Adelaide Vs Essendon

Originally posted by nonchalance
No, it's a six or seven goal advantage IMO.
It's a three or four goal advantage to us playing them in Melbourne.

Fair enough but there were clowns in here saying we will get smashed yet then saying we would win it in Melbourne ! That's at least a 15 goal turnaround!!! Rubbish.

Originally posted by M29
He said games at AAMI and adeliade. He didn't mention either team. The last two times we have played at AAMI fletcher has been missing.

Comprende?

Sure I understand what Sheedy said, I just make the note that what Sheedy said about when Fletcher was missing has nothing to do with this upcoming game at AAMI against Adelaide.

Zilch, zero, zip, nada.

Fletcher wasn't missing at all when the Bombers lost in their most recent games at AAMI against Adelaide.

Originally posted by ok.crows
Sure I understand what Sheedy said, I just make the note that what Sheedy said about when Fletcher was missing has nothing to do with this upcoming game at AAMI against Adelaide.

Zilch, zero, zip, nada.

Fletcher wasn't missing at all when the Bombers lost in their most recent games at AAMI against Adelaide.

I think Sheeds was saying that most times we have visited footy park of late we have had one of our big 3 out(which partly explains our thrashings at footy park), which obviously doesn't help when playing away.

Originally posted by M29
He said games at AAMI and adeliade. He didn't mention either team. The last two times we have played at AAMI fletcher has been missing.

Comprende?

So he was just sprouting irrelevant dribble as usual.;)

I have been surprised by the focus on Essendon this week in regard to their results at AAMI stadium as opposed to the game itself.

There has been little in depth analysis of the actual game and the potential match ups.

I think it will be a cracker. Essendon's team looks formidable on paper, but then so do Port's finals teams.

Home ground advantage evens it up for us, because as it has been said we can't beat you in Melbourne.

Hopefully the rain stays away. Today for example it rained this morning, cleared up and was sunny at lunch time and is now clouding over again. It may yet stay dry on Friday.

Stenglein v Hird battle will be a ripper. Hird should still win plenty of the ball but watch for Stenglin hurting you the other way and at stoppages.

Llloyd is a huge problem for us this time with no N Smart. I just can't see a good match up so we will have to win the midfield battle 60-40 I would say to stand a chance.

Originally posted by eastaugh36
I think Sheeds was saying that most times we have visited footy park of late we have had one of our big 3 out(which partly explains our thrashings at footy park), which obviously doesn't help when playing away.

Most times when you have played Port at Footy Park in recent years, yes, that is so, the bombers have had at least one and sometimes 3 of their big 3 missing.

It wasn't so at all when they played Adelaide in recent years at Footy Park and lost. All 3 played. Bombers still lost.

So why mention it ? It wasn't relevant Sheeds. You gotta come up with another excuse.

Originally posted by Dan26
I normally concede the loss when we travel to Adelaide, but I give us a realistic 40-60 chance of winning this one. Sheedy has openly said, he and his players are sick of going over there are getting our butts kicked, so I think being ultra-competitive will be a focus for us because of that.

With no injuries and coming off 5 wins, there is no reason to think we can't be very, very competitive. The round one match has no relevance. Apart from Port being a better side than the Crows, we had a skeleton side in.

It reminds me of the 1998 match (remember that one?) We went into the match against the reigning, and eventual premeirs, with 4 straight wins and minimal injuries and lost by 2 points in a fantastic match. The circumstances dictate that a similarly competitive performance can be expected this Friday.

Dan, for once old chum, I agree entirely.

If only supporters for other teams where all so civile.

I think we do have a genuine chance against Adelaide, if its a good ol arm wrestle then i think our clutch players will come thru with the goods

even if we do lose, in the whole scheme of things now is a rare time where we can afford to lose one game as long as noone does anything stupid or careless, would be a bad time to lose players

Point, Jars.

Personally, I'm worried about McGregor - he's in excellent form atm.

Have you got the Adelaide team yet?
Only 1 change for the Crows - Ladhams in for the injured Doughty. Although there are a few players with the flu, so there may be more late changes.

Will Fletcher play on McGregor, leaving Lucas to play on Carey. Who plays on Welsh, given his last performance against you guys? Stinger is sure to get Hird, but I also reckon JJ requires close attention. McPhee v Burton perhaps? Lot's of great matchups, but one of the most important could be in ruck to give their midfield the advantage...

Originally posted by Stegelator
since when did this beomce the adelaide board? :confused: :D

It hasnt bcome the Adelaide Board this is a thread on the match between the two clubs who are playing tonight, nothing more nothing less,I was quoting someone on Welsh that was all;)

Fletcher will play FB against whoever the Crows have down there - he's a fullback, not a general KPP defender. That most likely leaves Lucas at CHB, since I can't see Bolton taking either of your big forwards.

Haynes won't play for us, which means Bradley, Bullen or Stanton will come in. My tip is Bradley, meaning that we have another tall option.

My bet is Welsh on Welsh - might be a bit skinny, but I think he can handle it.

Burton v McPhee will be great to watch if it eventuates.

Ricciuto v J Johnson would be great to watch also, but I'm doubting Sheedy would let that happen.

Either Pev or MJ will tag McLeod, and do as well on him as anybody would - which is to say if McL is on fire, nobody in the league could stop him, so I won't worry about it.

Who I am worried about is Ricciuto. The only players quick enough and skilled enough to go against him are going to be outmuscled - except JJ, but he's no tagger - think Roo and Hird are the keys to the game.

The ruck contest will be important, yes - Allan and Hille v Clarke and Hudson. I'd go for Allan and Hille, but I may be biased.

Fletcher will play FB against whoever the Crows have down there - he's a fullback, not a general KPP defender. That most likely leaves Lucas at CHB, since I can't see Bolton taking either of your big forwards.

Haynes won't play for us, which means Bradley, Bullen or Stanton will come in. My tip is Bradley, meaning that we have another tall option.

My bet is Welsh on Welsh - might be a bit skinny, but I think he can handle it.

Burton v McPhee will be great to watch if it eventuates.

Ricciuto v J Johnson would be great to watch also, but I'm doubting Sheedy would let that happen.

Either Pev or MJ will tag McLeod, and do as well on him as anybody would - which is to say if McL is on fire, nobody in the league could stop him, so I won't worry about it.

Who I am worried about is Ricciuto. The only players quick enough and skilled enough to go against him are going to be outmuscled - except JJ, but he's no tagger - think Roo and Hird are the keys to the game.

The ruck contest will be important, yes - Allan and Hille v Clarke and Hudson. I'd go for Allan and Hille, but I may be biased.
Crows are likely to play their talls (ie. Carey & McGregor) across CHF, so if Fletcher won't move from FB, you will need another tall defender along with Lucas. Probably Wellman, but he isn't really strong enough. Perhaps this is where Bradley could come into play.

If Fletcher plays FB, will be interesting to see how he matches up on Edwards & McLeod leading combination. I know he is quick for a big guy, but not that quick!

I expect Pev will play on Roo, with MJ on Macca / Edwards. Stinger to get Hird for sure, with both being in great form.

If Clarke plays like he did last week, your rucks will be taken to the cleaners as he demolished Brogan & Lade. I'm confident that we will get the edge in the taps, but worried about Hille's ability to run forward & do some damage.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Crows are likely to play their talls (ie. Carey & McGregor) across CHF, so if Fletcher won't move from FB, you will need another tall defender along with Lucas. Probably Wellman, but he isn't really strong enough. Perhaps this is where Bradley could come into play.

Bradley or Bolton - although Fletch may have to move out. I'd like to see Bradley on Carey, at least for a quarter or so - he'd learn a hell of a lot.

If Fletcher plays FB, will be interesting to see how he matches up on Edwards & McLeod leading combination. I know he is quick for a big guy, but not that quick!

That's what Phil Matera thought :D
Seriously, though - if that matchup does happen, the Crows will have to be very accurate with their forward passing. If that's your main forward target, and we're on top in the midfield, you're in big trouble. Of course, if you're able to get the ball out of the midfield without constant pressure, we're stuffed.

I expect Pev will play on Roo, with MJ on Macca / Edwards. Stinger to get Hird for sure, with both being in great form.

Probably, yeah. The worry there is if Ricciuto goes forward, where he'll towel Pev up - of course, if it's Fletch and Pev vs Roo and Edwards, I'll back Fletch in any marking contests.

If Clarke plays like he did last week, your rucks will be taken to the cleaners as he demolished Brogan & Lade. I'm confident that we will get the edge in the taps, but worried about Hille's ability to run forward & do some damage.

Taken to the cleaners no. Beaten, maybe - but Allan will give a good contest in every ruck, and Hille should be able to beat Clarke around the ground, especially with the two rotating. I do agree that you'll have the edge in the hitouts when Clarke's in the ruck, but Hudson's a significant step down in those contests.

Who's going to deal with Hille if we have him in the forward line while Allan's in the ruck?

Basset's got Lloyd, obviously. How do you think your lot will go vs Cupes, NLM and Rioli in the forward line at the same time?

Incidentally, loving this discussion. Rational opposition supporters who know their stuff are great - because to be honest, I haven't seen the Crows as much as I've seen other teams. Thanks.

nonchalance -

The Crows seem very much to be feeling their way towards an effective setup at this time, given the players they have.

Last week against Port there was a noticeable difference in the way that the Crows set up their forward structure and in the way the Crows moved the ball into their forward 50.

In particular, long bombs to the goalsquare were virtually banned.

The Crows rotated two players through the FF position - both small & quick & capable of taking an overhead mark on the run at full pace. Edwards & McLeod.

It was quite effective. Port used Wanganeen as FB to try and matchup this setup & it didn't really work.

If the Crows persist with this, and I think they will, I can't see that Fletcher would be a good choice to saty at FB for the Bombers.

Also, if Fletcher has to come out to CHF against either Carey or McGregor - would Fletcher be as comfortable there?

I think the same forward tactics as used last week by the Crows might have some chance of coming off this week against the Bombers also.

Bradley or Bolton - although Fletch may have to move out. I'd like to see Bradley on Carey, at least for a quarter or so - he'd learn a hell of a lot.

That's what Phil Matera thought :D
Seriously, though - if that matchup does happen, the Crows will have to be very accurate with their forward passing. If that's your main forward target, and we're on top in the midfield, you're in big trouble. Of course, if you're able to get the ball out of the midfield without constant pressure, we're stuffed.
Reckon you guys should play Fletcher on McGregor, as IMO he will be too strong for your other talls. So will be very happy if Fletcher plays on our smalls at FB. Concern with Carey is he usually struggles (fitness-wise) after playing a good game. Hope this week is the exception.

Taken to the cleaners no. Beaten, maybe - but Allan will give a good contest in every ruck, and Hille should be able to beat Clarke around the ground, especially with the two rotating. I do agree that you'll have the edge in the hitouts when Clarke's in the ruck, but Hudson's a significant step down in those contests.
Who's going to deal with Hille if we have him in the forward line while Allan's in the ruck?
I doubt Clarke will take your rucks to the cleaners either, as I can't see him playing a blinder 2 weeks in a row. No doubt the concern is the around-the-ground advantage from Hille & Allan, though Huddo is no slouch. If Hille pushes forward either Perrie or Hentschel (who can take either a small or a tall) will matchup on him.

Basset's got Lloyd, obviously. How do you think your lot will go vs Cupes, NLM and Rioli in the forward line at the same time?
Massie & Begley have been in good form & Mattner was awesome with his tackling last week. Probably Massie v Rioli, Begley v NLM & Mattner v Cupido.

Incidentally, loving this discussion. Rational opposition supporters who know their stuff are great - because to be honest, I haven't seen the Crows as much as I've seen other teams. Thanks.
Yeah, the great thing about Big Footy is the interaction between different supporters & getting a different perspective on things. Cheers & may the best team win! :)

I'm basing the Fletch at FB thing on three concepts.
First, Fletch tore Phil Matera apart, even though the Eagles kicked to him pretty much only when he was on the lead - if Dustin was within four or five feet, he'd fist it away.
Second, Fletch is an absolute wall when he's in the defensive 50, and our defense relies on that.
Third, the old adage: play your best defender on the opposition's best forward. As much as I rate McGregor, McLeod (and probably Edwards also) would be better forwards at the moment.

So based on what you guys have said, I agree that the Crows will absolutely play the small forwards and try and get Fletch to CHB, where he's less effective on the rebound - the question is whether Sheedy will go along, and then how Fletch will respond to that.

If Fletch goes to CHB on McGregor (and if we put all other things aside, he would be the best matchup for him), McPhee will have to go to FB, because Lucas won't match up on McLeod or Edwards any better than Fletch will. McPhee on Edwards and MJ on McLeod, probably.

The advantage of pushing Fletch up to CHB and playing McPhee at FB is that Lucas can go forward - Lucas, Lloyd, Hird, NLM and Cupido gives us a very impressive forward line, and the shortest guy in it is around 188cm (Cupes). If Hille pushes forward as well...

and may the best team win.

and may the best team be Essendon ;)

bombers you have to play like you want it!! just think its the MCG so its like a home ground advantage. us bomber fans really dont want to be dissapointed tonight you have to win interstate.

and all 'dons fans dont jump off us yet we have to support them. and to all bombers fans going to footy park or whatever its called cheer you flipping hearts out!

GO DONS!!

Adelaide Vs Essendon