Victorian AFL clubs raked in $40m from poker machines last financial year

But it's all good, because, "Richmond, St Kilda, Essendon and Carlton are members of the Victorian Responsible Gambling Foundation’s Love the Game initiative, which aims to raise awareness of gambling harm among youth."
don't worry about it, the vic government has shut it down, despite being a legislatively independent organisation dedicated to minimising harm in the community from gambling

Carlton is still the club most reliant on pokies. It pocketed $19.1m from 290 machines at four venues.
Essendon received $14.7m from 190 machines at two venues .
Richmond received $4.6m through 97 machines at the Wantirna Club.
Stkilda took $1.8m from 83 machines at its Moorabbin base.

For the love of money is the root of all evil

Unless you pump in dirty money into the machine then immediately cash out with clean money with a receipt. It happens in NSW all the time apparently.
It happens everywhere put a few grand of notes in then press cash out and you get clean money or they hover in pokies room when a machine goes off they approach say need a piss go to the bathroom they give you cash you walk out they sit on the winning machine

What a horrible, horrible way for these clubs to make money.

The members and supporters of these clubs should be ashamed of themselves for supporting the parasitic nature of their ventures.

Shameful. Do better.
I agree....and also clubs that are sponsored by fast food joints especially with the obesity epidemic going on in Australia at the moment.

Shameful. Do better

I agree....and also clubs that are sponsored by fast food joints especially with the obesity epidemic going on in Australia at the moment.

Shameful. Do better
Fair enough if you want to go down that hole but how many homeless kids/families are there or people who have committed suicide from directly eating a Whopper?

Keep sticking up for your shameless club though as I wouldn't expect anything less from a Blue's supporter.

Fair enough if you want to go down that hole but how many homeless kids/families are there or people who have committed suicide from directly eating a Whopper?

Keep sticking up for your shameless club though as I wouldn't expect anything less from a Blue's supporter.
Not sure if you realise but I agreed with you and I wish Carlton would let go of the pokies.

Just looking at West Coast's sponsors/partners you have Tabtouch, Crown Casino, Jim Beam, Carlton Dry and your major sponsor Hungry Jacks.

Not exactly clean skins either.

It wouldn't matter if Carlton gave up the income. Their mate Bruce "Pokies King/Peddler of Misery" Mathieson would probably continue with the traditional Carlton way of doing business, ie brown paper bags.

Poker machines are the least of the AFL's problems.

AFL takes a direct cut for every dollar gambled on the sport.

Channel 7 also gets half of its advertising revenue from gambling companies.

If the AFL disasscoates with gambling say goodbye to $1B TV rights.

Literally half of the money the AFL makes is either directly or indirectly from gambling.

I had no idea it was that bad.

If id stopped and thought about it a bit it’s pretty obvs with all the non stop gambling advertising rammed down our throats. It’s white noise to me as im a very casual gambler - maybe once or twice a year and a weekly lotto ticket - which I look at as a donation to charity.

I’m aghast at the thought of it though.

Shameful. Do better
That’s costing the government through Medicare but it’s not destroying families, making people lose they’re lively hoods, increasing crime let’s start with the most serious ones first then get to the food problem next!

Agree another massive problem all grog gambling advertising should be banned like ciggys if you still want to do it go for it but it shouldn’t be normalised through saturation
Pokies should be limited to casinos like it once was not at your local around the corner

I had no idea it was that bad.

If id stopped and thought about it a bit it’s pretty obvs with all the non stop gambling advertising rammed down our throats. It’s white noise to me as im a very casual gambler - maybe once or twice a year and a weekly lotto ticket - which I look at as a donation to charity.

I’m aghast at the thought of it though.

Government legislation is the only way things ever change.

You will never see the AFL disassociate with gambling.

That’s costing the government through Medicare but it’s not destroying families, making people lose they’re lively hoods, increasing crime let’s start with the most serious ones first then get to the food problem next!
Like I mentioned to Kranky....I agree and wish Carlton got rid of the pokies. I then pointed out some of West Coasts sponsors including casinos and betting agencies.

They also sponsor the Dockers.

Agree another massive problem all grog gambling advertising should be banned like ciggys if you still want to do it go for it but it shouldn’t be normalised through saturation

AFL signed a 4 year deal with Asahi to be the offical beverage of the sport. Carlton Draught is also a partner of the AFL as the "official beer".

Hell Channel 7's highest rating football show is three blokes sitting at a fake bar drinking beer.

Like I mentioned to Kranky....I agree and wish Carlton got rid of the pokies. I then pointed out some of West Coasts sponsors including casinos and betting agencies.

Yes but two wrongs don’t make a right.
I’m against all advertising but 20mil taken directly from mums and dads is quite extreme.
I watch limited footy now because of afls degeneration through betting agencies

We can do better.

For my money sports clubs should have nothing to do with unhealthy (mentally or physically) products.

That includes sports drinks full of sugar.

AFL signed a 4 year deal with Asahi to be the offical beverage of the sport. Carlton Draught is also a partner of the AFL as the "official beer".

Hell Channel 7's highest rating football show is three blokes sitting at a fake bar drinking beer.
I’ve said ban alcohol advertising.
By your logic I could justify anything.
It’s ok for me to spit on homosexuals because the Saudis lock them up?!
It’s a flawed logic no need to be defensive you have no control over your footy club.
I’ve witnessed destruction from pokie machines I currently pay the rent of a family member because they lost everything