A view from the outer: Top-four finish beckons

The Zebra

Veteran 10k Posts North Melbourne - North 2011 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2010 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2009 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2008 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2007 Player Sponsor
Jun 29, 2004
Hung Like a Horse

By Michael Tormey

THE ROOS made it five on the trot, including two wins from their past two games on the road, with a 37-point triumph at Hawthorn's 'fortress' in Launceston. The Kangas were dominant from the opening bounce and the only thing that might disappoint the coach was they let the Hawks score three of the last four goals to make the margin a little more respectable.

The moment
Aaron Edwards' goal-square screamer. If you haven't seen it, do yourself a favour and take a look here. It was a hanger of the highest order and an example of how our game is like no other.

Goal of the game
When a bloke like Corey Jones kicks seven goals it's a fair bet at least one of those will be a cracker. Well, this week, he put through two that could have qualifed as the game's best.

The first came in the opening quarter when he gathered a loose ball deep in the forward line in the middle of a big pack of players. Taking possession with his back to goal, he turned into traffic, wrong-footing his opponents (and his teammates, it would seem) in the process. In the end he had a relatively simple snap shot at goal but, as they say, it was all about the journey.

His second was perhaps less spectacular but was a great showcase of his awareness and clever goal sense. Roving a ball off the hands of a pack, with two opponents on either side of him, Jones dribbled a well-directed ball through traffic into a vacant goal square. He gets extra points for the fact that he kicked it on his right (yes, right!) foot.

The move
It's been slowly but surely for David Hale, whose pre-season was interrupted by a hamstring injury just as he was getting accustomed to playing at centre half-forward. Another hamstring injury a few weeks later put him back even further but since returning, he's gradually recovered his touch and has been a key focal point at the heart of the Roos' forward line.

Coaches' award
The game had been over as a contest since about midway through the third quarter but someone obviously forgot to tell Andrew Swallow. Five minutes into the final term, with the Roos leading by almost seven goals, the young midfielder rolled the dice by leaving his man in a bid to create a contest with two Hawthorn players running unopposed towards goal.

His first tackle forced the Hawk ball-carrier to shuffle off a quick handball, placing pressure on the receiver. That enabled him make a second tackle, which caused a spillage that he was eventually able to run on to before delivering a quick kick in the direction of Jones. A couple of handballs later, Jones was again in possession before he calmly slotted through his sixth of the afternoon.

King of the kids
It seems rather odd that a 203cm, 22-year-old with barely 35 games to his name can gather the statistics of a midfielder and still not attract anything more than a passing mention in most media reports of the game. But I suppose when you consider how well Hamish McIntosh has performed in just his second full season of AFL football you could be forgiven for thinking his 26-possession effort was almost par for the course. And it probably is – that's what makes it so impressive.

Syd Barker watch
Brent Harvey just continues to rack up the votes, and in all reality, has probably already tied up the Syd. Seven goals to Corey Jones will no doubt see him feature in the votes, while Hamish McIntosh, David Hale, Daniel Pratt, Jess Sinclair and Shannon Grant were also first rate.

Ladder
Another week, another climb up the ladder, this time to second place. Two games still separate the Roos from the first-placed Cats, so another climb next week is obviously out of the question. Sitting just a game behind the Kangas are Port Adelaide and West Coast, both of whom have a superior percentage, so a win next week is vital if the club is to hang on to second.

Next week
This Saturday's eagerly anticipated clash with the Brisbane Lions marks the first match in a tough three-week spell for the Roos, with games against West Coast and Geelong to follow. The Gabba assignment, the Roos' last road trip during the home-and-away season, will be another huge test given how well the rejuvenated Lions have been travelling over the past month.

Thanks, Zebs. Love reading these Tormey write-ups.

Top call on the "Coaches Award", too. Recall saying a similar thing myself over on the Swallow thread, ack-tyu-leee.

And he was bang on with another call, too. That 1st Quarter goal of Jones was stupidly good. And best of all, I love how CJ made it all look like a casual stroll in the park.

So refreshing to read an article from someone who knows his shit.

A draw from hell. Three interstate trips in a row, followed by Geelong and West Coast.

Hope it doesn't wear us out too much in the end.

In the scheme of things, the Brissie game isn't as big as it seems. As long as we can win 3 out of 5 we'll get top 4. Win 4 out of 5 and we'll get second.

We don't have to win all the games.

Not as good as Tormey's other efforts:

Chocolate Tastes Nice,

Unicorns Are Real, and,

Everything is Really Really Good

:D

Awww.....c'mon, RB. Don't be like that.

In this big, scary world, we all need a safe place that we can go to.

Can't wait for his next missive - North Rules, Ok ?

A draw from hell. Three interstate trips in a row, followed by Geelong and West Coast.

Hope it doesn't wear us out too much in the end.

In the scheme of things, the Brissie game isn't as big as it seems. As long as we can win 3 out of 5 we'll get top 4. Win 4 out of 5 and we'll get second.

We don't have to win all the games.

Yes but if we finish 2nd with geelong 1st and we avoid travelling interstate for the first final. We finish 3rd/4th and we most likely play first final and or prelim final interstate as West Coast will definitely finish 2nd. Im sure everyone will agree that if we have any chance at all to make an impression we must finish 2nd.

Yeah.....want to avoid fourth spot really! It means Geelong first up and then away prelim, if we lose against Geelong and West Coast and Port finish second and third!!! Second spot is a ripper, but still, third would be OK....means away final first up, win and straight to the prelim, lose and we have two home finals (as long as Geelong win first week)!!!

top article
king of the kids h mac, just how good is he! i remember seeing him in his first game at aaaaaami and he was spent after 10 minutes

good point about hale too, he is stretching the opposition and taking good defenders deep into wings and flanks where they are no good but also taking contested marks in the hot spots

Yeah.....want to avoid fourth spot really! It means Geelong first up and then away prelim, if we lose against Geelong and West Coast and Port finish second and third!!! Second spot is a ripper, but still, third would be OK....means away final first up, win and straight to the prelim, lose and we have two home finals (as long as Geelong win first week)!!!

I reckon 4th is better than 3rd. I'd give us more chance against Geelong at the MCG than against Port or West Coast interstate.

That third spot you mention, is fraught with DANGER Danger... :thumbsdown: make no mistake. Still lots of footy to be played before positions can be determined. I am not believing one iota of a top 4 finish UNLESS North can snare 2 from the next 3 and then determine where it's all at. I can see a "last round" loss to set up a few things RIGHT. ;)

Too many ppl getting ahead of themselves around here. :eek: :D