A survey

Re: Re: Re: Re: A survey

Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
some from colesonline.com.au and some from an organic online supermarket, name of which escapes me, but they are local to us.
You order it online and it gets delivered, or do you have to pick up?

I'd love to help you out with the first lot, but I live in the middle of nowhere, and if I was walking, it'd be at least a good 4 hour walk to anything! (If I walk at 5km/hr.)

Secondly:
The only thing I do in my town is play sport, at the rec reserve across the road from me. (Netball, tennis). To meet my friends, have coffee, or do any groceries, it's a 15 minute drive into town. If I want to do anything else - other shopping, movies, go out for tea, whatever, I have to go to Warrnambool, which is a further 30 minutes drive from town.

Finally, how often (in %) would you get around by
car - 95%
public transport of some description - 0 (we don't have any)
walking - 5% (unless I'm in town, to get somewhere I wouldn't be walking!)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: A survey

Originally posted by ozzult
You order it online and it gets delivered, or do you have to pick up?
Just had a squizz at colesonline... seems pretty nifty. Dunno if the $8 service charge is worth it though.

The nearest milk bar;1 minute
The nearest supermarket;10 minutes
The nearest pub;2 minutes
The nearest bank;5 minutes
The nearest train station;10 minutes
The nearest bus stop;2 minutes
The nearest restaurant;2 minutes

Secondly, what sort of things do you do in your particular neck of the woods? Not talking the city here, but your neighbourhood.

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? Local, as I live in a fairly vibrant area
Do you do your weekly shopping there? Yep
Meet friends there? Yep
Play sport there? Yep (the sport of kings counts as a sport doesn't it?)

car 10%
public transport of some description 5%
walking 85%

I guess the whole idea of this is to determine how close things are we should generally walk to, although us unsocialable Australians drive pretty much everywhere? Anyway, here's mine...

The nearest milk bar: 5 minutes
The nearest supermarket: 5 minutes
The nearest pub: 20 minutes
The nearest bank: 5 minutes
The nearest train station: 1 minute
The nearest bus stop: 1 minute
The nearest restaurant: 2 minutes

Secondly, what sort of things do you do in your particular neck of the woods? Not talking the city here, but your neighbourhood.

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? There aren't really that many decent venues in my direct vicinity. I normally head into the city or Glenelg which is a 30+ minute walk.

Do you do your weekly shopping there? Yes.
Meet friends there? Yes.
Play sport there? My cricket club is about a 15 minute drive/20 minute train ride from my house, so take from that what you will. My old cricket club was a 1 minute walk.
car 75%
public transport of some description 10%
walking 15%

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: A survey

Originally posted by ozzult
Just had a squizz at colesonline... seems pretty nifty. Dunno if the $8 service charge is worth it though.

Yeah if you're spending $100 on groceries per week, then its worth it, but if you're only spending $40, its probably not.

One thing is that you're not AT the supermarket trying to resist temptations. if you're strong-willed enough it's not a gain but if you are susceptible to choccie or chippie desires it might work out about even :)

From your front door, how long would it take you to walk to:

The nearest milk bar: 3-4 minutes
The nearest supermarket: 15 minutes
The nearest pub: 1 minute
The nearest bank: 3-4 minutes
The nearest train station: 30-45 minutes, tram stop is 2 minutes though
The nearest bus stop: 2 minutes
The nearest restaurant: 1 minute

Secondly, what sort of things do you do in your particular neck of the woods? Not talking the city here, but your neighbourhood. Not a lot, a few pubs and a school across the road thats about it
Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? Usually go into the city but thats only 10 minutes away.

Meet friends there? Only if they come here
Play sport there? At times

Car 60%
public transport of some description: 35%
walking: 5%

Re: Re: A survey

Originally posted by Mr Q
Since I've just moved I'll give you the answers for both locations:
Same for me....

Where I am now: CITY
The nearest milk bar: 5 mins
The nearest supermarket: 20 mins
The nearest pub: 5 mins :)
The nearest bank: 10 mins
The nearest train station: 5 mins
The nearest bus stop: Don't know about buses, but tram is 5 mins
The nearest restaurant: 5 mins

Where I was living before: COUNTRY
The nearest milk bar: 5 mins
The nearest supermarket: 15 mins
The nearest pub: 20 mins
The nearest bank: 25 mins
The nearest train station: 35 mins
The nearest bus stop: 20mins
The nearest restaurant: 30 mins

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? Usually local, depending on what I have planned.
Do you do your weekly shopping there? Yep
Meet friends there? So far, yes.
Play sport there? Nope

Finally, how often (in %) would you get around by-
car:
5%
public transport of some description: 50%
walking: 45%

The nearest milk bar 45 minutes?
The nearest supermarket 15 minutes
The nearest pub 35 minutes
The nearest bank 90 minutes?
The nearest train station 30 minutes
The nearest bus stop 2 minutes
The nearest restaurant 35 minutes

Secondly, what sort of things do you do in your particular neck of the woods? Not talking the city here, but your neighbourhood. not much really

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? further afield
Do you do your weekly shopping there? yes
Meet friends there? no, meet them in the city
Play sport there? no

car
70%
public transport of some description 25%
walking 5%

The nearest milk bar: 45 minutes
The nearest supermarket: 25 minutes
The nearest pub: an hour maybe. No pubs nearby that I'd bother visiting though.
The nearest bank: 15 minutes
The nearest train station: 15 minutes
The nearest bus stop: 7 minutes
The nearest restaurant: 15 minutes

Secondly, what sort of things do you do in your particular neck of the woods? Not talking the city here, but your neighbourhood. Really not much at all. There's a cinema, but I don't normally go there unless I'm by myselfand I make a last minute decision to see a movie.

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? further afield. There aren't local venues worth going to.

Meet friends there? No.
Play sport there? No.

Car 15%
public transport of some description: 60%
walking 25%

The nearest milk bar 7 minutes
The nearest supermarket 10 minutes
The nearest pub 5 minutes
The nearest bank 5 minutes
The nearest train station 4 hours
The nearest bus stop 3 minutes
The nearest restaurant 5 minutes

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? Local mainly.
Do you do your weekly shopping there?yes
Meet friends there? yes
Play sport there?yes

car
50%
walking 40%

Q) The nearest milk bar
A) 5 to 10 mins

Q) The nearest supermarket
A) 5 to 10 mins

Q) The nearest pub
A) 5 to 10 mins

Q) The nearest bank
A) 5 to 10 mins

Q) The nearest train station
A) Freaking hours ... about 90 to 120mins

Q) The nearest bus stop
A) 30 seconds

Q) The nearest restaurant
A) 5 to 10 mins

Q) Secondly, what sort of things do you do in your particular neck of the woods? Not talking the city here, but your neighbourhood.
A) Walk around the block and bike riding for a bit of fitness

Q) Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield?
A) Sometimes go local maybe 30% of the time... the other 60% is divided amongst the rest of the metro area.

Q) Do you do your weekly shopping there?
A) Yep - 85% of the time

Q) Meet friends there?
A) No

Q) Play sport there?
A) No

Q) Finally, how often (in %) would you get around by
car - 85%
public transport of some description - 10%
walking - 5%

SKC

Re: Re: A survey

The nearest milk bar 11 mins
The nearest supermarket 20 minutes
The nearest pub 27 minutes
The nearest bank 38 minutes
The nearest train station 16 hours
The nearest restaurant 27 minutes

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? Local mainly.
Do you do your weekly shopping there?yes
Meet friends there? yes
Play sport there?No

car
84%%
public transport of some description 1%
walking 15%
[/QUOTE]

The nearest deli: 3 minutes
The nearest supermarket: 12 minutes
The nearest pub: 4 minutes (although there is a bottle shop less than a minute walk)
The nearest bank: atm? 3 minutes.
The nearest train station: 6 minutes
The nearest bus stop: <1 minute
The nearest restaurant. 6 minutes

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? Usually the city. The local pub used to have some great bands but the neighbours buggered that.
Do you do your weekly shopping there? Usually walk to the local supermarket
Meet friends there? At the supermarket? No. Pub, yes.
Play sport there? Nah. Gym is a 2 minute walk though.

car 50%
walking 40%

The nearest milk bar: 7 minutes
The nearest supermarket" 15 minutes (Knox City)
The nearest pub: 15 mniutes there, 45 minutes back (as above)
The nearest bank: 15 minutes (as above)
The nearest train station: 2 hours+
The nearest bus stop: 3 minutes
The nearest restaurant: 10 minutes

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? Occasionally either
Do you do your weekly shopping there? Yeah
Meet friends there? Not often, most of my friends live elsewhere
Play sport there? No

car: 90%
public transport of some description: 5%
walking: 5%

From my front door in Northmead, this is long would it take to walk to:

The nearest milk bar I go to the servo if I need milk in a hurry - 3 minutes.
The nearest supermarket 10-15 minutes.
The nearest pub Substitute club for pub and it's 5 minutes
The nearest bank No banks in Northmead, about 25 minutes to walk to Baulkham Hills.
The nearest train station 50 minutes
The nearest restaurant 10 minutes

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? Used to be a regular at Northmead Bowlo and the Bull & Bush, but rarely go there now. These days I'm mainly in the city or the north shore.
Do you do your weekly shopping there? Yep, Winston Hills or Baulkham Hills normally. I work at Baulko, so that's usually closer and more convenient.
Meet friends there? More likely to do that in the city or the north shore these days.
Play sport there? Play? I thought sport was something you watched.:eek:

car
65%
walking 25%

The nearest milk bar - 15mins
The nearest supermarket - 45 mins
The nearest pub - crap pub 60mins less crap pub 90mins
The nearest bank - 45mins
The nearest train station - 90mins
The nearest bus stop - 5mins
The nearest restaurant - 60mins

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? Futher afield, absolutly nothing around here, unless you wana hang out at maccas
Do you do your weekly shopping there? mostly
Meet friends there? nope
Play sport there? nope

car - 80%
public transport of some description - 0%
walking - 20%

Cheers,
Kate

The nearest milk bar - 15 minutes.
The nearest supermarket - 15 minutes.
The nearest pub - 20 minutes.
The nearest bank - ATM in supermarket, otherwise 30 minutes
The nearest train station - I haven't yet mastered the skill of walking on water but I'd imagine a few weeks.
The nearest bus stop - 2 minutes.
The nearest restaurant - 20 minutes

Not a lot really. Jogging and walking the dog is about it I think.

Do you go out to local venues, or venture further afield? bit of both
Do you do your weekly shopping there? yes
Meet friends there? sometimes
Play sport there? no

car - 90%
public transport of some description - 2%
walking - 8%