Review AFC Financial Results 2024

$4m operating surplus is much more like it. Can't find the site with all the annual reports, but I reckon Fagan was barely cobbling $1m whilst running our resource draining side hustles.

1 thing is VERY interesting in the article. There are 5 key points, the first 4 arecabout revenue increase, debt free, membership and attendance. The 5th states "and full investment in men's and women's salary and soft caps". I've always been very confident we were banking caps space to bolster the bottom line and it looks like they've finally admitted to it. Fagan et al left our club in a much worse state than what was seen on the field.

Not a direct comparison.

We have to pay $450k plus to play in the SANFL.

Plus they have two pokies venues with liquor licences.
Port also get paid more from the AFL.

Port gets most of their profit from pokies. They prey on the weak and vulnerable and take their last penny via pokies.

It’s a legal product and if it’s needed to help them fully fund their footy ops budget, then good on them. I’d rather the money made by a sporting club than lining the pockets of millionaires.

Well they should be so you can ask questions if you wanted to (not saying I would).

Why should an AFL football club be any different? The SANFL clubs do.

12 of the 18 2024 reports are available on the footyindustry website. If it’s not dealt with specifically in the constitution, I think the AI act only requires the audited financials be made available at the AGM. I can’t recall if we’ve released it earlier in the past.

It’s a legal product and if it’s needed to help them fully fund their footy ops budget, then good on them. I’d rather the money made by a sporting club than lining the pockets of millionaires.
The so-called "Community Club" profiting off the loss of their most vulnerable.
Have you been down the POW and seen the downtrodden people blowing their savings on those machines?

The accounting standards for Not-for-profits is rather flexible compared to listed companies.

Imho the most accurate guide to the financial health of each club is their AFL distribution (true socialism in action).

The AFL distribution for 2023 (has the 2024 figures been published?) had a base payment of $11.5 million. The basket cases then receive top ups to ensure that most clubs can declare a “Profit”. The clubs receiving around the baseline level are West Coast, Fremantle, Adelaide, Collingwood, Richmond, Hawthorn, Essendon, Geelong and Carlton.

The Pear, Sydney, Melbourne and the Bulldogs received $16 million. If these clubs declared a “profit’ of $2 million it means they only lost $2 million before receiving their Mercy****.

Then we move on to the absolute basket cases. St Kilda, North Melbourne and Brisbane received $18.5 million and finally the very successful new franchises Gold Coast and GWS with $25 million.

I find it amusing that The Pear, along with quite a few other handout clubs make such a big deal trumpeting
“Hey, we made a profit………Again”.

Review AFC Financial Results 2024