Opinion AFL 2025 Round 9 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated

A bunch of thrillers and no real blowouts… how good was round 9?? Wowee. Let’s wrap it up.

Freo v Pies, Thursday night: How do you come off a five day break, miss a bunch of key personnel, have your best player well held all night, record TWENTY EIGHT fewer inside 50s than your opposition and still win the game? Jamie Elliott, that’s how - with ample assistance from Bobby Hill and Jack Crisp, among others. All class.

Saints v Blues, Friday night: Fair play to the injury-hit Blues in this one. They’d have been forgiven for running out of legs and rolling over late in the match but they clung on gamely. Decent effort to be on the fringes of the 8 now after a horror start to the year.

1746955495976.jpeg

Demons v Hawks, Saturday arvo: Looking at the scoreline you wouldn’t believe the Demons were in this up to their eyeballs until as late as midway through the final term. They even looked the more likely winner at stages, but the Hawks resisted their advances and then blew them away approaching the finish line. Sign of a good side to have an off day but then put an opponent to the sword in one decent burst like that.

Bombers v Swans, Saturday arvo: The Dons set up a thumping lead in the first half before enduring some very nervous moments in the second. Nic Martin’s game was a highlight; a brutal injury to debutant Hayes wasn’t. The 50 Metre Penalty Swans didn’t help their own cause with some ill-disciplined acts and a horribly disjointed start to the game, but picked up their bundle fairly well for a side sporting a bunch of nobodies that describe themselves as forwards.

Suns v Dogs, Saturday night: Some of the Doggies players racked up big numbers, but it was the Darwin Suns that won the inside 50 count and the game. The Dogs got their act together late and rattled home, but they fell a smidgeon short. Still reckon both these sides will be there deep into the post season.

Port v Crows, Saturday night: Ok, unpopular confession… I miss the days when there were a whole bunch of Roman numerals after every showdown. Yes it was cringe as hell. So BRING IT BACK. By my calculation this was Showdown LVII (happy to be corrected on this one) and it was every bit as brutal as any other. Rankine did some truly mercurial things, and Connor Rozee was monstrous in a losing cause.

1746955752373.jpeg

Tigers v Eagles, Sunday arvo: Who says a game between two cellar dwellers has to be boring?? There were a million lead changes all afternoon, and there was one final one in the offing when Tom Brown pulled out a game saving tackle with seconds remaining. Thrilling stuff.

Cats v Giants, Sunday twilight: This is getting outrageous now. The Cats might as well not bother showing up for games against the Giants in Geelong… they simply don’t win them. Jesse Hogan might just be my favourite player human ever. 7 lazy goals if you don’t mind. He wasn’t the only hero either; there were some stunning performances from players on both sides. Just a pearler of a game.

North v Lions, Sunday evening: With all the close results earlier in the round, you’d be forgiven for thinking this one had no chance of living up to them. You’d have been WRONG. Feel sorry for North that they still haven’t been able to win one of these close ones, but the day is coming. In the meantime they can hold their heads up high. Brilliant against-the-odds performance.

Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about Round 9!

Hated watching my side play such a piss poor brand of footy, honestly the worst side to watch in the comp.

Liked - most of the other games, today three good close games

Learnt - don’t change your tips at the last minute, had gws all week. Changed at the start of the game to the cats

what is the closest round of the AFL era? because I feel like this would be up there somewhere. The end draw was like the NID result we'd been building towards. Margins of: 14 15 35 8 10 5 2 4 0
From the useless stats facebook page

Round 9 2025 is now the lowest cumulative margin for a full fixture of 9 AFL games with a combined total of 93pts following 14-15-35-8-10-5-2-4-0 results. It surpasses the previous record of 126pts set in Round 4 2019 with margins of 22-14-4-47-7-12-13-2-5.

Liked that the karma bus visited Mark Blicavs after he cheated last week saying he touched the footy when it went thru for a goal.

Liked: The close games, and particularly the Showdow. Please AFL put this on FTA stand alone Friday night next year @Gather round!

Learnt: Collingwood is the Terminator of this competition, even though a gritty and determined Freo out Collingwood'd Collingwood. The Pies STILL managed to defend well enough and go forward with uber efficiency to win.

Off a 5 day break, 4 of their walk up starts managed or injured, and in game injury that had them down one rotation in the last, half the amount of i50s v the opposition and got belted in clearances.

Almost impossible to kill.

terminator GIF

Hated (and learnt)! Shoota's concussion and the umpires not stopping the game, and Shoota walking off, should've been a stretcher or medicart there. Seriously dangerous stuff! Get your shit together AFL!

Opinion AFL 2025 Round 9 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated