A Third Team In Sydney - It's Only a Matter Of Time !!

Ponga wasn’t on near the money that Boyd was on.
It was near the money, especially when you take into account that the AFL has a higher average salary. Note that South Sydney just gave a 16 year old $500 000 per year also. And again, you can only point to two players, plus GWS were well compensated for Boyd.

Mate premiership are the ultimate measure of success. How many top free agents are lining up to join the bottom clubs here? None it’s because sh*t clubs have sh*t culture.
Plenty of good AFL players have chosen to move to bottom clubs. For the purposes of this, trading should be included because it's the standard form of player movement. It's not the NRLs fault the AFL has tighter rules on free agency, and it's not the AFLs fault that the NRL doesn't have trading and their contracts are broken much more frequently. And it still requires players to agree to join the destination club.

Taking that into account, in the past two years we've had Mitch McGovern, Lachie Neale, Jesse Hogan and Brad Hill all move to bottom 5 teams. In previous years we've had Charlie Cameron, Ryan Griffen, Dayne Beams and Gary Ablett Jr who all chose to move to bad teams.

You talk about measuring by spoons Carlton have taken out 6 and are still nowhere even with the draft to help them along
What do you mean, they're currently 2-2. Plenty of NRL teams fall into extended ruts, Parramatta and Newcastle have each had three spoons in the past decade alone.

You say NRL and AFL are different sports so what? You can make that argument about trying to copy the NFL
Copying in what sense? Drafting? How does that relate to anything happening on the field? My point is that you can't compare turnaround time from bottom to top across sports when they need different numbers of players.

Croft is not relevant to your argument one bit he chose to return home. No different to heaps of AFL players who got drafted. Storm had a crack at getting him to want to invest long term in their system and failed no different to when there was an exodus at Brisbane every year
He is relevant, Melbourne got nothing in compensation for letting a talented player leave. If there was a draft, they would have.

The draft is a joke and it is far worse now with all the picks having points.
You haven't justified this at any point.

You speak about no compensation but they have to pay a transfer fee helps get some cash in the door of the weaker clubs especially when half the teams in the AFL and NRL aren’t able to stand on their own two feet
Actually they can, you're just choosing to ignore that each club is entitled to a cut of TV revenues. When you account for that, most clubs are solvent, or were before Covid.

Ponga wasn’t on near the money that Boyd was on.

His point was the frequency is far less in the AFL system than under the NRL one. He has correctly pointed out you are cherry picking.

Mate premiership are the ultimate measure of success. How many top free agents are lining up to join the bottom clubs here? None it’s because sh*t clubs have sh*t culture.

You talk about measuring by spoons Carlton have taken out 6 and are still nowhere even with the draft to help them along

You say NRL and AFL are different sports so what? You can make that argument about trying to copy the NFL

That's a red herring. The point is in League the salary cap mechanism is probably sufficient to see the distribution of quality 6, 7s and 9s over time whereas this is not comparable with the AFL where are much larger set of quality is required to be competitive.

The other point is that, a part from Melbourne Storm, the alignment of club geography with nursery is better as the NRL has not expanded like the AFL has.

The AFL has adopted north American equalisation models but the very existence of academies and father son shows that it has not done so holus bolus

Croft is not relevant to your argument one bit he chose to return home. No different to heaps of AFL players who got drafted. Storm had a crack at getting him to want to invest long term in their system and failed no different to when there was an exodus at Brisbane every year

The draft is a joke and it is far worse now with all the picks having points.

You speak about no compensation but they have to pay a transfer fee helps get some cash in the door of the weaker clubs especially when half the teams in the AFL and NRL aren’t able to stand on their own two feet

Transfer fees between pro clubs are a stupid mechanism in the Australian sporting context. Both the AFL and NRL raise overall revenue by disproportionately playing matches between the bigger clubs with rivalries and these clubs also get greater exposure with associated sponsorship benefits.

You have still not made any case that "the draft is a joke" nor that "it is far worse now with all the picks having points". There is no actual arguments.

The draft ensures that initial endowment of talent is distributed in a way that helps equalisation. The academies, father son and NGA are accommodated into that system through the points mechanism. It is actually an excellent system from where I sit

It was near the money, especially when you take into account that the AFL has a higher average salary. Note that South Sydney just gave a 16 year old $500 000 per year also. And again, you can only point to two players, plus GWS were well compensated for Boyd.

Plenty of good AFL players have chosen to move to bottom clubs. For the purposes of this, trading should be included because it's the standard form of player movement. It's not the NRLs fault the AFL has tighter rules on free agency, and it's not the AFLs fault that the NRL doesn't have trading and their contracts are broken much more frequently. And it still requires players to agree to join the destination club.

Taking that into account, in the past two years we've had Mitch McGovern, Lachie Neale, Jesse Hogan and Brad Hill all move to bottom 5 teams. In previous years we've had Charlie Cameron, Ryan Griffen, Dayne Beams and Gary Ablett Jr who all chose to move to bad teams.

What do you mean, they're currently 2-2. Plenty of NRL teams fall into extended ruts, Parramatta and Newcastle have each had three spoons in the past decade alone.

Copying in what sense? Drafting? How does that relate to anything happening on the field? My point is that you can't compare turnaround time from bottom to top across sports when they need different numbers of players.

He is relevant, Melbourne got nothing in compensation for letting a talented player leave. If there was a draft, they would have.

You haven't justified this at any point.

Actually they can, you're just choosing to ignore that each club is entitled to a cut of TV revenues. When you account for that, most clubs are solvent, or were before Covid.
Ponga only got a million dollar a year contract from 23 onwards. You simply can not compare the deal to Scully or Boyd.

You are taking the piss with that list of players Beams moves to be with a dying father Hogan has mental health issues and wants to be with his family Griffen went to a club clearly on the rise worst season at the club they ended 11-11.

Neale left a s**t club to go to a team on the rise

You can point to just as many examples in the NRL

Melbourne doesn’t need to be compensated it’s up to them to go out and replace him.

The draft is just a s**t American system we do not need.

It is meant to deliver for the bottom clubs but due to its compromised nature it does not do that. Also it ruins the development pathways the NRL has a much better system having an under 20s comp but allowing you to play first grade from 18.

If you look at draftees each year two thirds are born early in the year as they have the advantage of being more physically developed and ready. As soon as you get overlooked as a player you are incredibly unlikely to get a chance again.

I am all in favour of 18 year olds being able too play seniors but if all the clubs retained an under 19s or move it to a 20s comp you can sign players when they are ready and you are not losing so many to the system as soon as their draft year is done

The draft delivering equalisation is an absolute myth as you can not build a case to say that the NRL is a less equal comp than the AFL. The changes made from the old zone days pre 1987 is the fact list sizes are capped now same as the TPP.

Having so many players pre-committed to club’s is ridiculous defeats any purpose of having a draft

Trades are more limiting to players moving than a system of compensation.

A lot pressure on funding of existing northern teams

Andrew Pridham is being sucked into the BS around the Sydney media frenzy pumping up the loudmouth bogan messiah V'Landys who will eventually make mistakes and is riding for a fall!He is Sydney's version of Jeff Kennett.

The NRL are not travelling that well ATM and getting thrashed by the AFL in the TV ratings!

Motor mouth V'Landys should be more worried about that and the poor form of the Broncos.
Oh and BTW we don't need another team in Sydney for at least another 20 years if ever!

So much for the NRL being the biggest and best thing on TV and society will crumble if its not allowed the be played.

Andrew Pridham is being sucked into the BS around the Sydney media frenzy pumping up the loudmouth bogan messiah V'Landys who will eventually make mistakes and is riding for a fall!He is Sydney's version of Jeff Kennett.

The NRL are not travelling that well ATM and getting thrashed by the AFL in the TV ratings!

Motor mouth V'Landys should be more worried about that and the poor form of the Broncos.
Oh and BTW we don't need another team in Sydney for at least another 20 years if ever!

So much for the NRL being the biggest and best thing on TV and society will crumble if its not allowed the be played.

I think Pridham is more worried about agitators in Melbourne clubs trying to push for cuts in the level of investment (academies and developments money) north of the Barassi line as part of post Covid cost cutting.

They aren’t going to redo the ground for the chance of hosting the GF. Besides it’s contacted until about 2050 so good luck getting it

Because that’s how it is now the reason they a redoing it is because it’s a ******* dump

Contracts are there to be broken! Taking the Grand Final to Sydney would be groundbreaking and a great thing for football.

The world won’t cave in if it leaves the MCG

I do think it was a sh*t deal to sign the MCG GF deal for so long, i wouldn't mind seeing it played outside of Victoria every 5 years or so and share it around between W.A, S.A (needs to be 60k capacity) and Sydney.

Especially if the AFL GF doesn't involve two Victorian teams, but people say you need time to prepare.

Actually though it's probably fairer to have two non vic teams at the mcg and then like last year's gf between gws and richmond, that should be in somewhere like Perth because it's a neutral venue.

Only thing the NRL have done well recently is rework their fixture so no games clash meaning you can maximise the TV numbers for each game

The AFL’s growth may slow due to cut backs but to say it will go the way of rugby union is laughable. Those in charge at the ARU couldn’t organise a piss up at a brewery

The AFL’s first focus should be on getting a strong second tier in Sydney all with clear development pathways like the WAFL and SANFL obviously they won’t have the history of those comps but they can look to replicate the structure.

Only thing the NRL have done well recently is rework their fixture so no games clash meaning you can maximise the TV numbers for each game

The AFL’s growth may slow due to cut backs but to say it will go the way of rugby union is laughable. Those in charge at the ARU couldn’t organise a piss up at a brewery

The AFL’s first focus should be on getting a strong second tier in Sydney all with clear development pathways like the WAFL and SANFL obviously they won’t have the history of those comps but they can look to replicate the structure.

Won’t have the history?
We have clubs that have been around a lot longer than you may think in Sydney.

Maybe but if it’s a continuation of Sydney AFL then that comp has been going since 1903.
My point is at the moment the standard of the Sydney AFL is not there but they need to give these clubs in Sydney the resources of the SANFL or WAFL clubs have. It will take time but the second tier growing in NSW is good for the game in general

Insular Vic not knowing the positive impact of moving the grand final would have on the growth in NSW and consolidating it as the country’s number 1 sport

maybe, but on the other hand, its always a lure for footballers to want to play on the G in a GF and fans to go there

it is the spiritual home of the game

its gotta be good for players and fans alike to beat Vic teams or other interstate teams at the MCG

maybe, but on the other hand, its always a lure for footballers to want to play on the G in a GF and fans to go there

it is the spiritual home of the game

its gotta be good for players and fans alike to beat Vic teams or other interstate teams at the MCG

A premiership is a premiership. The lure of winning a flag is better than just playing on the G. We want the north, play the GF in Sydney.

Sydney is doing OK, a premiership by a Sydney team is better than a GF played in Sydney, the North will never be fully won over.

Sydney will never be a footy town, in fact its not really a sporting city, the GF will just another fleeting event, focus on grass roots which BTW have been great in Sydney at junior level for a number of years now.