Opinion AFL 2025 Round 23 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated

A round that had a swag of games with big finals ramifications! A few teams bounced back after some questionable performances last week, while others put themselves on shaky ground with some costly losses. Let’s wrap Round 23…

Bombers v Saints, Friday night: Two overlapping games on Friday night meant that all but the diehard supporters of each club would have stopped watching this one as soon as the finals-shaping matchup in the west got underway. Those that hung around got to see a markedly improved showing from the Bombers, a tight finish and a fourth win in a row for the Saints.

Freo v Lions, Friday night: Just when you think the Lions are in hot water they pull out a performance like this. I shouldn’t be surprised, they’ve been doing it all year. Absolute teases. That being said, if they manage to find this sort of level consistently enough for a few finals games then the sky is still the limit. Shocking loss for the Dockers though. Was basically a 50/50 game going in so to get blown away must be super disappointing, and they’ve put themselves in real danger of being bundled out of finals in the last round now.

1755422655505.jpeg

Suns v Giants, Saturday arvo: It’s performances like this that still have many people rating the Giants a genuine flag threat. Massive, clutch performance to march up to the Gold Coast for a must-win game and comfortably account for a side that is very hard to beat up there. The Suns on the other hand have slipped out of the 8 for the first time since their opening round game didn’t go ahead, but with that game in hand they’re still in the box seat to get straight back in.

Blues v Port, Saturday arvo: A morale boosting win for the Blues, but this game was the definition of a dead rubber. The Who-Cares Cup.

Hawks v Demons, Saturday twilight: The game itself was a bit of a non-event, so let’s get some love going for 56 year old Jack Gunston who has just racked up a career-best goal kicking year with a round still to go! Seven more goals to bring his tally to 60, and he could have bagged a lazy 10 if he’d kicked straight. Give the man an All Australian jumper for goodness sake. Remarkable.

Crows v Pies, Saturday night: If that wasn’t a finals dress rehearsal I don’t know what is. Tight, tough stuff all night and a crazy close finish. The Crows will be thrilled with the gritty win and securing top spot, but there were genuine signs of life for the ailing Magpies too. If they beat Melbourne next week and nab a top 4 spot they’re still very much in the conversation despite a lean patch of recent form.

1755422677112.jpeg

Roos v Tigers, Sunday arvo: North should be a couple of years ahead of the Tigers and as such they had no business losing this. Sure enough they got the job done. Harry Sheezel reminded the world how good he’s going to be (already is) with an absolute blinder.

Swans v Cats, Sunday twilight: Powerful stuff from the Cats to go three goals down early against an in-form opponent away from home, then completely take control for the rest of the afternoon. Clear second on the ladder and yet somehow still flying under the radar. In the flag hunt up to their eyeballs.

Dogs v Eagles, Sunday twilight: Into the 8 go the Dogs! They’ll probably have to win a HUGE game against the Dockers next week to stay there, but they did what they had to do this week in a cakewalk against a lowly side. They’ve had a few of those this year.

Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about Round 23!

Liked:55k crowd at our game
Learnt: that Logan Morris puts mayo to earn free kicks- when does he get the Ginnivan/ Ballaz treatment. If our fwds got half the fks he got we'd be top of the league.
Hated: most of our fans know our bottom 6 aint good enough but it being on stark display Fri night was something I hated.
Also hate the fact that we have to play Bullies to make finals, when we are likely to get Troy Pannell'd into submission. Not sure who will have more throws- the bullies midfield or me in my game of catch with my 4 yr old today.

Learned: Any moral high ground points accumulated by Andrew Brayshaw and his holier than thou family are gone. Grub.

He’s lucky it’s one of those weeks where the MRO only cares about potential injuries, not actual ones.

Liked: An excellent win interstate, pretty much sews up 2nd spot and a home (MCG) final
Shannon Neale keeps on getting better, Jack Martin is looking more and more like the danger man come finals time? BLUE shorts!

Learnt: The MRO is out of its freaking mind. Suspending Ollie Wines for 3 matches is utter madness. Melbourne's so called star players should be traded. Certainly Oliver and Petracca should be given the boot!

Hated: The Adelaide throw that wasn't picked up, both Port Power and Melbourne simply didn't even try to make a game of it. Gold Coast playing strip is atrocious. No free to air TV for the Adelaide v Coliingwood game Saturday night, giving a free kick to the NRL and English Soccer, this is insane! Greg Swann has his hands full in his new job.

Learned: Any moral high ground points accumulated by Andrew Brayshaw and his holier than thou family are gone. Grub.

He’s lucky it’s one of those weeks where the MRO only cares about potential injuries, not actual ones.
Perhaps uncle, rather than the whole clan?

Liked. Crows defence can really stand up under pressure and is miserly

Learnt. We simply need to work out how to if not win them, at least break even at the clearances

Hated. Victorian cheerleaders commentators will their preferred victorian side on. STFU and call the game with out a partisan slant

Liked: I think Hawthorn's defensive structure is robust enough to mount a strong challenge in September.
Learnt: GWS can beat anyone, anywhere, with the possible exception of Adelaide in Adelaide.
Hated. Sydney's second half. Freo shitting the bed.

Liked: The H&A season is nearly over. There's 9 sides worth watching and 9 sides that are differing shades of shit. Any game that 9 is involved in is unwatchable most of the time. But should mean finals is enthralling as there's no stand out and will be 8 strong sides fighting it out till the end.

Learnt: Essendon have shown some competitiveness of late despite even worsening injuries. Some cause for optimism for 2026 if they can stay fit and healthy.

Hated: 3 weeks for Wines is ludicrous from Michael Christian. Hawthorn fans in match threads for games they're not involved in. Get a clue about footy first before thinking about commenting on the game.

Hated: Izak Rankine. WTF mate?

I'm learning that Shaun Mannagh is one of the best mature age recruits of recent times.
watched the VFL GF as i do to see what talent ius. out there.
this is the one that got away, i said ages ago "Pick Mannagh up as mature recruit"

aaaand he goes to my least favorite club. Salt in the wound

Liked. Melbourne's plan to kidnap Harry Mac, they're looking for a forward who can kick more than 1 goal all in the same game

Learnt. Finals will be sold out, TV ratings will be high. Good luck picking the winners.

Hated. MRO What more to say.

liked - *this season is nearly over for many poor teams.
*the crows v pies lived up to the hype, great finish.

learnt - Freo don't have what it takes to win the flag.

hated - another week of waiting to see how the AFL handle the Rankine incident

Liked : the Giants Win this weekend. a Big chance to win the Grand Final this year. have a hundred on it.

Learnt : should Back your own team as well. Lost my hundred on the Giants last season. After they led the Lions by 45 points in a Semi Final , and then got rolled by a Joe Daniher led come-back :smile:

Hated : Having to go back to work to earn a hundred for this years bet. :laughv1:

Liked: The Crows going retro by bringing back the old Crow Throw. Jack Gunstan..easily our best No.19 since the great Allan Goad.

Learnt: Reid, Butters, Trac, Walsh or Merrett will do in our midfield.

Either Hawthorn or Freo will win this week

Hated: Izak Rankine no doubt will be the sent to the Hague by the AFL for crimes against humanity...also the pile on by those who jump on the moral high horse who will no doubt want him burnt at the stake.

Liked: Geelong taking care of business. It was intriguing to me, as I remember the corresponding fixture from just over 12 months ago was probably why I was super dubious that Geelong couldn't win it last year. One of those games where you couldn't even be that angry - it just looked like we were taken apart by a better team. I figured that it was roughly the same teams lining up this time. Then it dawned on me what a big part of the reason was for a better Geelong performance was. Ins to that side from June last year: Bailey Smith, Shaun Mannagh, Connor O'Sullivan, Lawson Humphries, Jack Martin, Patrick Dangerfield (with Bruhn, Kolodjashnij, Clark, Duncan, Rohan and Hawkins the ones to go out). Not a bad refresh.

Also Liked: NWM re-signing... part of me is always happy when that happens, even if it's a player Geelong is targeting.

Learnt: Very interesting final round, with I'd say Brisbane and Fremantle having the most to lose. Freo to have two ninth place finishes in a row would be disastrous, while if Brisbane loses to Hawthorn, they'll likely finish in 7th or 8th, when they looked to have the inside running for top two heading into last week.

Hated: The Rankine controversy, not something we needed.

Liked : the Giants Win this weekend. a Big chance to win the Grand Final this year. have a hundred on it.

Learnt : should Back your own team as well. Lost my hundred on the Giants last season. After they led the Lions by 45 points in a Semi Final , and then got rolled by a Joe Daniher led come-back :smile:

Hated : Having to go back to work to earn a hundred for this years bet. :laughv1:
Have you tried watching footy without punting on it? It’s much more fun!

Hated: the fox commentary during our games. I get that our season is cooked so it’s all low-stakes. But it doesn’t need to have this podcast vibe where it’s just a few VFL old mates lazing about, shooting the shit about the umpiring.

Liked: Geelong taking care of business. It was intriguing to me, as I remember the corresponding fixture from just over 12 months ago was probably why I was super dubious that Geelong couldn't win it last year. One of those games where you couldn't even be that angry - it just looked like we were taken apart by a better team. I figured that it was roughly the same teams lining up this time. Then it dawned on me what a big part of the reason was for a better Geelong performance was. Ins to that side from June last year: Bailey Smith, Shaun Mannagh, Connor O'Sullivan, Lawson Humphries, Jack Martin, Patrick Dangerfield (with Bruhn, Kolodjashnij, Clark, Duncan, Rohan and Hawkins the ones to go out). Not a bad refresh.

Also Liked: NWM re-signing... part of me is always happy when that happens, even if it's a player Geelong is targeting.

Learnt: Very interesting final round, with I'd say Brisbane and Fremantle having the most to lose. Freo to have two ninth place finishes in a row would be disastrous, while if Brisbane loses to Hawthorn, they'll likely finish in 7th or 8th, when they looked to have the inside running for top two heading into last week.

Hated: The Rankine controversy, not something we needed.
Cats are the inform team, under the radar, not getting much attention. They'll like it that way for as long as it is possible.

Other favoured teams Crows and Brizzy have some issues. I think Brizzys best is the best, but can they string 4 wins in a row? Not sure.

Cats are the inform team, under the radar, not getting much attention. They'll like it that way for as long as it is possible.

Other favoured teams Crows and Brizzy have some issues. I think Brizzys best is the best, but can they string 4 wins in a row? Not sure.

In form, or just looking good because they're playing weaker teams?

Last top 8(9..) team they played was GWS in rnd18, and they lost that. (their last win against a top 8 side was the Suns in rnd 13 at kitty litter park).

Opinion AFL 2025 Round 23 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated