Adams - what went wrong?

• Thread starter Thread starter THATSGOLD

Not even close. What went wrong?

As the news article referred to this post here quotes, Adams himself knew pre-season that he could find the ball OK but needed to improve his use of it.

If Adams was aware of that, reasonable to assume his coaches were also aware of it, and he's a work in progress.

It's just taking us fans a bit of time to catch up :)

As the news article referred to this post here quotes, Adams himself knew pre-season that he could find the ball OK but needed to improve his use of it.

If Adams was aware of that, reasonable to assume his coaches were also aware of it, and he's a work in progress.

It's just taking us fans a bit of time to catch up :)
Hadnt even heard of him(and I reckon id know 90% of players in the comp)until he was thrown up as a trade option last yr.Then when all his highlight video's popped up,was chompin at the bit to get him.None of those video's showed his deficientcies with kickin.Maybe thats why they call them HIGHlights!!!!!!Still hav to agree (and hope)with alot of posters that it may be nerves or just tryin to hard

Hadnt even heard of him(and I reckon id know 90% of players in the comp)until he was thrown up as a trade option last yr.

I'm guessing most of that remaining 10% play for GWS ;)

Then when all his highlight video's popped up,was chompin at the bit to get him.None of those video's showed his deficientcies with kickin.Maybe thats why they call them HIGHlights!!!!!!

Indeed!

Still hav to agree (and hope)with alot of posters that it may be nerves or just tryin to hard

The point that I was making is that he admitted pre-season that he needed to work on his kicking and decision making. As a third year player you'd think he'd be over the nerves by now.

He's a work in progress

I'm guessing most of that remaining 10% play for GWS ;)

Indeed!

The point that I was making is that he admitted pre-season that he needed to work on his kicking and decision making. As a third year player you'd think he'd be over the nerves by now.

He's a work in progress
You guessed correct.I may hav missed the adams article u speak of coz his disp eff has shocked me and agree a 3rd yr player shouldnt hav a schfincter that tight.You must be a pro-how did u dissect my post like that?I only joined few days ago after being a serial reader for last year

That also explains why bucks waited so long to get him playin consecutive games in afl.I though he was just tryin to make a statement that you dont get a guaranteed game just because you replace a collingwood legend in heater shaw

You guessed correct.I may hav missed the adams article u speak of coz his disp eff has shocked me and agree a 3rd yr player shouldnt hav a schfincter that tight.

Article ... http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/2014-02-27/adams-coached-by-the-best

You must be a pro-how did u dissect my post like that?

Just enclose different sections in [quote] and [/quote] tags.

See the following link for a full list of BB codes ... http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/help/bb-codes

I only joined few days ago after being a serial reader for last year

Welcome! Introduce yourself in the following thread ... The Welcome Thread - If you're new (or old) to BigFooty introduce yourself here

Went to your adams link,rings a bell(i was to busy admiring the 20yr olds rig,didnt think he made big deal of it,(his kickin) but you wouldnt if you were in his position,i remember that day at wet n wild,my friend and I gave him the nickname "the beast", after that.

This chat seems to be way off topic you guys :)
Your correct. Sorry. I don't think Adams has been mentioned in the last 20 posts.

Lets get it back on topic.
I think he will be a gun player and don't agree with all the Adams haters.
Guy has got lots of potential.

Your correct. Sorry. I don't think Adams has been mentioned in the last 20 posts.

Lets get it back on topic.
I think he will be a gun player and don't agree with all the Adams haters.
Guy has got lots of potential.
Who"s adams????Mornin magpiegirl,didnt think anyone was awake to be bored.I agree,pretorious can kick better them adams but he is a clearance machine and my expert mate reckons clearances win games so im stickin with him,plus I agree with the premise that even though he's a 3rd yr player,he's never played with this much pressure-he'll come good

Does your expert mate think Adams will become a good player for us. And what makes him an expert

H
Does your expert mate think Adams will become a good player for us. And what makes him an expert
He used to-not sure if he still feels the same.Havnt seen him for couple months now.He used to play footy(not proffesional)but has followed it for long time and says stuff with conviction.Conviction means knowledge unless your a tool in my book and he aint a tool

Where did my intro go????Hav I been modded again?????
I moved it to 'The Welcome Thread'

That way everyone will get to know you :)

Ive just checked the welcome thread,and ive just checked the moderator list-so my powers of deduction are on to you miss magpie girl.Answer me these questions three!!!!Was not my welcome thread the pick of the litter????Doth your mother know you wearath her drapes(couldnt resist-just watched avengers again and that has to be best line of movie-puny god close second),and noone reads the welcome thread!!!!That story needs to be told!!!!

I moved it to 'The Welcome Thread'

That way everyone will get to know you :)
My bad maylady,,i just checked welcome thread and last entry was tues.Lookin at it originally I though no one went there( only coz while ive been readin over last yr I didnt even look at that bit),if your the one that deleted my first post,i apologize,didnt mean to be a troll,was just sick of a certain person puttin others down

Hadnt even heard of him(and I reckon id know 90% of players in the comp)until he was thrown up as a trade option last yr.Then when all his highlight video's popped up,was chompin at the bit to get him.None of those video's showed his deficientcies with kickin.Maybe thats why they call them HIGHlights!!!!!!Still hav to agree (and hope)with alot of posters that it may be nerves or just tryin to hard

No different to Darcy Moore. Most people have only seen highlights and he looks ok in them. There will be roast threads early on next year because he has a lot of deficiencies he will need to iron out before he becomes the player this board expects. Thats if we choose to draft him because I'm not so convinced Hine would use an early pick on him with much more talent out there.

Love your avatar although my man crush for pendles would mean she'd get the cold side of the bed.Only thing I know about moore is what ive read on bf,know even less about potential topten picks.Knew I was spellin deficiencies wrong but couldnt be stuffed rectifing it

Nothing's gone wrong, the kid is 21 FFS.

Finds it easy enough and wins the hard ball which is the hard part.

The problem lies in the fact that we have a player with such poor disposal in our best 22. I am completely behind the development of players like T Adams. That is what the VFL is for after all. However he has shown throughout his career that his DE was poor from the start and hasn't really improved in 3 years of senior footy.

Might be time to crack the whip on him.

Coaching as much as Adams himself. Yes, he's been butchering the ball in all but one or two games, but he's been playing as a half back flanker or an outside runner for half the year. It's for development and to round out his game while Ball is still around which will hold him in good stead later on, but it's clearly not his natural thing.

He is very much a "see ball, get ball, dispose of ball" type player. Good for inside extraction, firing off quick handpasses and the quick clearance kick in congestion. Not so good in open space trying to size up leading targets and moving zones. I was a fan of him getting an extended run in the AFL, but if he isn't going to be played in his natural position every single game, then he'd be better off in the VFL playing as an outside mid, learning how to become a more consistent kick and better decision maker in open space.

The problem lies in the fact that we have a player with such poor disposal in our best 22. I am completely behind the development of players like T Adams. That is what the VFL is for after all. However he has shown throughout his career that his DE was poor from the start and hasn't really improved in 3 years of senior footy.

Might be time to crack the whip on him.
It's my belief that the problem is that he is finding it hard to adjust to the speed of AFL footy. Playing with the heat on every minute of the game is different to his time at GWS.

It's a myth that his ball use was terrible at GWS.

It's not gonna be fixed by playing VFL footy.

Footy is 90% above the shoulders the kid in almost 0% at the moment once he gets his confidants and backs his ability there will be nothing wrong with him

Must play in the middle, his inside game is his biggest asset.
Not overly quick and we are a side that lacks pace but, he's not the slowest Magpie out there.
His disposal is the area he needs to work on, its killing him and will make or break his career, IT MUST IMPROVE.

This in part will be the pace of the game and the fact he may still be getting used to it, in part, it is something he genuinely needs to work hard on and improve, Licca's nickname early was NATO, (Not Another TurnOver) and he managed to correct it, Marley seems to have made the necessary adjustments, Jonno was a shocker for turnovers early in his career it can be fixed with hard work.

The thing with Adams though is he actually does make "some" good decisions when trying to dispose of the ball. You can tell he wants to be aggressive and "make the play" but he just can't at this stage. His best games are where he plays inside, contested footy and uses his hands to slip the ball out quick. Would also like to see him tackle more and tackle harder.

If you aren't going to be the best user of the ball you need to make up for it. Look at Matthew Boyd from the Doggies, never blessed with great skills but hard as a rock and tackles his heart out all game, every game.