Victorian AFL clubs raked in $40m from poker machines last financial year

Oct 19, 2020
Carlton is still the club most reliant on pokies. It pocketed $19.1m from 290 machines at four venues.
Essendon received $14.7m from 190 machines at two venues .
Richmond received $4.6m through 97 machines at the Wantirna Club.
Stkilda took $1.8m from 83 machines at its Moorabbin base.

Was out for dinner the other night at a local RSL. On the TV screens they had a ad that said "Even when you win you mostly lose" "Don't risk offshore gambling". Had a laugh like sure gambling in here is any better.

The AFL have an official betting partner, that loads up on their app whenever you watch a video or look at match stats, and some of you think they’d even care that a few clubs have pokie machines that fleece Joe blow?

Big clubs with huge memberships shouldn’t have to fleece the battlers in the burbs.
Saints are at an acceptable level but blues that’s criminal!
Disagree with this.

If we’re potting Carlton then we should pot the Saints as well.

The net result is the average punter losing money.

Either ban it for all or let everyone in. We’re still a part of the issue even though we take in 10x less than Carlton.

The AFL have an official betting partner, that loads up on their app whenever you watch a video or look at match stats, and some of you think they’d even care that a few clubs have pokie machines that fleece Joe blow?
All the AFL cares about is money and 'optics'; if enough attention builds in the media they'll probably put pressure on those clubs to drop the pokies.

It'll take longer to root out the rest of the gambling rot unfortunately.

Disagree with this.

If we’re potting Carlton then we should pot the Saints as well.

The net result is the average punter losing money.

Either ban it for all or let everyone in. We’re still a part of the issue even though we take in 10x less than Carlton.
Im just speaking comparatively of course saints are in the wrong to but the betting agencies would take 1.8 in a weekend

Great work by north to be the first Vic club to turn their back on pokies income, also very happy that my mob were one of the clubs to follow North.

Disgusting way for a footy club to make money
Yeah but in fairness North had a huge plan B lined up

They push all sorts of nauseating social conscience crap on fans, promote the government’s Voice propaganda campaign, engage in all sorts of corrupt and dodgy deals, are hypocrites and virtue signallers of the highest order but give the green light to scumbag gambling corporations to pollute the minds of youngsters with never ending advertising and inducements.

Agreed. It's like Sydney, there isn't a club likes to grand stand more than them about social issues, but they're more than happy to take money from a Government like Qatar who will jail people for being in a sane sex relationship.

The AFL is a cesspool of hypocrisy

Surprised Carlton are making money from pokies. Most of their patrons would be using the pokies to launder their money unless the venue is on the take to over look the practice.
I'm not sure you understand how pokies work. The more revenue pumped into the machines, the more money the pokies win.

I've been to the Wantirna Club (Richmond's gambling den) a couple of times - a more soulless, depressing, Land of the Living Dead is hard to imagine.

Being situated right next to a funeral parlour just completes the picture.
Something (well there’s lots of things really) I don’t miss from living in Canberra.

Outside of the casino we dont have them here. When we moved to Canberra we went to the local sporting club at Tuggers, we couldn’t believe how cheap and cheerful the food was and that we could buy good wine and champers to go with the meal for bottle shop prices!!

We were there every weekend - amazing - then one day we walked into the pokies bit and had a look around. We realised that we were being subsidised by unfed kids, suicide, depression and despair.

Never went back. Since then I’ve learnt of RSL clubs that have nothing to do with ex soldiers and do nothing for ex soldiers but use the name for mammon.

F### the lot of them, parasites. Absolute parasites.

Actually worse than parasites, a parasite is born a parasite, it has no other way to live, these subhuman pos CHOOSE this way.