Strategy A serious thread about Dimma's future

• Thread starter Thread starter tigerz18

You do need a coach, one who doesn't go hiding in the back of the coaching box when the game is on the line, mate the commentators are taking the piss, and you know what hardwick is taking the piss with the club big time.

It will be interesting when both us and the scum are looking for a new coach next year and looking in the same market, who blinks first do you reckon, us or them?
Hiding in the back.
Come on mate they all do shit like that.
I'll tell you why.
Because a lot of players are mental short people under pressure.
Really good teams have one thing on common and it's cool headed and strong minded on field leaders everywhere.
Make no mistake a lot of ours are mentally cooked due to past experience.
Hardwick probably is too.
But when things start to go awry on field like they did in the third quarter players completely lose their structure.
Players get caught out getting sucked into the ball and a chain reaction begins.
It happens to all teams but some have a lot of intelligent and cool headed players to take charge.
There is **** all a coach can do when a team gets momentum and the players forget what they are supposed to be doing due to pressure.
We have a lot of mentally fried players that will do bugger all under any coach.

Hiding in the back.
Come on mate they all do shit like that.
I'll tell you why.
Because a lot of players are mental short people under pressure.
Really good teams have one thing on common and it's cool headed and strong minded on field leaders everywhere.
Make no mistake a lot of ours are mentally cooked due to past experience.
Hardwick probably is too.
But when things start to go awry on field like they did in the third quarter players completely lose their structure.
Players get caught out getting sucked into the ball and a chain reaction begins.
It happens to all teams but some have a lot of intelligent and cool headed players to take charge.
There is **** all a coach can do when a team gets momentum and the players forget what they are supposed to be doing due to pressure.
We have a lot of mentally fried players that will do bugger all under any coach.

He sits in the back because, above the glass which the cameras don't see, are a back of TV monitors which list many things including match ups, statistics, GPS data, Momentum graph etc. Some coaches sit with laptop in front of them and review same. Others sit back in the box and watch the screens, as well as the game of course. The line coaches generally sit in the front and study the structures/set-ups etc. They do not have visibility of the screens.

Haere Ra

It's called having a coach who is able to field a well drilled side.
The reality is we are now into our eighth season under DH and we're still making the same gut wrenching howlers. An average coach at least gets the basics right with their list and after at least bringing in over 60 new players surely some talent and leaders would have been found. We've missed away 8 years of five genuine guns by surrounding them with hand picked meh meh players from an incompetent FD.

Oh dear! I've clearly woken up in an alternate universe where we are 1-7 and have just been smashed by 100 points.
Sounds to me that some have been desperate for this loss.

GO to most boards and tweak a few names and a year or so here and there same old yada yada yada

Here's a tip on how I value opinions, after the Freo game both coaches had Grigg and Rance as easily our best 2 players in their eyes BUT poor Grigga gets under 30% of our members saying he's not in our top 5 With Rance about right at about 80% ...Considering there is a few donkey voters who obviously support other clubs and are taking the piss. and some like to give votes as encouragement, but i still shake my head at how 70% think they know their footy better than Ross Lyon and to a lesser degree Dimma..... Dont wanna offend anyone, so sorry if i did, its just the way i see it. Happens every week too.
TBH I had Griggs in our top 5

If anyone thinks any other coach would have us better than 5-3 they are dreaming.
It's actually a better result than we really are I think.
He may well have had his time and be running out of time ,but a new coach won't just magically make things happen to this list of players.

It appears to me, from the outside looking in of course and any that are "In The Know" could correct me, that the Board, Administration, Football Department, Coaching Group and the Playing Group are all united and are all "on the same page" or "singing from the same hymn book".
Would any agree/disagree with this?

It's not that uncomfortable - you must not think that Hardwick needs to make a case for extension once has his initial contract. He simply pays his manager a percentage until the Club thinks otherwise......

I think it different to that. We all have financial commitments whether we are a meat processor or an AFL coach. in order to achieve the things we want in life we have to make a case for it, to Football Departments, to banks, to customers, to suppliers. We went early for a reason, I don't think it was one thing alone.
We went early to avoid media scrutiny. Pure and simple. Absolutely no other reason to extend at the time. The club can't handle pressure.

If anyone thinks any other coach would have us better than 5-3 they are dreaming.
It's actually a better result than we really are I think.
He may well have had his time and be running out of time ,but a new coach won't just magically make things happen to this list of players.
Which really should make the decision to let him go very straight forward. If we are exceeding expectations at 5/3 after 8 years under his guidance then clearly this is not satisfactory and pointless to proceed. While Rance/Jack/Cotch still have some fuel in the tank a fresh face is desperately needed imo.

GO to most boards and tweak a few names and a year or so here and there same old yada yada yada

Here's a tip on how I value opinions, after the Freo game both coaches had Grigg and Rance as easily our best 2 players in their eyes BUT poor Grigga gets under 30% of our members saying he's not in our top 5 With Rance about right at about 80% ...Considering there is a few donkey voters who obviously support other clubs and are taking the piss. and some like to give votes as encouragement, but i still shake my head at how 70% think they know their footy better than Ross Lyon and to a lesser degree Dimma..... Dont wanna offend anyone, so sorry if i did, its just the way i see it. Happens every week too.

What makes you so sure that those you just took a pot shot at ... the same few names and same old yada yada (as I am going out on a limb that you are including me) ..... didn't have Grigg in the top five (as I did).
What's more jaw-dropping is CEllis has managed a hlaf dozen votes each of the last two weeks. Hardly an endorsement for knowing football!

We went early to avoid media scrutiny. Pure and simple. Absolutely no other reason to extend at the time. The club can't handle pressure.

And the three main offenders:
1. KB
2. Caro Wilson
3. Tim Watson
All of them wrong, but will we get an admission they were wrong?
Not on your life, sir!

Lets just agree to disagree. Do I think we would be better or at least see positive changes with a new coach? Yes. In the last re-singing of Damien where he still had a year to go after failing for the third consecutive time to win a final do I blame the people who decided to give him a two year contract? Yes. Do I blame Damien and his management for trying to secure that extension given it would be his family's main income? No.

Absolutely correct I think, no one who has a job could possibly be critical of Damien for backing himself in and saying I can do this and I can do that,in order to get a contract extension. But once the extension is granted he has to deliver on it. He has delivered something, but I'll bet it's not what it was supposed to look like in his pitch.

There would have been some interesting discussions at Club land for that extension to have even seen the light of day and ultimately the Board is responsible for agreeing to the extension. However, the Board then looks to those who made the recommendations. It's deliverance time!

Harking back to your analogy (which is really what our discussion is about), you said:

Anybody being negative towards Dimma is foolish IMO, he is doing his job like anybody would, he is the employed not the employer. He seems to be a hobby farmers tractor expected to to do real work on a professional farm, don't blame the tractor...blame the equipment manager.

Hardwick is not just an employee or an inanimate thing waiting to be rolled out and turned on when required. He's not awaiting instructions for everything he does. :D

We seem to agree on everything else though:D:D

Absolutely correct I think, no one who has a job could possibly be critical of Damien for backing himself in and saying I can do this and I can do that,in order to get a contract extension. But once the extension is granted he has to deliver on it. He has delivered something, but I'll bet it's not what it was supposed to look like in his pitch.

There would have been some interesting discussions at Club land for that extension to have even seen the light of day and ultimately the Board is responsible for agreeing to the extension. However, the Board then looks to those who made the recommendations. It's deliverance time!

As Tiger Imposter said, you question an extension announced when the CEO is out of the country and had been for weeks.

What makes you so sure that those you just took a pot shot at ... the same few names and same old yada yada (as I am going out on a limb that you are including me) ..... didn't have Grigg in the top five (as I did).
What's more jaw-dropping is CEllis has managed a hlaf dozen votes each of the last two weeks. Hardly an endorsement for knowing football!
Didn't realize Griggs was our coach.:rolleyes:;)

I left this open yesterday because I assumed we could all be adults for once and talk about Dimma and not pot each other.

Everyone on this board is a Richmond supporter some may not support Richmond the same way you do but that doesn't make them wrong.

Talk about Dimma and not each other or we won't have nice things in the future

thanks

I'm happy for Dimma to see out his contract. Having said that, if you have been a senior coach at a club for 10 years, you have to have a premiership during that tenure. Rebuilding a basket case of a list, during the period of compromised drafts designed to win premierships for the expansion clubs has been a great effort. We bottomed out, and had didn't have access to the kids that GWS are building a premiership side with. This season has been a good start, and how quickly we forget that in the last 4 seasons, we have had horrid starts to the season. We should be 7 and 1 - losing two games by less than a kick. Bad luck or poor umpiring. Whatever.

I think if Dimma wins a final this year, there's no issue with him finishing off his contract and who knows what could happen in 2018.

It appears to me, from the outside looking in of course and any that are "In The Know" could correct me, that the Board, Administration, Football Department, Coaching Group and the Playing Group are all united and are all "on the same page" or "singing from the same hymn book".
Would any agree/disagree with this?
Doesn't matter when it's a shit song

I think for me and the bottom line is the ultimate goal is not just to make finals but win a flag and quite honestly I cannot see Dimma taking us there. I have felt this way for a couple of years now
Will venting my spleen online make any difference?, no it won't.
Will arguing the point with other supporters/members online with an alternate view make them change their mind?, no it won't.

#eco

Thing is we've now got Balme as head of the football department. A cool head who won't be panicked into contract extensions because of media pressure.

It's actually a better result than we really are I think..

It depends on the timing - it's all about the timing. If you had enough time to prepare for 2017 and you had the exquisite coaching skills we anticipate you have, you could have done as well. Nearly all new coaches experience a honeymoon period. We got that in part with new assistants. Imagine how we might have gone with same old coaches this year.;)

The obvious example is Luke Beveridge, though I concede our list vs their list? Funny how players on lists look better with a GF behind them or medallion around their neck.

It depends on the timing - it's all about the timing. If you had enough time to prepare for 2017 and you had the exquisite coaching skills we anticipate you have, you could have done as well. Nearly all new coaches experience a honeymoon period. We got that in part with new assistants. Imagine how we might have gone with same old coaches this year.;)

The obvious example is Luke Beveridge, though I concede our list vs their list? Funny how players on lists look better with a GF behind them or medallion around their neck.

Blokes like Biggs, Webb, Cordy, McLean, Roberts, Dunkley, Williams, Jong are not much better if at all than some of our lot, but Beveridge has them playing a style that brings the most of their talent and they don't miss a beat coming up from reserves to seniors to play any role.
Ours do - for straters - most of them play a different role after winning promotion.