he needs to address this now or he will never b anygood .I dought either one of these blokes will b our first ruck in our premiership side .

I don't mind Gus, but he is lethargic and he doesn't get to enough contests.

Browne positions himself better in the ruck, and he had much more impact around the ground that any game I've seen Gus play so far this year. Looks a much more likely option from the long kick out of defense than Gus does.

The big fella needs some work, but the coaching staff will have alot to build on and lookover with him from Saturday night.

You.

You talked down Browne's first game in the seniors this year and 6th game of his career to talk up Graham. Couldn't focus on his workrate, physical presence, contested marking, etc.

Yet i said he should get 3 to 7 more games before a decision is made between him and Gus. Sounds like i really have it in for him.

It comes down to how much you even rate rucks. Lots dont, and if you look at team hitouts we are ranked 12th, yet the two best teams the Pies and Cats are ranked below us on 14 and 15.

28 to 50 clearances against the Bombers with Browne hitouts 24 @ 13% was our worst for the entire year. Pathetic effort.

Our next worst clearance rate was 37 to the Pies 48 and Gus had 36 hitouts @19%

Gus`s so called shocker against the Dogs had us at 37 to the Dogs 45 with Gus 29 hitouts @ 21%

Center clearance work hansnt anything to do with Gus or Browne, its the mids who have been terrible reading both rucks and not getting first possession and clearances. Give Browne another 3 or 7 games and then select the one to go forward. Im in the minority, but my money is on Gus.
Man did you even watch the game? The difference in what Browne produced was clear from the opening bounce.
1. Opening bounce, he went straight up and didn't take his eyes off the ball like your big girly pin up boy.
2. He actually dropped into the backline reguarly to fill the hole. Haven't seen big lazy Gus do that much in his past few games.
3. His handballs were pretty slick for a big guy and created a lot of link up plays (if you exclude the one in the last qtr).

Sure, he's still a little clumsy but a much better effort and performance than big doofus. Pulling out stats like that without resorting to specific examples in the game shows that you either did not watch the game or a complete football ****** who knows nothing about the fundamentals of the game. Perhaps that's why you are in the minority.

BTW, you want stats, read today's Age. Was reported that the ruckman for Franskton Dolphins (bottom in the VFL) absolutely smashed Graham.

I like him but he looks likes he gets buggered pretty quick.
Just feel he fits into our culture better than the others. Can really smash into the opposition ruckman and make it easier for Vickory later on.