Cleric

I thought it would be better to have a seperate thread about the financials of our club at AO than where someones seats maybe or if the pies are hot or cold.
With all the talk about the possibility of there been no cheque handed to AFC from the sold out Collingwood game I would like to try and nut out what we should expect and what we do get.
First things first, the SA government did not spend 600 million so both clubs reap every cent that comes into the oval, and this is something the PAPers fail to understand. It was built to try and make footy and cricket in SA as good as it can. That reads not just two AFL clubs.
So what is different to AAMI that we know, or think we know.
Both clubs get all money from their corporate boxs and advertising at the ground when they never did at AAMI. That should be a big jump in $.
Now as always we get to keep 100% of our season ticket sales. Now do people know the actual season ticket numbers of both clubs?
There are 8,000 SMA memberships.
So when we look at a typical sellout there might be 50,000 people there. take out them 8,000 SMA members that leaves 42,000 people there. Say there are 35,000 season ticket holders at the game that leaves 7,000 paid for tickets at the gate.
Now the AFL, the SMA (their cut and cost of expenses like security, cleaning,etc) and the opposition team get a % of that take before the home team gets their slice.

So my queston is why did people think there going to be rivers of gold flowing from game day ticket sales? I know the PAPers arent the smartest, and their track record of managing money is worse than the labour party, but the flogs are still going on about how they have been screwed by the SANFL.

And another thing that is weird is this. This game with PAP vs Hawks is a sell out, but if you buy a season ticket you can still go. So obviously they are withholding seat sales from game day and saving them for season ticket people. How many seats could they do that with? Thats kinda wrong thay can do that.

I think your pretty close. I am sure there are a few things that are costing more than they should but its obviously going to cost more to maintain if we want it to stay like new rather than just run it down over time. Especially with all the extra rooms and high end finishes.

After hearing the end of the conversation about this on 3AW Greg Swann mentioned and assumed that the returns that are referred to in these complaints are less money "from the gate" meaning match day tickets. Victorian clubs have low 11/17 game ticket sales compared to walk ups while we and Port (claim to) have pretty much sold out season tickets and have minimal match day tickets to sell.

I am sure the truth is somewhere in the middle.

And another thing that is weird is this. This game with PAP vs Hawks is a sell out, but if you buy a season ticket you can still go. So obviously they are withholding seat sales from game day and saving them for season ticket people. How many seats could they do that with? Thats kinda wrong thay can do that.

I think that always happens.

Graham Cornes made some sense, without my potentially bad maths he basically said its less because the SA clubs don't have a lot of tickets to sell each week but 40,000 members at an average of $300 a year divided by 11 games = over a million a game. Plus corporates and advertising. The profits/loss that Rucci is talking about is obviously coming from the 5 or so thousand tickets available to the public.

Three game passes are subject to capacity, buying one of those memberships doesn't guarantee you entry as it's general admission only

Of all the reasons we apparantly left Footy park for, I can't think of any that have proven factual.

Simple Economics is that there has been a 40%-50% in attendances, so the takings & food/beverages revenue increase would be significant ... as would the corporates.

My main concern would be ensuring costs do not increase at unreasonable rate. eg. Is cleaning really 4 times more expensive than footy park, as that would be ridiculous & need to be reviewed.

Also, what is the SMA overhead cost v old AAMI/Adelaide Oval cost, as IMO there is some pork barrelling going on ... & too many chiefs not doing much we are paying for htrough our season tickets.

The SMA (SANFL/SACA in disguise) is a bigger bureaucracy than the SANFL ever was.

Trigg owed an apology id say.

Didn't commit like a 2 bit whore and is paying for the sins of those who did.

Never a truer word spoken.

Adelaide Oval is an awesome venue, I love the place and love that we can now go and watch our club at a venue all South Australians can be proud of. But it does sadden me a little that over $500.000.000.00 of tax payers money was used to feather the SANFL/SACA's cap ahead of our two AFL clubs. Our two AFL clubs are the two biggest sporting organisations in our state. Between us we have over 100,000 members. The SACA/SANFL (its 8 clubs) would be lucky to get within half of that.

My main concern would be ensuring costs do not increase at unreasonable rate. eg. Is cleaning really 4 times more expensive than footy park, as that would be ridiculous & need to be reviewed.

According to Andrew Daniels (I'll leave it up to you whether you take him at his word or not...) the cleaning cost is more than at AAMI, but less than double (let alone 4x).

The way that I see it is that for each game played;

1. The sanfl still require the same nett dividend from ao as they received from aami in order to support their league.
2. The saca must be getting something
3. The SMA will be taking as much as they need to cover their costs and however much extra to reinvest in seeking non-footy/cricket events

I cannot see any of these parties missing out and unless the total revenue is improved by increased prices/crowds it's hard to see how the clubs will be better off.

Trigg owed an apology id say.

Didn't commit like a 2 bit whore and is paying for the sins of those who did.

Certainly one way to look at it. He did say that we wouldn't be going until we were certain that it was going to be a better deal. He may not have rolled early, but ultimately his talk was cheap and he rolled nonetheless. Port were in a position where they had nothing to lose by throwing up a Hail Mary. Whereas we had the luxury of waiting for a guaranteed better deal, which we said we would do and yet it doesn't like we have. I don't think triggy and board can be absolved completely if this turns to crap.

Did our club's relationship with the AFL (ie Vlad) begin to sour once Trigg took this stance. This was pre Tippetgate/Randell sacking.

Bear in mind that Vlad rates the move to AO as one of his greatest achievements during his tenure. Trigg/Crows questioning the move on the basis of the actual uplift for us (and not just being better off due to an increased attendance at the new Adelaide Oval) may not have been viewed very highly.

When the AFL/Vlad want something done, it happens.

Three game passes are subject to capacity, buying one of those memberships doesn't guarantee you entry as it's general admission only
Radio ads for the PAP are saying "the game against the Hawks is a sell out, but if you buy a season ticket you will be able to go to the game"

Did our club's relationship with the AFL (ie Vlad) begin to sour once Trigg took this stance. This was pre Tippetgate/Randell sacking.

Bear in mind that Vlad rates the move to AO as one of his greatest achievements during his tenure. Trigg/Crows questioning the move on the basis of the actual uplift for us (and not just being better off due to an increased attendance at the new Adelaide Oval) may not have been viewed very highly.

Reckon you could argue conflicting views. While you could very well be on the money, vlad wouldn't be likely tocount it as much of an achievement if it resulted in worse returns for the afl licenses. And especially if it basically lined the pockets of the sanfl and saca at the expense of and off the sweat of the afl clubs backs.

Excellent post. It is quite clear that the AFC had no choice but to move in the end because all the money was going to be poured into AO and AAMI was going be left behind.

I'm surprised people are surprised re the financials we've heard about this week.

And AO has to cost more to run. It's state of the art. State of the art doesn't come cheap. And is expensive to maintain.

Reckon you could argue conflicting views. While you could very well be on the money, vlad wouldn't be likely tocount it as much of an achievement if it resulted in worse returns for the afl licenses. And especially if it basically lined the pockets of the sanfl and saca at the expense of and off the sweat of the afl clubs backs.

I wonder if Triggy having a better understanding of SA Footy politics and perhaps pointing this out to Vlad could have been an issue:cool:.

Fast forward to 2014 and the AFL will now need to step in to sort out the actual financial deal after getting the move done.

That unfortunatly is our admins modus operandi, talk tough, make the plebs think they are going to play hardball, then roll over like weak sacks they are hope we all forget about it. We may be getting a couple of mill boost at AAMI, but how much are we going to loose long term with our white elephant we built at AAMI?