Competitions AFC Board Draft Game 2017 Thread...

• Thread starter Thread starter FAITH

How many players should each team pick?

Results are only viewable after voting.

FIdyWdH.jpg

Some solid hairdos going on with my squad this year.

Best Value Picks - Rounds 6 to 10

Generally outstanding picking through these rounds. Could have listed heaps more good value picks. The game is harder this year because we have more switched on participants who know their stuff. No one is wasting picks anymore. We are REALLY missing Allefgib and Freddy Bassett :(

93. adelaide Fan 14 - Chad Wingard (Port Adelaide)
Similar to Robbie Gray, this guy would be taken 50 picks earlier if he was a Crow. Possibly even top 20.

94. deaneus - Orazio Fantasia (Essendon)
I'd be interested to know which other small forwards had started their careers as well as Fantasia (70 goals in first 47 games). I suspect no one ever.

101. Kristof - Zac Williams (GWS)
The biggest danger to Laird's AA spot.

108. 1990crow - Steven May (Gold Coast)
Hurley, Rance and May are the three best key defenders in the competition IMO. May has stitched himself up with a string of suspensions but a full season will see him in AA discussion. Should see plenty of ball.

109. 1990crow - Peter Wright (Gold Coast)
What a one-two punch from 1990crow here! Everyone put off by the Suns' seemingly dire upcoming season so he's pounced on a couple of gems. Peter Wright will be the next Paul Salmon I reckon. Will soon overtake Tom Lynch as the Suns' go to big man, a bit like how Patton has now overtaken Jeremy Cameron :)

115. Daniel1812 - Dane Rampe (Sydney)
Just a star. Can play on anyone.

122. Mr MysteryGuest - Nick Haynes (GWS)
Quality player whose 2017 season was ruined by injury. Probably cost him 40-50 spots but I daresay he'll be top 60 next season.

131. Mr MysteryGuest - Stephen Hill (Fremantle)
Perhaps hasn't quite become the absolute superstar he looked like being early but is still pretty damn good.

136. Kristof - Dion Prestia (Richmond)
We've all stuffed up here and gifted the K man a gem. He was solid last season in the premiership midfield but was coming off a low base with a heavily interrupted preseason and bad knee. A full preseason now and he will kill it. Top 3 of their B&F I reckon.

140. dogs105 - Toby Nankervis (Richmond)
Short story time: Last season I was targeting this guy as my ruck. A bit of a smokey, under the radar. I'd liked his performances for Sydney the season before and everyone sort of mixed him up with Naismith anyway. So he went to Richmond who at the time no one rated and we were all laughing that Hardwick was STILL there.

So I went through a few rounds and was drafting mids, forwards... pretty much every type of player but a ruckman. I figured that players would each pick a ruck at some stage but once they all had one, many rounds would go by before they'd try to pick up a second ruckman. So I could afford to wait and take Nankervis much, much later. It played out beautifully. For a while.

Anyway... I misjudged it. Didn't pull the trigger in time and lost him. He rucked Richmond to a flag. I was left with a pile of turds in ruck (none of whom played) and indirectly caused me to take Grundy with my first pick this year.

So yeah. He's good.

158. Mr MysteryGuest - Jayden Hunt (Melbourne)
Lights it up and can pinch hit forward too. If I could have us borrow one player for the season to cover Brodie Smith I'd ask for Jayden Hunt.

Actually, I'd probably ask for Dustin Martin and just shuffle things around a bit but anyway

And now what everyone has really been waiting for!

Not many duds in these rounds. Good drafting mostly but still a few slip ups

Botched Picks - Rounds 6 to 10

99. Danger Zone - Justin Westhoff (Port Adelaide)
I don't care what Champion Data says. This guy SUCKS.

129. AdelaideFan14 - Adam Tomlinson (GWS)
Bog standard tall. There will be defenders just as good taken at 300.

130. deaneus - Sam Mayes (Brisbane)
Looked the part as a 17 year old playing finals for North Adelaide. Career since has gotten more disappointing every single year. Definition of vanilla. If he played for us he would play another 10 seasons and go straight into an assistant coaching role.

177. hendo8888 - Kane Lambert (Richmond)
Some reflected glory from the premiership here. A mini version of 2016's "Tom Boyd Effect." Won't be in the top 500 next year when Richmond crash.

178. FAITH - Tom Bellchambers (Essendon)
The seasons change but Bellendchambers (as my Bomber mate calls him) is the same big turnip every year.

180. 1990crow - Scott Selwood (Geelong)
Starting to slow down due to injuries and stunk anyway. Surely will get squeezed out with Geelong's endless stream of recruits.

And now what everyone has really been waiting for!

Not many duds in these rounds. Good drafting mostly but still a few slip ups

Botched Picks - Rounds 6 to 10

99. Danger Zone - Justin Westhoff (Port Adelaide)
I don't care what Champion Data says. This guy SUCKS.

129. AdelaideFan14 - Adam Tomlinson (GWS)
Bog standard tall. There will be defenders just as good taken at 300.

130. deaneus - Sam Mayes (Brisbane)
Looked the part as a 17 year old playing finals for North Adelaide. Career since has gotten more disappointing every single year. Definition of vanilla. If he played for us he would play another 10 seasons and go straight into an assistant coaching role.

177. hendo8888 - Kane Lambert (Richmond)
Some reflected glory from the premiership here. A mini version of 2016's "Tom Boyd Effect." Won't be in the top 500 next year when Richmond crash.

178. FAITH - Tom Bellchambers (Essendon)
The seasons change but Bellendchambers (as my Bomber mate calls him) is the same big turnip every year.

180. 1990crow - Scott Selwood (Geelong)
Starting to slow down due to injuries and stunk anyway. Surely will get squeezed out with Geelong's endless stream of recruits.

Agree that Westhoff is terrible but fortunately that isn’t how this game is scored!

I'll just go best pick, worst pick, round by round.
Round 1:
Best: JJ Kennedy (would have taken him with pick 4, if Fyfe/Danger/Martin went top 3)
Worst: Dixon (not an elite forward, doesn't ruck enough to really count as a second ruck, just doesn't do enough to justify a top 20 pick)
Round 2:
Best: No real stand out (there's some good picks this round, but none that really stand out above the rest)
Worst: Patton (close between Hawkins and Patton, but Patton was 17 picks earlier, nothing I've seen from Patton would justify picking him at 20)
Round 3:
Best: Beams (superstar this guy, good value where he went)
Worst: Longer (we've discussed this one enough)
Round 4:
Best: Ward (pretty good round, no real stand out, but Ward was really good value)
Worst: McGovern (4th string forwards shouldn't go in the 60s)
Round 5:
Best: Heeney (he's almost there and probably will get there as a genuine superstar in 2018)
Worst: Lynch (5th string forwards shouldn't go in the 70s)
Round 6:
Best: Wingard (could have gone top 40 and it would have made sense)
Worst: Ebert (he gets it a bit, but never does much with it, he's also old now)
Round 7:
Best: Rampe (I don't really consider him as a key back, but is probably the best 3rd tall backman in the game)
Worst: DeGoey (don't understand this pick at all, he's just a bog standard flanker to me)
Round 8:
Best: Prestia (incredible value here, if I didn't go so heavily midfielder early, I would have taken him by that point)
Worst: O'Meara (glass cannon whose upside doesn't justify picking that early)
Round 9:
Best: No stand out here (very even round, mostly good picks)
Worst: Ellis (he'd go at least 100 picks later if Richmond didn't win the Premiership, wasn't in the top few Richmond players available either)
Round 10:
Best: Jetta (was pretty bummed when he went, really wanted to get him this round)
Worst: Selwood (even if Ablett didn't come over, this would be a bad pick)
Round 11:
Best: Wilson (really solid player and good value here)
Worst: McDonald (Tom is a gun, Oscar is pretty rubbish imo)
Round 12:
Best: Rioli (tracking along to be an absolute star sooner rather than later)
Worst: Blicavs (doesn't have a spot as a ruckman anymore, doesn't have a spot as a midfielder, isn't a good defender, just doesn't fit anymore)
Round 13:
Best: Hartlett (pretty even round, but Hartlett could be a fantastic pick)
Worst: Bastinac (don't rate him in the slightest, gets a game because Brisbane don't have anyone better, on the plus side, he will probably play most games)

2fd7be15fbba62728fca674e3eaa3008f3247ef0.jpg

My dog , Snowball, picked this one:

malik-zayn-image.jpg

Zaine Cordy so I've got my second KPD, has only played 30 games and finished in the top 10 B&F for the bulldogs, good sign; didn't want to wait another 30 picks for a KPD

Mr MysteryGuest

2fd7be15fbba62728fca674e3eaa3008f3247ef0.jpg

My dog picked this one, Snowball, picked this one:

malik-zayn-image.jpg

Zaine Cordy so I've got my second KPD, has only played 30 games and finished in the top 10 B&F for the bulldogs, good sign; didn't want to wait another 30 picks for a KPD

Mr MysteryGuest

I was astonished Cordy actually placed 8th in the Bulldogs B&F when I put the players into my spreadsheet. He is... shit

Still better than his brother. Now he was an uber spud.

Some other guys must have had top 10 B&F triggers so they bumped up Cordy to stiff them

Best/Worst:

R1
Best: Josh Kennedy (WCE) - Great get at pick 8, always dominates
Worst: Jeremy Cameron - I like him, but I don't think he'll make the AA squad which is what you want from a 1st round forward pick

R2
Best: Matt Crouch - Gun, will finish high in B&F and now in the mix for AA.
Worst: Jon Patton - Too early for him

R3
Best: Scott Pendlebury - Slid massively. Great get at 40
Worst: Billy Longer - Well, yeah

R4
Best: Dan Hannebery - Had a down year, bounce back and he's gold
Worst: Mitch McGovern - Too early

R5
Best: Christian Petracca - Could be a steal if he keeps progressing like he is
Worst: Todd Goldstein - Cooked

R6
Best: Jake Lever - Will poll high in the B&F and be in AA contention again. Excellent pick
Worst: Justin Westhoff - Shit player, scores well, but shit player

R7
Best: Shaun Higgins - Will be one of North's best players in 2017 and should dominate the B&F again if he plays every game
Worst: Tim Membrey - Seemed like this bloke only had one really good season and now he's just okay

R8

Best: Dion Prestia - Great pick at 136!
Worst: Sam Mayes - Not that good

R9
Best: Jake Lloyd - Sydney love this bloke, hope he'd slip to me. Nope
Worst: Tom Barrass - Yeah look, better KPDs went after this bloke

R10
Best: Zak Jones - Will tear it up again in 2018
Worst: Daniel McStay - I drafted this bloke in 2017 but pick 166 is way too early

R11
Best: Jack Crisp - Great get so late, goes under the radar but scores well
Worst: Sam Powell-Pepper - Will need to poll in the B&F for this early pick to be worth it

R12
Best: Liam Shiels - Can't believe he slipped to a 200+ pick
Worst: Mark Blicavs - Think he'll struggle again without the third man rule

R13
Best: Liam Picken - Strong get this late, will do well again I think
Worst: Kurt Tippett - Will struggle to get games

Judging from the ratings, my side seems fairly middle of the road. No botched picks but didn't unearth any diamonds in the rough either.

Best/Worst value picks by team:

1990crow

Best - Steven May (108). As I said at the time, was going to snap him up with my next selection. Should get back to almost AA form next year if he has an uninterrupted season, he's a very talented KPD with a good mix of rebound and shutdown.
Worst - Daniel Talia (37). Actually would have taken May before Talia. Could have got him at least at your next tumble turn IMO, depending on a few factors the end could come quick, sadly.

FAITH

Best - Zac Tuohy (111). Close to AA this year, will continue this form this year. Loss of Mackie won't hurt him, IMO
Worst - Tom Bellchambers (178). Don't think he's even the best ruck at Essendon. Probably a fair few better options than him here, despite his good middle of the year form.

hendo8888

Best - Robbie Gray (33). He's an out and out gun of the game, shouldn't have fallen this far. Could put Pendles in the same category, too
Worst - Todd Goldstein (76). Gut feeling says he's cooked. Definitely won't play 22 games this year as Norf look to play the youth. Better ruck options available etc

dogs105

Best - Toby Nankervis (140). Now this is good value for a ruck. Dominated at times this year, and should continue to flourish with 'around the ground' rucks seemingly becoming the trend.
Worst - Mitch McGovern (68). Wasn't on my radar for another 70 picks at least. Gut feeling says he'll break out this year, but a lot of smarter options available at this pick

Hank93

Best - David Astbury (222). Had an absolute break-out year this year for the Tigers, no reason he shouldn't continue it. Was considering him at my Frawley pick
Worst - Charlie Cameron (150). No real 'bad' picks here by Hank, but this is a very risky one. Could break out in a team where he gets more opportunity, but could also REALLY fizzle in a less successful environment. Something tells me he'll be in between the two, and this will still be seen as a bit of a reach by season's end.

Daniel1812

Best - Dane Rampe (115). Awesome player. Not a KPD in my eyes, but can play on talls and smalls to great effect. Should be back to AA form next year.
Worst - Luke Breust (151). In previous years this would be seen as a bargain, but really struggled this year. Seems like the type who struggles in a bad team to me, and the Hawks should be bad again next year, so...

Kristof

Best - Max Gawn (28). Gun. Will dominate again next year. People will think he should have been taken top 15 in hindsight.
Worst - Jack Gunston (80). See Breust. Seemed to be thrown around a lot this year by Clarko, if he continues to do so then we might again see something very well below what we know he can produce.

Danoz

Best - Daniel Rioli (208). Has really proved me wrong so far in his career, as I really didn't think he'd amount to much in his draft year. Taking the comp by storm. This should prove to be a bargain pick
Worst - Jarrod Witts (64). I got him extremely late last year and reaped the rewards. Even despite the year he's had, though, this is way too early for a player like him

Danger Zone

Best - Joel Selwood, Dayne Beams, Seb Ross (27, 46, 82). I can't split these three, the KPF purge meant that a LOT of brilliant midfielders slid beyond where they should be rated, and these three are some of the standouts. DZ should definitely at least come close to winning the midfield vote
Worst - Justin Westhoff (99). Agree with Drugs, despite CD rating him strangely high he's just not a quality player, and shouldn't be picked here

roo2macca

Best - Mitch Duncan (62). Another of the midfield bargains. Really broke out this year, and should stay at that level with Ablett coming into the side
Worst - Josh Schache (227). I just can't see him succeeding at all now. Strange, because I rated him extremely highly in his draft year

Scorpus

Best - Isaac Smith (133). He's a gem. Was surprised he slid this far, as well as a number of outside options who fell to around this range
Worst - Jake Stringer (84). Think it will take him a year to get back to something like his best form. Forwards that went after him will perform better

adelaidecrows

Best - David Zaharakis (121). One of the most underrated players in the competition, IMO. Got him extremely late last year and he did me justice. Just provides so much on the wing for Essendon, and will do the same in 2018
Worst - Billy Longer (49). I think enough has been said about this pick

Mr MysteryGuest

Best - Orazio Fantasia (95). He'll take his game to another level again this year. Eddie's protege as the 'best small forward in the comp'
Worst - Brad Crouch (50). Similar to the Cameron pick in that it could well pay dividends, but I rated a lot of mids that went after him higher

deaneus

Best - Jake Lloyd (159). Soooooo underrated. Will poll high in B&F, will play every game as he seems very durable, and will continue to rack up the disposals. Great get at this point
Worst - Jason Johannisen (87). Can't justify this pick based on his 2017 form. Was very inconsistent, as much of his teammates were. If he can replicate 2016 form, on the other hand, this pick could turn out alright

AdelaideFan14

Best - Chad Wingard (93). Star. Maybe his move into the midfield (where he was still very impressive) was what caused his slide, as people didn't notice him as much because he wasn't kicking as many goals? Still a bloody talented bugger who should have gone top 50-60
Worst - Jordan De Goey (124). Look, I think he'll turn into a star of the league but not yet. Still needs another year of development, which means there were many better options available. That, plus the off-field discrepancies...

Drugs Are Bad Mackay?

Best - Christian Petracca (89). Watch him take over the league this year. The most exciting young prospect in the game. I'm still salty he didn't slide
Worst - Josh Bruce (53). Had a very indifferent year, can't see why he'd be a good pick at this point (despite being a KPF)? Would have taken him 30-40 picks later

Maggsy

Best - Patrick Cripps (54). He'll overcome the injuries that cruelled him in 2017 and prove why he's one of the league's most dominant clearance players again next year.
Worst - Mark Blicavs (199). Can't see how he's effective in the game anymore? Considering Scooter is the main tagger for the Pussies, and the 3rd man up rule is long gone, I can see him being phased out

And just for shits and giggles

Danger in Texas

Best - Jack Billings (107). Shame on all of you for letting a 2018 AA slide to the 100's.
Worst - James Frawley (182). Only because I could have picked up Astbury at the next tumble turn, who I rate on the same level as Frawley, and I'm still salty over it

Judging from the ratings, my side seems fairly middle of the road. No botched picks but didn't unearth any diamonds in the rough either.
I've botched them all apparently

Old Blicavs getting a caining in the forum,. Bit rough I reckon,. I still think he has a spot in the cats best 10 or so.
Best and fairest/awards finishes the past 5 years:
2017: 11th
2016: 6th
2015: winner
2014: Just outside top ten in BnF
2013: (rookie year) best young player

With fitness base I see him being a wingman this year taking occasion run with roles, but I agree his value has diminished a lot since the 3rd man up rule.