PendlePie

Arsenal FC
Aside from the umpring, that game was magnificent. I was on the edge of my seat from the very start and the contested footy shown by both sides was a joy to watch. Well done Crows on a great year. Much respect for your footy club.

That game was the worst games umpiring-wise that I have ever seen. Absolutely no consistency, and some absolutely howling decisions going against both sides at different stages of the match. Don't blame you guys at all for being angry at the umps (hell, if we lost I'd be ****ing fuming at their crap).

On a side note Stevens played an absolute blinder and was MOTM for mine. Bock was amazing - shut down Trav for pretty much the whole game. I reckon you blokes have a lot to look forward to next year when the Porpoise comes back from injury and Dangerfield starts playing.

Once again, great game. Best of luck next season.

Umpires were an absolute joke, but we were pretty bloody ordinary at the end of the day. Only the second quarter we showed anything. So while I agree, the umpiring was disgraceful, I don't think it was that good a game. I would of it enjoyed it if I was you however, as you guys were dominant.

Aside from the umpring, that game was magnificent. I was on the edge of my seat from the very start and the contested footy shown by both sides was a joy to watch. Well done Crows on a great year. Much respect for your footy club.

That game was the worst games umpiring-wise that I have ever seen. Absolutely no consistency, and some absolutely howling decisions going against both sides at different stages of the match. Don't blame you guys at all for being angry at the umps (hell, if we lost I'd be ****ing fuming at their crap).

On a side note Stevens played an absolute blinder and was MOTM for mine. Bock was amazing - shut down Trav for pretty much the whole game. I reckon you blokes have a lot to look forward to next year when the Porpoise comes back from injury and Dangerfield starts playing.

Well played Pies. Too good on the day. Good Luck next week

The crap about the Umpires favouring the Crows at AAMI has to be well and truly dead.

Every side has whinged about it that much, that the Umpires now seem to go in the other direction to prove the crowd isn't having any influence.

Just to clarify - we lost the game today; not the Umpires. I don't think we got many 50/50 calls; but we just weren't good enough.

Pies beat us in intensity and desperation, had the courage to use the ball effectively, not just get it on as quick as they could.

We should've been a hell of a lot better than we were - but one thing you can't question from the Pies is there tackling and pressure; that's how they beat Geelong, and that's how they beat us.

well done Pies

out ran us and played with more risk and attacking flair

hopefully the crows can continue to improve in this area

IMO Didak is a must for Adelaide next year, we need some star power

The crap about the Umpires favouring the Crows at AAMI has to be well and truly dead.

Every side has whinged about it that much, that the Umpires now seem to go in the other direction to prove the crowd isn't having any influence.

I'd like to see an unbiased view because to me the umpiring was shocking and favored Adelaide. Did the umpire actually award Gil a mark when his teammate basically spilled the mark and he grabbed it or was it a free kick? You guys got like 10 free kicks in a row from the end of the 1st to the 2nd most of them soft over the head tackles that should have been let go.

To that mustard pot supporter who said Adelaide deserved to win....give it a rest.

the umpiring was frustrating today, however both sides copped it at certain times of the game

That number 9 umpire. What a joke.

I wish Basset had kicked the ball into his head after the game. I would have.

I remember thinking at one stage that the umpiring was keeping us in it. We had WAY more frees than Collingwood and at times free kicks were pretty much the only way we were taking it forward.

Then I started watching a bit closer and Malthouse's genius emerged.

Anytime a Crows player had the best position or was in front in a marking contest - Collingwood infringed. Deliberately. Usually they got picked up and had a free paid against them however the Crows player would have to pick himself up, then go and find the footy and pretty much have no chance to move the ball on quickly. Once I noticed this it was amazing how many times it happened and how it stuffed up our ball movement.

Mick you gun. Respect :thumbsu:

I'd like to see an unbiased view because to me the umpiring was shocking towards Adelaide. Did the umpire actually award Gil a mark when his teammate basically spilled the mark and he grabbed it or was it a free kick? You guys got like 10 free kicks in a row from the end of the 1st to the 2nd most of them soft over the head tackles that should have been let go.

To that mustard pot supporter who said Adelaide deserved to win....give it a rest.
it was 9 straight Jabso 10 to 1 when they hit the lead.

yes we got some iffy ones too, but that was a good run.

Great game to watch though exciting stuff

Good write up and i'll be on you boys for next week against the Saints or Geelong..let's hope Geelong because you could be the only team to knock em down.

But as you said the umpirering was a joke both ways...ridiculous.

That mark given to Gill was a joke, the holding the ball against Knights when he handpassed it, the 50 for Cloke, the mark to Dawes, and so on.

But we didn't deserve to win the way we played today, one quarter isn't enough.

Well done Bassett, we'll miss you, even in your last game you threw yourself around like a rag doll.

I'd like to see an unbiased view because to me the umpiring was shocking towards Adelaide. Did the umpire actually award Gil a mark when his teammate basically spilled the mark and he grabbed it or was it a free kick? You guys got like 10 free kicks in a row from the end of the 1st to the 2nd most of them soft over the head tackles that should have been let go.

Haha, don't blame the umpires for those decisions, blame your players who constantly tackled high/over the shoulder for no reason.

All of those free kicks were there.

I can't comment on the rest of the umpiring because that's all of the game I saw, but I'll take it they were just ordinary towards both teams again.

A few of your guys have posted on our board tonight with very gracious and humbles comments, so I feel that its only fair that I return the favour.

I don't think for a second you guys choked as was suggested in another thread. That game was a game of momentum. Whoever had the momentum the longest was going to win it. Momentum can make anyone grow in confidence. Take Chris Bryan. At one stage when you guys were a couple of goals up I think, he had that fresh airy that even embarrassed me. At that stage I thought we were gone. Momentum was with you guys and Stevens was banging them left, right and centre.

Fast forward 5 minutes or so. 2 goals in as many minutes to Swan and we had the momenutm back. Then Bryan actually began tapping to our advantage. Meanwhile, Stevens started spraying his kicks.

I maintain that game could have gone either way. i know it sucks to be knocked out of finals (we've seen it too many times!) but its the nature of the beast.

They say finals are a totally different ball gmae and I think that adage was well and truly substantiated today.

I hope you guys bounce back next year and Porps has an injury free year. That blokes a gun.

:thumbsu:

Cheers and best of luck - smash the Sainters...

We gave our all and it wasn't good enough, but it's nice to get some respect from a quality Pies poster :thumbsu:

Did the umpire actually award Gil a mark when his teammate basically spilled the mark and he grabbed it or was it a free kick?

It was a free kick for across the shoulder. Didn't see it at the time but when watching the replay on the big screen from a different angle, it was a blatant one.

Oh well, its the end to our season and Bassets career unfortunately.

Credit to C'wood for always coming back when we were ahead and when we were coming back.

Stevens played a ripper, his best ever imo.

At least we have some positives going into next season, and will Porps be available for round 1 next year? I know its a stupid question but can I have a rough answer?

Umpires were shocking but they didn't influence the outcome. The Crows cannot expect to play only 20 minutes of football and expect to win. Until we become a consistent 4 qtr side, we will continue to struggle to win games like yesterday. For me, the game changed when Scott Thompson's short chip kick in our defensive half was intercepted and Collingwood kicked a goal from it. They then went on to kick one more before half time and turned a 24 point deficit to a 12. The momentum changed and we never recovered.

I have to give you credit and kudos in two parts here,

First, the fact that even though you were undermanned up forward you gave us one hell of a battle, and made it a 4 quarter match, congratulations.

Secondly, to all the Adelaide supporters and the Adelaide public, you get a bad reputation from Melbourne media and rumour makers regarding your negative attention to oppositon supporters. From the moment I stepped off the plane, to the moment i left, all i found was good humoured, fair sports that were willing to converse about anything, and were anything but nasty towards us, despite your obvious dissapointment.

I have to give you credit and kudos in two parts here,

First, the fact that even though you were undermanned up forward you gave us one hell of a battle, and made it a 4 quarter match, congratulations.

Secondly, to all the Adelaide supporters and the Adelaide public, you get a bad reputation from Melbourne media and rumour makers regarding your negative attention to oppositon supporters. From the moment I stepped off the plane, to the moment i left, all i found was good humoured, fair sports that were willing to converse about anything, and were anything but nasty towards us, despite your obvious dissapointment.
Cheers for the kind words especially about Adelaide. I don't know why so many seem to have an axe to grind about how much of a shit hole Adelaide is. Truth is it will never be as exciting as Melbourne or Sydney but hey, at least it isn't Canberra ;)