A Section A Section Amateur Football

From memory nearly everyone (including me) wrote Scotchies off and had them penciled in for relegation at the begining of the season... it's great to see how well they went this year and I would think they would keep their coaching staff for a few seasons yet!

It was also great to see them lead for three and a half quarters, and then do what they do best

50 Years 10 Finals.

Peter Banfield and coaching team will be there in 2009. He is an outstanding coach.

Yes, OS lost from a seemingly unloseable position and can't hide from the record in finals against Xavs - a lot of credit to Xavs though - years of finals experience.

Not bad for a very young side tipped to finish last by the "experts".

Peter Banfield and coaching team will be there in 2009. He is an outstanding coach.

Yes, OS lost from a seemingly unloseable position and can't hide from the record in finals against Xavs - a lot of credit to Xavs though - years of finals experience.

Not bad for a very young side tipped to finish last by the "experts".

I think a lot of 'experts' were just going on what they had seen in 2007, coupled with the loss of a key full-forward. Full credit to the club for turning it around and proving us all wrong. I don't agree with the majority who say they choked on Sunday. Xavier were on the mother of all rolls in the last term and heaven help any side who was in their way. It was more a case of shell-shock than choking. The two sides in the second semi will be mighty pissed off that Brighton and Scotch have left Xavs off the hook...

It was also great to see them lead for three and a half quarters, and then do what they do best

50 Years 10 Finals.

Not trying to be a smart ass, my side is in B grade, but when was the last time scotch won a final.....seems like they have not been in contention for quite some time. Almost better off doing a collegians and falling from grace only to re-emerge with avengence.

I think a lot of 'experts' were just going on what they had seen in 2007, coupled with the loss of a key full-forward. Full credit to the club for turning it around and proving us all wrong. I don't agree with the majority who say they choked on Sunday. Xavier were on the mother of all rolls in the last term and heaven help any side who was in their way. It was more a case of shell-shock than choking. The two sides in the second semi will be mighty pissed off that Brighton and Scotch have left Xavs off the hook...

I'm not sure you can describe it as a mother of all rolls, considering it was 1 goal to 1 point at the 12 minute mark of the last quarter. Scotch had every chance to ice the game with 15 mins to go, but choked. There were a couple of massive turning points in the game. Scanlan's run down tackle, saving a certain goal was game changing. Also when the gang tackle was applied on Dick straight in front of goal for yet another holding the ball.

P.s what was the go with those school kids for umpires. They were clearly shell shocked by the occasion and became so obviously trigger happy it wasn't funny. More holding the ball decisions that I have seen in 4 quarters of football. Both ways. Ridiculous.

I'm not sure you can describe it as a mother of all rolls, considering it was 1 goal to 1 point at the 12 minute mark of the last quarter. Scotch had every chance to ice the game with 15 mins to go, but choked. There were a couple of massive turning points in the game. Scanlan's run down tackle, saving a certain goal was game changing. Also when the gang tackle was applied on Dick straight in front of goal for yet another holding the ball.

quote]

Couldn't agree more River.
At the 15 minute mark Scotch inhaled, and the rest is history.

"We won a 1st semi in 2003, pretty easily"

Powerhouse

P.s what was the go with those school kids for umpires. They were clearly shell shocked by the occasion and became so obviously trigger happy it wasn't funny. More holding the ball decisions that I have seen in 4 quarters of football. Both ways. Ridiculous.

I think one was paying holding the ball after nearly every tackle and was clearly in over his head... the other one was ok

haven't seen these blokes before, what's happened to the regular A grade umps? maybe the AFL pinched a couple for the next few weeks?

horrendous display from the umpires. Both sides fell victim to the worst thing an umpire can do in a game and that is be completely random with their decisions. If an umpire pays "trigger happy" holding the ball calls all day then you can adjust. But this clown was completely out of his depth. I know it must be hard to lure people to umpiring but how long are the ammos going to use this as an excuse to continually provide sub standard officiating in what is the biggest league in the country? Perhaps a fair dinkum effort from those in charge of umpiring would be a start. Anyone else would have been sacked or moved on 5-10 years ago.
And we won!!!!

question:

I believe the rule for players playing in finals for reserves and seniors is along the lines of - if both the 1's and 2's teams are in the finals, a player can play in either team regardless of games played for 1's and 2's.. (correct me if I'm wrong)
So here lies the question - Seeing as the xavs 1's played on the sunday just past, could they theoretically put their whole 1's team in to play the 2's final on this coming sunday?

Is there a specific rule that stipulates this cannot be done? Is it classified as the same round even though its on different weeks?

Jascave - surely you know the answer to this?

This is how it goes...

- A 1st player must play at least 4 H & A games in the 2’s to be eligible and no more than 10 games in the 1st’s.

- If coming back from a serious injury (i.e Matthew Handley) you must have played at least 2 games for the 2’s at some stage in the H & A year.

- The VAFA interpret last weekend’s games & this weekends games as the same “weekend” … Therefore any player who has qualified (4 games in the 2’s) but played in the 1’s the previous week can not play.

- Players who have qualified to play in the 2’s can only play if the 1st’s are playing on the same day

Hope this helps.

P.S a massive gas mask for the scotchies last weekend... They were better off having their mad monday last monday

This is how it goes...

- A 1st player must play at least 4 H & A games in the 2’s to be eligible and no more than 10 games in the 1st’s.

- If coming back from a serious injury (i.e Matthew Handley) you must have played at least 2 games for the 2’s at some stage in the H & A year.

- The VAFA interpret last weekend’s games & this weekends games as the same “weekend” … Therefore any player who has qualified (4 games in the 2’s) but played in the 1’s the previous week can not play.

- Players who have qualified to play in the 2’s can only play if the 1st’s are playing on the same day

Hope this helps.

P.S a massive gas mask for the scotchies last weekend... They were better off having their mad monday last monday

I had a look at the rules last night and could not find this anywhere.

yeah its not mentioned, but i know the Xavs have looked into it and were given this responce...

Guys like Gidley, McDonnell & Skidmore are not able to play although they have qualified to play in the 2's finals if the 1st had lost...

Wired, as is the finals set up... who ever wins out of this weekends game will play 2 games in 4 weeks.... Hardly a good thing i reckon...

Does anybody know the results of the tribunal to-nite????

Poor old Teddy got 2!!! It was a bad week to be an old xav and get booked.Tribunal had no choice if they gave a kid 2 for a tap in B last week.Bet the club sandwitches did not taste as good afterwards.

Rumour has it the their could be a High Court challenge to the suspension of Ted Woodruff.:)

I must admit i had a pretty good view of the incident, gees i thought getting a Red Card was bad enough, but 2 weeks, i would not be at all surprised if the Xavs contest ths one...

Obviously means that he misses the Grand Final... :(

I must admit i had a pretty good view of the incident, gees i thought getting a Red Card was bad enough, but 2 weeks, i would not be at all surprised if the Xavs contest ths one...

That's ****ed.

Wouldn't wish this on an ordinary bloke, let alone a good one like Ted.

:mad:

That's ****ed.

Wouldn't wish this on an ordinary bloke, let alone a good one like Ted.

:mad:

Yet another clanger by the umpires from the weekend. There have been some bad umpiring performances in the past, but sending those two primary school kids out there on such a big occasion is an embarrasment for the VAFA. God help them if they turn up in a prelim or a GF.

There is no appeal mechanism within the VAFA. (Until now!!!!) What this space.

The Scotch guys surely convinced the umpire to pull the red card. He took a long time to do so. His fellow ump then did so too, though he could not possibly have had a good view of the incident.

Why is it that when both teams try to put their best 22 on the park in the finals that the umpires continue to trial combinations? Why was Tim Sutcliffe, soon bound for Ireland, running around in C Grade on the weekend? Why was Davidson doing B Grade?

Ted Woodruff's red card was a disgrace. It was a free kick and no more. He has been, for a long time, an extremely fair and ball-playing type. The send-off alone was greater punishment than the offence warranted.

His suspension is extremely cruel, given his 200+ games without report and the stage of the season. It points to an inflexibility in the system that should be fixed.

The Scotch guys surely convinced the umpire to pull the red card. He took a long time to do so. His fellow ump then did so too, though he could not possibly have had a good view of the incident.

Why is it that when both teams try to put their best 22 on the park in the finals that the umpires continue to trial combinations? Why was Tim Sutcliffe, soon bound for Ireland, running around in C Grade on the weekend? Why was Davidson doing B Grade?

Ted Woodruff's red card was a disgrace. It was a free kick and no more. He has been, for a long time, an extremely fair and ball-playing type. The send-off alone was greater punishment than the offence warranted.

His suspension is extremely cruel, given his 200+ games without report and the stage of the season. It points to an inflexibility in the system that should be fixed.

Yeah I agree Ed, it was pretty lame and he's always been a fair player. Payback for Arnold maybe? Would Ted have gotten a game in the Prelim anyway Ed?

This is absolute horse sh*t. What a farce. You wouldn't find a bloke who plays the footy more than Ted. I know you need to give umpires experience, but they can get that in B & C grade as far as I'm concerned.

To do this to a bloke with Ted's history is criminal.