Academy Rorts - The 2025 Draft Thread

Academies are not going. Even the AFL told the league recently that it won't ever go. At worst, there will be a cap in how many players you can draft into your club from the acadamy.

I got the impression from all of Greg Swann's recent interviews that F/S and Academies aren't going anywhere, just that clubs should pay fair price which he believes they will be from this year onwards.

I'm not expecting anything to change and the AFL to gaslight the Saints whingeing.
I reckon the AFL are pretty sold on the increasing the pipeline of kids coming and helping the growth up north. I suspect they will continue to chip away at the cost part of the getting the kids in. So eventually there will be no discount and then they will look to make it harder again

Annabel, I've watched him in his 3 reserve grade game, bloody love the kid. I've very big on him, Levi was great in his one game, Annabel has been great in all his. We are going to be so lucky to get him. mind you that Dursma kid, I guess he is a younger brother, he was something else also for the Casey Demons, who ever gets him will have a 'half back' type cool under pressure that can start attacks from the back half.

Love your work Clarky, but the different spellings on Dan’s surname is doing my head in. As a bad speller myself I had to check his name thinking I still had it wrong. Auto correct doesn’t help as apparently there is something called an Annabelle doll!

As you say Dan Annable is just about ready for afl, think it’s time for the club to hid him somewhere so he doesn’t go in the top 3.

Love your work Clarky, but the different spellings on Dan’s surname is doing my head in. As a bad speller myself I had to check his name thinking I still had it wrong. Auto correct doesn’t help as apparently there is something called an Annabelle doll!

As you say Dan Annable is just about ready for afl, think it’s time for the club to hid him somewhere so he doesn’t go in the top 3.
1754816248792.png

It’ll be interesting to see how Fages fits all these guys into the team next year. He likes to play the top draftees which I agree with. But it’ll be tough going assuming everyone’s fit to get Annabelle in.

The preseason discussion next year is going to be interesting. Our effective best 23 depth, even if you assume 2 experienced guys out and 2 in, will be like 31 or 32.

It’ll be interesting to see how Fages fits all these guys into the team next year. He likes to play the top draftees which I agree with. But it’ll be tough going assuming everyone’s fit to get Annabelle in.

The preseason discussion next year is going to be interesting. Our effective best 23 depth, even if you assume 2 experienced guys out and 2 in, will be like 31 or 32.
I’ve put together a 22 that I think fits although I’ve no doubt missed someone. I think Annable could do what Levi has done this season on the wing with hopefully Levi getting more time in the middle.

Neale getting a bit older maybe they could manage his time on ground, also think Dunkley could be a great deep forward with his marking ability and pressure

I’ve put together a 22 that I think fits although I’ve no doubt missed someone. I think Annable could do what Levi has done this season on the wing with hopefully Levi getting more time in the middle.

Neale getting a bit older maybe they could manage his time on ground, also think Dunkley could be a great deep forward with his marking ability and pressure
Did you forget to list your best 22?

Answerth Andrews Payne

Wilmot Lester Fletcher

Berry McCluggage L.Ashcroft

Bailey Rayner Lohmann

Cameron Allen Morris

Draper Neale Dunkley

W. Ashcroft Annable Hipwood
Zorko

Answerth not being available to start the season hurts a bit as I don’t think there’s a like for like replacement. Also assuming Starc and Ah Chee leave. Maybe Kiddy as the sub while he works back into the AFL

#6 Matthew Owen (Lions Academy)
Midfielder | 179cm | 01/03/2008

Stats:
32 disposals, 9 clearances, 1 goal

Owen is no stranger to racking up possessions and that was no different on Saturday as he led all comers with a casual 32 touches. The prolific midfielder was prominent at the coalface, defying his lean build to win nine clearances. He complimented that inside work by leaning on his running capacity to get busy on the outside, helping produce clean stoppage exits and fluent forward chains. While his disposal was sometimes impacted by pressure, Owen booted a goal out of nothing in the last quarter, needing only one step to slam the ball home out of congestion.

#14 Caylen Murray (Lions Academy)
Defender | 183cm | 03/01/2008

Stats:
21 disposals, 3 clearances, 4 rebound 50s

Murray hardly ever looks fazed on a football field and that was no different on Saturday. Operating off half-back, he utilised his silky skills to hit targets going forward and seemed to make all the right decisions with ball in hand. The Lions Academy prospect got busy on the overlap but was also clever enough to manufacture intercepts, then turn defence into attack. Murray ventured high up the ground but was also willing and capable of defending, holding up well in one-on-one duels.

Love the sound of Caylen Murray, can never have too many good ball users..."hardly ever looks fazed" "utilized his silky skills" "seemed to make all the right decisions with ball in hand". Reads like Hugh McCluggage. 😍

problem solved if the sub finally disappears in 2023.

We need defenders and forwards this off season. Anything like that in our academy or is it just midfielders r'us?
Wyatt Greenaway, overage academy member, 186cm defender, played a couple of VFL games this year. Not sure if he’s draftable.

The youngest McFadyen has been the best of 19 year old academy kids in the VFL this year. He’s a 190cm third tall type.

Oscar Barry is a 192cm defender. For me, he’s a bigger version of Starcevich. I’ve always liked him, but he doesn’t get a lot of attention.

If we were to rookie list a kid, it would be Barry for me.

Then there’s Raphael Geesu, small forward/mid, a few of us had hopes for coming in to the season, but he’s done a bad hammy injury from reports.

We need defenders and forwards this off season. Anything like that in our academy or is it just midfielders r'us?
Even if we did, they'd take years to get into the 23. We already have Brain and Gallop on the list who deserve a chance in the 23 but can't get it.

Prioritise high end academy picks, lower draft bolters eg Logan Morris and needed trade ins concentrating on free agents which is what we have been doing.

We have plenty of elite talent with at least 5 years left in them, keep the window open. It would be delicious if Ty Gallop and ZZ come on over the next few seasons.

Prioritise high end academy picks, lower draft bolters eg Logan Morris and needed trade ins concentrating on free agents which is what we have been doing.
I believe, with the changes to the DVI and reduction in the discount, if a team has a high end draft prospect, especially if their first pick is at the back end of the first round, after matching your first kid, you’re probably then picking at the back end of the third round with your next pick.

We have plenty of elite talent with at least 5 years left in them, keep the window open. It would be delicious if Ty Gallop and ZZ come on over the next few seasons.

Oscar Barry is a 192cm defender. For me, he’s a bigger version of Starcevich. I’ve always liked him, but he doesn’t get a lot of attention.

If we were to rookie list a kid, it would be Barry for me.

Then there’s Raphael Geesu, small forward/mid, a few of us had hopes for coming in to the season, but he’s done a bad hammy injury from reports.

Barry is a very reliable performer, but never been part of the ''academy clique''

Geesu is back playing footy, but coming from a long way back and been playing Colts with Redland.

As for Caelyn Murray, has absolutely zero comparable traits to McCluggage. Don't want to get ahead of myself, but he is more of a Wanganeen-Milera type. His line breaking speed, kicking and ability to break from congestion despite being pretty small, is elite.

Barry is a very reliable performer, but never been part of the ''academy clique''

Geesu is back playing footy, but coming from a long way back and been playing Colts with Redland.

As for Caelyn Murray, has absolutely zero comparable traits to McCluggage. Don't want to get ahead of myself, but he is more of a Wanganeen-Milera type. His line breaking speed, kicking and ability to break from congestion despite being pretty small, is elite.
I haven't seen Murray play except for a quarter or so in the VFL during which time he performed a couple of great kicks. You don't think he has vision and calmness with ball in hand like McCluggage?

BTW if he is in the NWM realm surely he rockets up the draft boards come next season, can you imagine the outrage if he is widely projected as the number 1 pick by the pundits, would expect the AFL to change the rules re academy players quick smart.

It is crazy to me that Academy talent is all top 10 according to draft experts but every draft night most of them slide way down the order. It is just them creating hysteria on the impact of the academies are having on the game.

Attention seeking. Outrage, controversy = views.

Zorko like?

nah, he is very very skinny. Zorko has always ahd the pocket rocket build.

He's not going to rocket up the draft boards to be a Top 5 prospect I wouldn't think, but the Lions will definitely want to hold onto him.

Academy Rorts - The 2025 Draft Thread