Multiplat AFL 23: Launch Thread (Xbox release date TBC)

STATE OF PLAY:
  • The game is out for Steam and PlayStation. There have been issues with Xbox release and it is unclear when the game will be available.
  • Big Ant are aware that there are playability issues & bugs at present.
  • Content has been temporarily removed from the game to identify where the issues lie.
  • This content will be re-introduced via patches in the coming days.
  • Big Ant have released a summary of what is to be reintroduced, which can be seen below.

Issues & constructive criticism are best communicated to: support.bigant.com

Michaels Twitch video with QA from Ross(BigAntStudios) from 31:40

Answered these in my last post mainly but 1 yes, being fixed tomorrow possibly. 2 seemed mostly responsive yes.

One more issue I just remembered is set shots for the AI you lose ability to move other players around. Also unsure if this is a setting but I'd prefer to not have the behind player view for opposition set shots.
Would be good to have the ability to move players around but I feel as though it adds to the immersion having the behind the player view for opposition set shots. If there's any way to have the option though that would be great, I can see why some wouldn't be a massive fan of it.

Have difficulty sliders been mentioned in future patches?

Could customise and fix personal grievances ourselves like in Afl Evo. Would make the experience a lot better.

That many features/improvements don't just appear over night. It really shows how screwed up the release build was and missing what was originally there. Good stuff BA, looking forward to when it drops on my PS4.

Hopefully the WW fanboys stop the whole conspiracy with content creators from here.

Could customise and fix personal grievances ourselves like in Afl Evo. Would make the experience a lot better.
In a tweet/post "further difficulty customisation" was mentioned

User takcling is better and you can kick while being takcle but AI tak distance seems unchanged. So a kick around the body when you've got a few meters space is inevitable ruined by an AI who should be out of reach and your kick just goes a few meters ahead.
And you an get and handball away when you're takled but it's still a lottery to see where it's going and the player reeiving still stops as they receive it. So there are long stints of players getting tackled, handballing, someone else gets the ball, stops and gets tackled.
There are improvements but the improvements have exacerbated other issues. I really hope changes to player movement, AI tackle distance and being able to choose where you handball are coming soon.
Again, improvements, but in my opinion, it's less playable than it was 2 hours ago.

So played 2 games post patch

Notes
  • Marking contests are considerably better, however opposition still needs to learn to spoil. At least they know how to mark now and has made my games much better contests
  • Tackling much much better, HOLD Y/TRIANGLE for best result
  • In game stats are improving
  • Crowds are still very dissapointing, anzac day in front of 5,000 fans kills the mood
  • No anzac guernseys!!!!
  • Interchange still broken
  • Ross was right congestion has been introduced a fair bit and it sucks
  • Players regularly have to 'complete' their animation meaning sometimes they will just run 10 metres away from an opposition player with the ball directly after they mark it and giving them heaps of time and space. This one is really bad this patch.
  • At one point I kicked the ball out wide and my nearest player completely ignored it and ran back to his position, really bad AI there.
  • Player switching is terrible
  • Lots of animation glitching (one where a player is tackled, stands up, stands over the ball for like 3 seconds then play continues
Handballing needs a LOT OF WORK
  • Handballs are still shit, players get stuck in the mud recieving them, linking up fast handball chains down the corridor is basically impossible. Aiming handballs are still shit and completely destroy any flow and quick play
  • Handball glitch still occurs

Conclusion
The patch is 100% moving the game in the right direction but there are still LOTS of gameplay issues that need immediate attention

BigAntStudios thanks for the constant work over the last week, here are some of my notes post patch will update if I pick up more

been asking/hoping for this since before release.
Those sliders are the reason I'm still playing Evo 2 between patches on this.
I wonder if there are conerns it would harm the microtransation mode where people will presumably have to play with default settings.

Watching Michaels stream and it looks way better across the board!! Hype for the PS patch tomorrow!!
Yep the AI matches seemed to play heaps better.

The online matches did unfortunately crash every match, or at least forced disconnects. So some stability work to be done there I spose.

been asking/hoping for this since before release.
Those sliders are the reason I'm still playing Evo between patches on this.
I wonder if there are conerns it would harm the microtransation mode where people will presumably have to play with default settings.
Reckon sliders you are looking for will come in once the core mechanics and features of the game are fully in place.

Some sliders such as game difficulty are already in the game but the implementation of more complex or specific sliders, such as those related to gameplay mechanics or character customization, may occur at different stages. These sliders often require a more robust and polished underlying system to function properly.

This is a horrible analogy but I’ll give it a go, I reckon it is like when you want to make a cake and you want to customise it with chocolate frosting and some colourful sprinkles on the outside. It ain’t gonna work if the cake is not fully baked yet And if there is no cake The frosting has no where to go and it is just useless.

• Lots of animation glitching (one where a player is tackled, stands up, stands over the ball for like 3 seconds then play continues

Had something similar congestion around the grounded ball but nobody reacted to it. Was tempted to go into John Kennedy mode and yell DO SOMETHING at my tv!!!

Also the ball physics are weird it can bounce or roll all over the place... then out of nowhere it just stops (eg: saw it roll on the gound excessively, get picked up and kicked again, only when it landed it landed with a thud and didn't move.)

I'd expect a footy to come to a stop if it bounced in mud. But the game was sunny and the ground was dry.

The patch has made it much much better, and this might be just me but I think the commentary with Huddo might of been turned down slightly? because he is not talking all the time like he used to. while talking about commentary, BigAntStudios is Hamish still in the game? I have only heard Huddo with AFL & Bennett with AFLW with Harf, Garry & Underwood as analysts.

Pretty sure I heard Hamish was out.

Hopefully the WW fanboys stop the whole conspiracy with content creators from here.
I dont think its that outlandish to question if content creators have ulterior motives as long as theres a degree of respect there and you aren't solely playing the man, seems very convenient for all parties involved with alot of the shit they come up with, financial gain for them in the short/medium term and maintain a good relationship with BA with a multitude of releases this year to come.

Lot of talking like politicians going on this past week haha.