AFL 2006 Talk

Re: Fixing up the AFL games

lucas_hsv said:
I'm not sure if it's been mentioned yet, but one of the biggest things i think needs to be done is different playing styles.

In 2005 every team has the same style, take it down the middle, forget about the wings, chip around inside 50 until they're 20 metres from goal, then goal.

I think team styles should vary when you're playing against them. For example, you'll play against a team, and they'll constantly use the wing, chip it towards their forwards, look for a free option everywhere. Then you'll play another team, and they'll use the corridor, have shots from anywhere (not just 20m out) and be more risk taking. It'd also be nice if they changed their tactics if it isn't working for them throughout the game, surely it can't be hard to program in that when a team is 30+ points down they'll start taking some risks or hold onto the ball around the ground more to keep it from you, depending on how they're playing.

It's just boring when every team is the same, and you know they're gonna chip it around inside their 50. It would be nice to see them taking some set shots when they mark it from 30-40+ out. Also, ive noticed only the awesome players ever take a shot on run for other teams, and when they do, they could be 50 metres out, kicking into a 30km breeze, and just sail it into the stands (ablett jr for examble).

yep brilliant idea. starting styles could be based on the current styles in the game today. sydney can flood a bit, bulldogs run, port handball to everybody including their mothers in the stands, collingwood are CRAP and not a bloody super team!

like you said before, say the computer is 2 goals down, 3 mins to go or something.. instead of doing fairy kicks around, they bang the ball long looking for desperate goals

RoosterLad said:
say the computer is 2 goals down, 3 mins to go or something.. instead of doing fairy kicks around, they bang the ball long looking for desperate goals

Exactly, it would put some genuine excitement into the game, and much like how teams will acutally do this, it would give it a realistic feel.

And please go back to the camera angles used in AFL PE, the angles in 2005 were just confusing.

I really hated when the camera changed to the 'behind goals' view...half the time u couldn't see the ball.

Also in 2005 it didn't give you the angle from behind the player when u marked the ball, so all u could do was kick it long and hope.

Fiery Hawk, what are the camera angle like in 2006? please add an option to turn off camera angle changes!

What are the chances of being able to change the rosters? You know, basically drag and drop players from team to team before starting a new "career mode".

Also, if you get a chance, look into these (only after everything else is done right, though):

- State of Origin teams (like NBA games have All Star sides, but allow the user to pick from every list instead of having a set state roster)
- Legends players (maybe make them unlockable if you complete certain things with a certain team)

Oh, and also change it back to the 2004 set up so you can play a pre-season cup in exhibition mode, not just full season mode! I want to have knock out comps with my mates instead of just one exhibition game.

I realise we live in a society that is thoroughly focused on the economic viability of anything and everything, but whatever happened to the days of games companies offering patches to fix obviously dodgy aspects of their games. Or are gamers that stupid that they'll pay for a very slightly upgraded version every year?! (or every 6 months or so, as in this case)
(And yes, I understand that this doesn't apply to console gamers)

jorel6669 said:
What are the chances of being able to change the rosters? You know, basically drag and drop players from team to team before starting a new "career mode".

Also, if you get a chance, look into these (only after everything else is done right, though):

- State of Origin teams (like NBA games have All Star sides, but allow the user to pick from every list instead of having a set state roster)
- Legends players (maybe make them unlockable if you complete certain things with a certain team)

Oh, and also change it back to the 2004 set up so you can play a pre-season cup in exhibition mode, not just full season mode! I want to have knock out comps with my mates instead of just one exhibition game.

Yep gotta love that. State of Origin could be chosen by the computer based on the current (maybe past season) performances too. Heaps of unlockables are needed, past champion teams and players, maybe heritage guernseys??
In one of the past AFL games they also had historic games, classic comebacks like that GF when Carlton over ran Collingwood, or the 97 Prelim Final Adelaide over the Dogs. Cricket games have done well outta this.
Knock out comps with your mates is a must, you should be able to just choose Knock Out or Finals if you want a quick bit of fun!

The thing that really pi55ed me off about the 05 game cameras, take a mark, you want to steady the play. WHO ARE YOU GOING TO KICK TO? YOU CANT ********ING SEE IN FRONT OF YOU!!! That needs to be sorted. I know soccer games may be slightly easier, but the camera angles are absolutely perfect. I want a footy game which is as playable as these are, i still PLAY TIF 05 because its so damn fun.
We need a footy game which is gun and you can play non stop without it feeling like a chore!

Agree about unlockables. I've been playing the game for a fair while, and I'm losing interest fast because there's really nothing left for me to do.

There needs to be some goals to work towards apart from the premiership. I'm not sure what goals they could be...but I need something other than going through 20 seasons undefeated.

Also, FWIW I thought the camera angles were very good in AFL P. Although by the sounds of it I think they might have been different for the other versions (PS2 & PC). The only thing that bugged me about the camera was how it often swerved very fast when you or the opposition takes possession of the ball and the camera was previously facing the other way. It completely disorientates you, and I'm often tackled in this two second period of confusion.

Hi Folks, sorry I haven't been around lately to answer your questions...will do so tomorrow (Tuesday). Have some exciting news to tell too with regards to how the game is progressing.

I haven't really read through the thread but a gripe of mine was that the draw in dynasty mode was the same as 2005 after every year...variety please...

lucas_hsv said:
I'm not sure if it's been mentioned yet, but one of the biggest things i think needs to be done is different playing styles.

In 2005 every team has the same style, take it down the middle, forget about the wings, chip around inside 50 until they're 20 metres from goal, then goal.

I think team styles should vary when you're playing against them. For example, you'll play against a team, and they'll constantly use the wing, chip it towards their forwards, look for a free option everywhere. Then you'll play another team, and they'll use the corridor, have shots from anywhere (not just 20m out) and be more risk taking. It'd also be nice if they changed their tactics if it isn't working for them throughout the game, surely it can't be hard to program in that when a team is 30+ points down they'll start taking some risks or hold onto the ball around the ground more to keep it from you, depending on how they're playing.

It's just boring when every team is the same, and you know they're gonna chip it around inside their 50. It would be nice to see them taking some set shots when they mark it from 30-40+ out. Also, ive noticed only the awesome players ever take a shot on run for other teams, and when they do, they could be 50 metres out, kicking into a 30km breeze, and just sail it into the stands (ablett jr for examble).

Each team will definitely have a tactical style as a default. Examples are Adelaide with a miserly defence, Hawthorn pushing numbers into defence to flood and then run and the Kangaroos/Melbourne will rely on their forward lines kicking a winning score in shootouts.

The reason we can get teams to play styles is the new tactics feature of the game which will allow you to set up strategies for the Fwd50, Midfield, Def50, Centre Bounce, Kick-ins (opposition kicking in) and Kick-ins (when you're kicking in). Currently there are 3-4 variations in each area. The tactics are being implemented at the moment so time will tell if they are a great addition to gameplay or not. My hunch is yes as they are legit AFL tactics and come from a number of AFL sources (Coaches, Players). These tactical setups can be made prior to the match and on-the-fly during the game - similar to plays in basketball or soccer.

We're working on adaptive AI tactics. Will let you know more when something happens there. It's definitely being considered.

mad-saint-guy said:
I trust there won't be any more defenders playing 80m off their opponents?

Defenders should be very close to their opponents in general unless you have chosen to set up an attacking defence where they will run off and try to create 2-on-1 or more contests further up the field.
Of course you could go to the extreme and tag every player in the opposition forward line but I'd recommend a 'defensive' def50 setup.

sainters said:
And please go back to the camera angles used in AFL PE, the angles in 2005 were just confusing.

I really hated when the camera changed to the 'behind goals' view...half the time u couldn't see the ball.

Also in 2005 it didn't give you the angle from behind the player when u marked the ball, so all u could do was kick it long and hope.

Fiery Hawk, what are the camera angle like in 2006? please add an option to turn off camera angle changes!

Cameras are the big thing at the moment. We're working on making them more useful for the User.
I agree that the 'behind goals' camera was a shocker. I'm interested in getting one that starts behind the player and follows behind the ball in the direction it is travelling until about 15m from goal where it slows down allowing the ball to sail through the goals.

Not sure if the behind the player camera in general play is returning. I'd like to see it but I'll get back to you about that one.

Other than that the cameras in 2006 are a marked improvement. We're looking at adding more close-ups (cutscene style) for elements of the game that require no User input into the player movement e.g. Specky marks or ruck contests. Like I said though the cameras are a work in progress...

jorel6669 said:

No chance this time around sorry but it's a great idea and will be on the 'to consider' list for the next title.

jorel6669 said:

Would love to do those things but fear they won't be in this time around.

jorel6669 said:

Finally I can grant you a wish. Yep, you can now choose to play a pre-season comp only, home and away season only, finals only or the entire AFL season. Hooray!

do the players look different this time instead of every player looking like an aboriginal jason johnson. And do the buttons respond better because in Premiership 2005 is was rubbish, can you spoil,mark, kick and tackle straight away because that for me was the biggest let down in the previous game. And when will IRGURUS start putting this up on there website????

Fiery Hawk said:
Create-a-Player? No, not at this stage. Still weighing up pros and cons.
Stats? More than you can poke a stick at. Especially ones showing the attributes/make up of players.
Graphics? Stadiums are already of a high standard. Player models and animation the key focus.
Attention to detail? Of high importance and always being looked at.
If you don't bring increate a player, at least make a great game with realistic trading and real drafting unlike the delisted players going first and second.

good to see the stats an dall that that would be great! I hope there are actual reasons to et reported for unlike the rough tackles, also why not make big collisions and actual strechter animations and all that.

And why on Earth are footballers rated so badly in the game i mean that best team is rated 60 odd, they should be lik eMadden where the best team is around 98, i mean rate the overall, forwards, midfielders and defence, it's tough but each team should be rated a lot higher than 60. Carlton are the lowest so they are around 70 while the best are West Coast, St ilda, Sydney they should be in the ninties.

Maybe classic teams like the 2000 bombers etc. So much could be done to make the game better.

jaydenrussell said:
do the players look different this time instead of every player looking like an aboriginal jason johnson. And do the buttons respond better because in Premiership 2005 is was rubbish, can you spoil,mark, kick and tackle straight away because that for me was the biggest let down in the previous game. And when will IRGURUS start putting this up on there website????

1. There will be variety in the player heads.
2. Button response has been improved. Tackling is being fined tuned now and will change greatly from it's last incarnation. It's more along the NFL and Rugby style of tackling where you can actually miss with your tackle attempt.
3. The website (or a site specifically dedicated to this game) will be up and running soon with screenshots, videos etc.

Armageddon said:
If you don't bring increate a player, at least make a great game with realistic trading and real drafting unlike the delisted players going first and second.

good to see the stats an dall that that would be great! I hope there are actual reasons to et reported for unlike the rough tackles, also why not make big collisions and actual strechter animations and all that.

And why on Earth are footballers rated so badly in the game i mean that best team is rated 60 odd, they should be lik eMadden where the best team is around 98, i mean rate the overall, forwards, midfielders and defence, it's tough but each team should be rated a lot higher than 60. Carlton are the lowest so they are around 70 while the best are West Coast, St ilda, Sydney they should be in the ninties.

Maybe classic teams like the 2000 bombers etc. So much could be done to make the game better.

Trading and Drafting has been overhauled. There will be no create-a-player this time around unfortunately.

There is a comprehensive list of reportable offences taken directly from AFL Tribunal documentation. Agressive tackles have a high probability of a report being made.

If time permits there will be great collisions and extra animations like the one you mentioned added.

Rating footballers is a quite a task I must say. This time around the goal (pardon the pun) is to make the difference between the 1st ranked side and the 16th more prominent. This is done through rating the quality of the players on the list.
Star players will be rated around 75-85. Standout champions above 85. Average players around 50-75. First year players who are in the top 10-20 of the previous years draft will be around the 'average to better players' standard. Other draftees will be rated between 30-50 to allow for development through gameplay and experience. Of course these are overall ratings of players which are averages of their ratings in individual attribute categories.
Players are developed through gametime experience and the bonus allocation of 'experience points'. These are awarded to the User when he reaches goals/milestones set in the game. You can distribute them across the whole team or focus on individual players.
This stuff is still being tested however and is going to be a key compenent to the career mode in the next game. Pretty exciting stuff really.

Would love classic teams to be in there.

Yeah in the last game, Collingwood were the best but they werent even rated that highly, and there was a fairly small difference between the best and worst.

Good to see the ratings being overhauled, you want your gun players and champion teams to be standouts instead of being just average.

Hey Hawk!
long time hawk fan myself here....

uhhhh... no offence but does any1 here actually KNOW that you are from IRGurus???

It doesnt bother me coz im hangin for the next aussie rules game that much that im probably gonna believe you anyway......PLZ dont let me and evry1 else down by lying!!!

now thats outta the way....why not just tell us everything bout the game that you absoulutley, possibly can and are aloud too...

ie. exactly how marking, kicking, tackling, goal kicking, hanballing, bumping (hip and shoulder), aggresive tacle/bumb, speccie, torpedo, free kicks, ballups, throw ins etc are done.

thats what we NEED to know before we BUY the damn game again!

secondly go into the season, draft, training, stats, create-a-player, rookies, commentry etc.

lastly a few q's if ya can.....

1. will players automatically run to where the ball is goin AGAIN this time, or will we have complete control over them. (In '05 after any kick in play you cant push any direction to control your player, he just runs by himself, sometimes away from the ball!)

2. Free kicks need to be overhauled, no more random decisions!!!Also you can bump any one on the field anytime and not give away a free kick!Will this be changed?

3.Please tell me the tackling will be like rugby 06 or nfl 06 where you just run into the player for a standard tackle and you still also have the option of aggresive???

4.kick in tactics??? big prob there....not having any i mean.

5.Hopefully this will come with the tactics feature of each team, but there needs to be bigger packs of players alot more where they scramble to get the ball out and sometimes dont, resulting in a ball up.

6. and this year give us the option to pass instead of kick at goal everytime we get a mark inside 60.

well cheers!

well im a lil disappointed that theres no create-a-player (that would give the game MASSIVE longevity/lasting appeal) but i point out these bugs/problems from 2005 nobody seems to have posted.

1) When you play a little guy in ruck (before u start the game) then replace him with a big guy (i.e phil matera, dean cox) the big guy shrinks to the same size as the little player. my friend made his whole team aaron fiora-size doing this. so u hgave no option but to paly with a tiny ruckman if u start the match with a little guy in

2) when the opposition kicks in and you tackle them for HTB, when you kick for goals and you get a goal, theres a 50% chance itll be called a point. i checked on repley str8 thru the middle. this has happened several times

3) i notice that the opposition MISSES AT GoAL VERY RARELY. i often find myself deliberately getting rushed behinds and turning around and getting more to boost their behinds to a respectable level so the final score isnt something like: 12.7.79 to 14.1.85 and its more realistic :mad:

4) the opposition full-forwards regularly kick 8 goals+. they are almsot unbeatable in marking contests and the centre-half forwards have often 20 marks.

5) your wingmen very rarely touch the ball. in the last quarter, the wing players (both mine and opposition) have maybe 1 or 2 touches maybe none at all

6) the opposition never rotates so they r easy after 1/2 time

7) in season if u simulate games u get like 3 players reported or injured every game.

8) knee reconstructions in season mode can be as little as only 1 week out

9) in the draft theres to many riewoldts, cornes' and akermanis' (i.e Taghd Riewoldt is a name i seen before)

10) in season if you pick players (like ones that are -190cm and +100kg) they are albino and have skin tones like the silver surfer

11) digimask palyers are deep purple in colour

12) ur max kick distance is like 40 metres (even for stewie dew and scotty lucas)

13) u can trade anyone for anyone (like once i got nick riewoldt for draft pick #77)

14) for some reason, the drafts have like 160 picks

15) there are at least 5 players who kick 100+ goals in season 2005 on this game

16) on brownlow, riewolt wins with 45 (OMFG) votes

17) also in brownlow, the first 5 are usually 30 votes+

18) when u get far into seaosn (i.e 2015) some players blank phoos are replaced by kieran mcguinneses (from the bulldogs)

18) the stadiums are called "melbourne" and "perth"

19) the commentary repeats over and over (rosa -2 second pause- runs onto the ground, rosa -2 second pause- runs onto the ground, rosa -2 second pause- runs onto the ground, rosa -2 second pause- runs onto the ground, rosa -2 second pause- runs onto the ground)

ill think of more problems when i can. pls reply

Fiery Hawk said:
Trading and Drafting has been overhauled. There will be no create-a-player this time around unfortunately.

There is a comprehensive list of reportable offences taken directly from AFL Tribunal documentation. Agressive tackles have a high probability of a report being made.

If time permits there will be great collisions and extra animations like the one you mentioned added.

Rating footballers is a quite a task I must say. This time around the goal (pardon the pun) is to make the difference between the 1st ranked side and the 16th more prominent. This is done through rating the quality of the players on the list.
Star players will be rated around 75-85. Standout champions above 85. Average players around 50-75. First year players who are in the top 10-20 of the previous years draft will be around the 'average to better players' standard. Other draftees will be rated between 30-50 to allow for development through gameplay and experience. Of course these are overall ratings of players which are averages of their ratings in individual attribute categories.
Players are developed through gametime experience and the bonus allocation of 'experience points'. These are awarded to the User when he reaches goals/milestones set in the game. You can distribute them across the whole team or focus on individual players.
This stuff is still being tested however and is going to be a key compenent to the career mode in the next game. Pretty exciting stuff really.

Would love classic teams to be in there.
Sounds good, but i dunno if the draftees should be as low as 30, they should be 50-60, average players 60, above average 60-70, good players 70-80 and then star players 80-85 while absolute standouts like your Jon Brown, Nick Riewoldt, Chris Judd, Luke Ball, Hodge, Cousins etc should be in the 90's i reckon.

AFL 2006 Talk