Academy Rorts - The 2025 Draft Thread

Murray the new hot prospect. Out of the way Annable

We’ve little idea where Murray (and Owen) are rated amongst next year’s draft crop.

There’s a pretty clear pathway for Murray in to the first team, in the short term future.

Owen I’m unsure of his pathway, as another sub 180cm, inside mid.

They were the clear two best standouts for QLD against Vic Metro.

Owen could play small forward, but his leg speed probably a question mark for that role.

Geesu named to play for Redland in the seniors this week, however they are playing Mt Gravatt which is basically a bye dressed up in blue & white so won't be able to get much out of it

Tahj Abberley looks pretty good, played VFL on the weekend again and seems solid off the back flank, took some good contested grabs and looks steady with ball in hand.
He has been a solid contributor in the vfl for years. Seems to have developed more core strength. Seems to be a guy who commits to whatever task he is given. As NB said best game for the club. Lock down defender?

Caelyn Murray is already a significantly better player than Abberley and he is 17. He was absolutely scintilating in the QAFL on the weekend.

31 disposals off half back, 11 inside 50's and his turn of speed is amazing. The roos knocked off the reigning premiers and Murray was BOG by a fair margin, with one highlight being a 3-4 possession dash from inside defensive 50, with 3 overlap handballs, a couple of running bounces and then a pinpoint left foot kick to a leading forward. He left 3 blokes in his dust like the road runner!

Edi:

go to 1.42:50 on the above video...

He is quickly becoming the #1 prospect in QLD for 2026 draft, opening a gap to Owen. Those are the only 2 real prospects, though Hodge continues to get extensive opportunities.

Geesu returned to senior footy on the weekend also, but sadly I believe he was injured in the first quarter.

Good news re: Murray. From the little I have seen he can definitely play and will be picked up by us for sure on talent alone but from others more in the know what is his defence like seeing as he seems to be a half back? Can he defend a Bobby Hill or dangerous medium forward or his he purely a Zorko type that we look to free up? Wilmot is one of the best defenders in the game because he provides dash but is not a liability defensively. Would be ideal if he's balanced in that respect although we can't have it all!

I said it before but Cooper Hodge can play too, he's not as flashy as other but his game will hold up at AFL but may take a little more time than others. He looks like he can play multiple positions (I think a half back lock down player is what he will start as), has plenty of speed, loves a contest and his kicking is fine. He has a high ceiling for me. He actually compliments guys like Murray who seem to be the polished uncontested ball types.

Murray is skinny, but elite skill and genuine topline speed. He can lockdown, but I reckon at AFL level you would start him on a wing and let him run. Owen is an inside mid, but not a bull like Annable and Prindable, he is pure class and reads it off the hands and off the deck and then just releases runners into space with his vision. He is ultra clean.

I don't have anything personal against Hodge, but he just isn't at the same level as these 2 and is back in the pack with many others, if not behind them - but is really getting looked after with opportunity. Has played 1 x QAFL senior game and hasn't cracked 10 disposals, but is getting getting much greater VFL opportunity ahead of others his age who out perform him every week at the same level.

I reckon he will see out the year in the VFL, and it may well be because the Lions have asked his club and they've told them he won't be playing seniors for them

Caelyn Murray is already a significantly better player than Abberley and he is 17. He was absolutely scintilating in the QAFL on the weekend.

31 disposals off half back, 11 inside 50's and his turn of speed is amazing. The roos knocked off the reigning premiers and Murray was BOG by a fair margin, with one highlight being a 3-4 possession dash from inside defensive 50, with 3 overlap handballs, a couple of running bounces and then a pinpoint left foot kick to a leading forward. He left 3 blokes in his dust like the road runner!

Edi:

go to 1.42:50 on the above video...

He is quickly becoming the #1 prospect in QLD for 2026 draft, opening a gap to Owen. Those are the only 2 real prospects, though Hodge continues to get extensive opportunities.

👍
Geesu returned to senior footy on the weekend also, but sadly I believe he was injured in the first quarter.
😢

Murray is skinny, but elite skill and genuine topline speed. He can lockdown, but I reckon at AFL level you would start him on a wing and let him run. Owen is an inside mid, but not a bull like Annable and Prindable, he is pure class and reads it off the hands and off the deck and then just releases runners into space with his vision. He is ultra clean.

I don't have anything personal against Hodge, but he just isn't at the same level as these 2 and is back in the pack with many others, if not behind them - but is really getting looked after with opportunity. Has played 1 x QAFL senior game and hasn't cracked 10 disposals, but is getting getting much greater VFL opportunity ahead of others his age who out perform him every week at the same level.

I reckon he will see out the year in the VFL, and it may well be because the Lions have asked his club and they've told them he won't be playing seniors for them
How does Murray compare to Patterson from the Suns this year?

Murray must have grown, or thats inaccurate. Murray is nowhere near 6 feet tall from what I have seen.

I'd have him about 178, 179 tops.

Hodge is about 183 tops and he is much taller than Murray

Murray must have grown, or thats inaccurate. Murray is nowhere near 6 feet tall from what I have seen.

I'd have him about 178, 179 tops.

Hodge is about 183 tops and he is much taller than Murray
I’m going by the heights listed on the Rookie Me website, and they do the preseason testing.

Hodge is listed at 182cm.

briztoon is this as grim for west coast as I think it is? A ruck and a duursma at pick 1 and 2???

Matthew Broderick GIF

They'll have to do a St Kilda and blame academies in 5 years time.

Academy Rorts - The 2025 Draft Thread