AFL 2006 Talk

Re: Fixing up the AFL games

Fiery Hawk said:
We figured it was better to get gameplay going before anything like that.

Amen! To state the obvious FH don't worry about features if the gameplay ain't right - it doesn't matter what the code does if people don't enjoy playing the game itself.

Can I just say well done for engaging us players like this, taking the time to do so is appreciated.

Can you say anything about bugs - will the radar be there and fully operational, will the team lists be remembered inbetween games? Thanks.

Fiery Hawk said:
Yeah we would have spent more of the dev time this time around working on the online play if we included it. We figured it was better to get gameplay going before anything like that.

Very True......

If you guys can make a game where I can have 2-3 matches a week(20min quarters:D ) for the next year......I will be extremely happy!

Last year the game probably had run its course within 3-4 months......

Q

What are the camera angles like?

illnino said:
You still playing the game much Hawk????

Is it easier to find players to kick to that are by themselves??
Like do the tactics play a big part in the games flow - Flooding, zones etc

Last year, due to the random leads some players make and a kicking system that wasn't that easy to master, I found it difficult to get upfield quickly AND efficiently........Another reason for this is that after a mark it would take your player a good 5-10 secs to go back and settle himself for his kick.

Is this improved???? If not can you put it on the '07 list???

Also.....

The famous radar!!!
(that little graphic/pic with blue and red dots thats to small to see......let alone use:confused: )

Will it be back????

If so, it desperatly needs to be a bit bigger and not see-through!

Last yr the radar was a faded/see-through grey footy field which made it difficult to see the dots......

Thanx again Hawk:thumbsu:

I dont think there's been a question you havn't attempted to answer for us!

Cheers Mate

soz hawk........think you missed this one:eek:

Just when ya get some time:D

Fiery Hawk said:
I understand what you are getting at with regards to the two players in a game but I for one can't see a reason why you'd want someone else to beat you in say Season or Career Mode. As it stands in the 06 version you can only play opposing sides (with the ability to edit team lineups and tactics) in Single Match or Quickmatch modes.

You have got to be kidding? You can't understand why we would want two players? that's a joke, and the exact reason why You and your development team will continue to create sub standard games.

It really doesn't matter what you want the game to be like because if the public don't like it, it won't sell.

You can take this as a flame, and insult, whatever, i don't care, one thing is for sure though, it is a fact.

Power21 said:
You have got to be kidding? You can't understand why we would want two players? that's a joke, and the exact reason why You and your development team will continue to create sub standard games.

It really doesn't matter what you want the game to be like because if the public don't like it, it won't sell.

You can take this as a flame, and insult, whatever, i don't care, one thing is for sure though, it is a fact.

Ok, that's the beauty of free speech and having your own opinion I guess. The best we can do at this very moment is look to have two players in Season and Career modes in the 07 version. For the 06 version you'll just have to do with 2-4 players in Single and Quick matches. Sorry to put you out so much by not including it this time around...

Hey Fh, i remember someone asking if the AI now miss shots at goal...when you play 2006 do you notice player attributes have a bigger effect now? do they miss more often?

In career mode in 2005, over 10 years the fixtures never chnged, i always played Brisbane at the Gabba in the first round, has this been fixed, so it's now random every year?

cheers.

sainters said:
Hey Fh, i remember someone asking if the AI now miss shots at goal...when you play 2006 do you notice player attributes have a bigger effect now? do they miss more often?

In the 2005 version in the career mode, over 10 years the fixtures never chnged, i alsways played Brisbane the Gabba in the first round, has this been fixed, so it's now random every year?

cheers.

Yep, they are less accurate now. They should get the montys but accuracy ratings come into it with tighter angled shots.

Yes, subsequent season fixtures are randomised. Yay.

illnino said:
ummmmmmmm...............................

lol???????????.................uuuuuummmmmmmmmmmm..........haha etc.???????

:confused:

(i feel soooo sorry for you when you try to be funny:( ...........maybe next time eh?):rolleyes:

EDIT: Root-a-lad = Club: Adelaide
Other Teams: Nth Adelaide,Adelaide Utd

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
-I guess this explains your poor sense of humour and general gayness.....

Did you really need so many spaces? You support Hawthorn so i wouldnt be bagging my choice of clubs.

FH: you come in here and ask for our opinions, then dont listen and make your own assumptions (re: two players in season mode)
Why cant you give the player the option of playing two players or not? It cant be that hard.
I assume you have allowed for two player co-op where two players can play on the same side in a season.

Mikes4 said:
Ahahaha. What a ******** up by you. Fiery is in fact spelt that very way. What a tool. :rolleyes:

:eek:

Still, I'm yet to read a reply from Mr Phy-Er-Eee Horck as to whether he'll be around once this game is released.
And besides, who gives a toss anyway if this game's not gonna make it to PC?

Fiery Hawk said:
I understand what you are getting at with regards to the two players in a game but I for one can't see a reason why you'd want someone else to beat you in say Season or Career Mode. As it stands in the 06 version you can only play opposing sides (with the ability to edit team lineups and tactics) in Single Match or Quickmatch modes.

Because its more fun to play a mate in a quick pre-season cup or in finals mode than it is in exhibition games. Surely just having the option to play two players in any mode can't be that hard?

Otherwise you're pretty much relegating the game to be a one player game. I used to have heaps of fund playing a quick Wizard Cup in the 04 version against my cousins, but we played 05 and it's just dull playing exhibition matches. There's no prize at the end.

shanefos said:
:eek:

Still, I'm yet to read a reply from Mr Phy-Er-Eee Horck as to whether he'll be around once this game is released.
And besides, who gives a toss anyway if this game's not gonna make it to PC?

I'll definitely be around Shanefos whether it's to answer questions, cop abuse, receive compliments (ha)...
In fact I'll be here for the next 2-3 years...the game is important to me and hopefully you guys will realise this soon.

Fiery Hawk said:
I'll definitely be around Shanefos whether it's to answer questions, cop abuse, receive compliments (ha)...
In fact I'll be here for the next 2-3 years...the game is important to me and hopefully you guys will realise this soon.

Good to hear mate. I think its great that you come on board and ask for advice on things to improve. I hope it all goes well and although Im sure you will cop some abuse regardless of how good the game is I hope you dont take it to heart.

RoosterLad said:
FH: you come in here and ask for our opinions, then dont listen and make your own assumptions (re: two players in season mode)
Why cant you give the player the option of playing two players or not? It cant be that hard.
I assume you have allowed for two player co-op where two players can play on the same side in a season.

The two players in season mode was removed well before I asked you guys for opinions on this forum. Back in the post-PE days in fact.
I promise I will do my best to get it back for next years version. I understand this won't make you happy now but you have to bear in mind we had a limited timeline and budget this time around so we have squeezed as much into the game as we possibly could. Not wanting to make excuses for ommissions from the game, it's merely fact.
I just wish to express that it will be high on the priority list for 07. That's the best I/We can do at the moment. We ARE listening.

Fiery Hawk said:
The two players in season mode was removed well before I asked you guys for opinions on this forum. Back in the post-PE days in fact.
I promise I will do my best to get it back for next years version. I understand this won't make you happy now but you have to bear in mind we had a limited timeline and budget this time around so we have squeezed as much into the game as we possibly could. Not wanting to make excuses for ommissions from the game, it's merely fact.
I just wish to express that it will be high on the priority list for 07. That's the best I/We can do at the moment. We ARE listening.

The problem is the previous games have been so bad, you have put off a lot of people from buying this game, at full price atleast. If this game isn't a significant improvement, you will put off a lot more people who will completly give up on the series.

I honestly hope this game is half decent, although i probably won't buy it, atleast it will keep a large market. Be warned that if this game is as bad or just slightly better than previous versions you will sell half the amount of games you did last year.

Just wondering FH, for goal kicking after you set ur angles or whatever you do to kick at goal, does it cut back to "reverse angle" like on TV and show the player running up and kicking and the ball sailing between whatever posts?

Like on TV.

The "behind goals" camera well... its gay (no offense)

I was just playing 2005, please tell me you guys have removed that annoying camera angle from behind the goals when you have a shot.

We should be angle to keep the side on angle the whole game, so it never changes ie. PE :thumbsu:

One of the best AFL games was Aussie Rules Footy on the old NES (with Collingwood and West Coast players on the cover). The graphics suck by today's standards, but the gameplay was great - I still play it today.

The goal kicking system was brilliant (a running bar that got faster and shorter the further out from goal you were), but perhaps the greatest element of it was the RUCKING. No other football game has simulated a ruck contest like this game. It all came down to timing the run up and choosing either to 'thump' it forward or 'tap' it to a rover. Absulutely FLAWLESS system.

Tell your friend to check out this old gem of a game and the pundits won't be disappointed (obviously with better graphics/options and smoother, consistent gameplay).

Oh yeah, it also had the unforgettably brilliant, "Out of bounds, on the full." by the boundary umpire in true Aussie accent.

Fiery Hawk said:
Just concentrate on getting season mode right before u start adding two players. This should include all season awards (including all-australian and rising star), better player development and draftee development (maybe include scouting reports) and better statistics. Just make it more like a managment type thing, make it enjoyable and then start worrying about getting multiplayer and online stuff in there

macca_2111 said:
Just concentrate on getting season mode right before u start adding two players. This should include all season awards (including all-australian and rising star), better player development and draftee development (maybe include scouting reports) and better statistics. Just make it more like a managment type thing, make it enjoyable and then start worrying about getting multiplayer and online stuff in there

Thats the thing mate. None of the stuff you mentioned is in. A couple of season awards, not even AA ffs. It's not more like a management system. I agree get the basics right, but the basics include basic ******* awards and scouting. PLUS two players in a season, that **** is basic.

Power21 said:
Thats the thing mate. None of the stuff you mentioned is in. A couple of season awards, not even AA ffs. It's not more like a management system. I agree get the basics right, but the basics include basic ******* awards and scouting. PLUS two players in a season, that **** is basic.
I agree, I would prefer to wait 6 more months (not that it would even take anywhere near this long) and they add all this stuff than release it prematurely AGAIN..

Yeah and they are going to bring it out well into the season too, they should forget about this year and just concentrate on getting EVERYTHING right and bring it out at the start of next year!

Why are they going to rush one out this year with important ******** missing?

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Cha-Ching!!

RoosterLad said:
Yeah and they are going to bring it out well into the season too, they should forget about this year and just concentrate on getting EVERYTHING right and bring it out at the start of next year!

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Cha-Ching!!

It is for the money, but as i said above, if they keep releasing sub standard crap people will be put off and they will have less and less money to make sequels.

It really isn't rocket science.

RoosterLad said:

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Cha-Ching!!

I agree. July is far too late into the season to be releasing a game. Look at every other sports game, they are out about 2 weeks after the season starts. Right now they should be working on next seasons game.

AFL 2006 Talk