AFL Canberra

Okay ABH and all the rest of you tigers blokes, give it to me straight. How can a club that has the financial and human resources that you do at your disposal, fail to make the finals in a six team comp?

Every single club bar Tuggers has the financial and human resources at their disposal itktm, unfortunately for the Tigers they just weren't good enough when it mattered most, and it mattered yesterday.

Eastlake were far to good after half time and deserve their spot in the 4. They beat our guys 3 out of 4 times this year so no arguments from me in regards to the four finalists.

Good luck to all teams in the finals, with yesterdays result at Ainslie maybe its not all as cut and dry as first thought.

I did also make another prediction about a month ago that Belco wouldn't lose a game for the rest of the season so how well am I going??:confused:

ABH, hope you booked a holiday for Septamber. Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha \Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :thumbsu::thumbsu:

You Simpleton..

Is that all you could come up with??

All that time to think of something witty to have people think your funny and this is what you gave them.....

You can't seriously believe that Qbn not making the 1st grade finals changes my life that much.

Am I dissapointed - of course, but I slept peacefully Saturday and Sunday night because it is only football.

Besides if its the worst thing that happens this year then I have had a cracker of a 2008......

Dear Pekay-Nirthwest – sorry to differ the opinion but PN but Ghobriel is no “top bloke” he is a dead beat who is lucky he is 6foot 6 & athletic. with out that he would be a football ******. He is a dead set car salesman, I am surprised that no one has knocked out his diamond tooth. He is lucky he is at Ainslie where he has the opportunity to re negotiate his contract a few time this year otherwise he would still have to “bounce” at night clubs to earn a little extra cash to buy the next Armani suite. He has obviously working hard at Ainslie which is great, but he never worked that hard at Belco as soon as he came to town and wasn’t the 1st choice full back.
When it was his turn to take a punch in the face (that he duely dishes out to anyone smaller then him) he sooks like a 2 year old. Hardly the attributes of a “top bloke”. Although good luck on the All Australian selection I also hope it helps him pay out a bill or 2. :)

codola your not a full forward that gobbers has shat all over some time in your career are you?? gobbers is a great bloke one of the real leaders at ainslie football club, is hard on the field which u want in a backman but is a top bloke off it.. has hardly missed a training run.. loves his footy and getting all australian is just rewards for the effort he has put in during the year.. codola its obvious u still have the sh!ts that gobbers left your club 4 ainslie..

why we are on the topic great win by ainslie on the week end played top footy but still have a long way to go.. go the tri's!!

dissapointing from our boys on the weekend, kicked 1.8 in first 1/4 when we had the wind and most of the ball. swans did play well thou. the irishman murphy played really well of half back (he will play league footy at some point), fosdike also played well. irvine, healy, cleaver and lovett were good for us but that is about it.

another discussion point....who here thinks what swans players will make team of the year?

This thread always become boring and dry!! im not a canberra district man but check out there thread there is always somthing to talk about. Whats wrong with AFL canberra!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Anytime you want to start a discussion on something, go right ahead.
Most of the posters are from the Tigers and it is very difficult to say too much, when the on-field success of the team is not what is expected.
Don't complain about whats not on here, start something and see where it goes.

Ok tiger fans time to start with the questions.Is it true Paul Williams will be at ainslie next season?? Is merv contracted for 09 or does he re apply?? How many ones will play in the twos finals campain ,i must say givin the injury list during the year it has been a good effort by the twos.What are the odds on the goal kicking legend actally losing his boots between now and next season.Maybe he will coach next year and not run!!!And finally tips on tigers best this year ones ,twos ,and 18teens.

Every single club bar Tuggers has the financial and human resources at their disposal itktm, unfortunately for the Tigers they just weren't good enough when it mattered most, and it mattered yesterday.

Eastlake were far to good after half time and deserve their spot in the 4. They beat our guys 3 out of 4 times this year so no arguments from me in regards to the four finalists.

Good luck to all teams in the finals, with yesterdays result at Ainslie maybe its not all as cut and dry as first thought.

I did also make another prediction about a month ago that Belco wouldn't lose a game for the rest of the season so how well am I going??:confused:
Yes, that may be true, but lets be honest, your club has (correct me if Im wrong) spent an absolute fortune on your list in the last two years and come up empty. Spent more than Eastlake, and heaps more than Belconnen. Will heads roll? Do you think the Tigers made a big mistake in patting themselves on the back for what you considered a great year in 2007, when really, when you take out the last 4 or 5 weeks, it was very much like this season?

Ok tiger fans time to start with the questions.Is it true Paul Williams will be at ainslie next season?? Is merv contracted for 09 or does he re apply?? How many ones will play in the twos finals campain ,i must say givin the injury list during the year it has been a good effort by the twos.What are the odds on the goal kicking legend actally losing his boots between now and next season.Maybe he will coach next year and not run!!!And finally tips on tigers best this year ones ,twos ,and 18teens.

I will have a crack at your questions SC.

Haven't heard the rumour about Willo going to Ainslie....Wasn't he expected to play for Eastlake this year??

Not actually sure if Merv is contracted next year, if not my guess is the board and he will sit down and discuss what went wrong this year, what needs to be improved and what they require to improve it. Merv works as hard as any other coach in the league and my bet is he will be at the helm again next season to try to rectify the failings of this year. He deserves that chance in my opinion.

Agree that the 2's have done a great job considering they are pulled apart most weeks due the happenings of the firsts. Full credit to Pav and Seano on the many hours they have put into the side. The 22 that play in the first final will all have played a fair percentage of their year with the ressies. You wont see any shock inclusions, besides the rules dont allow it.

The goalkicker will finally lose his boots. They only came out when the injuries were at a premium. As far as coaching goes the club is fully aware that he cant commit to the time involved to do the job properly. Any coaching role actually takes up more time than playing does. You would need to be at training 3 times per week, do pre and post game analysis, watch opposition sides when you are not playing. All this takes a huge chunk of time. Time that he doesnt have. The club deserves 100% commitment and he cant give them that.

Best first grader this year in my opinion would be between the following - Scott Dickinson, Mitch Daniher & Kris Thompson. Both Mitch and Dicko missed parts of the season with injuries but when playing were outstanding in most matches. Thomo has been the most consistant in my view.
Special mentions to Jason Satchell, Neil Irwin, Mark Powell and Jeremy Kirkwood.

Best magoos player would be between Sibly, Quade & Longmore.

Dont see alot of the 18's but Mannie has been outstanding for the most part. Daniel and Stevens have also impressed in the parts that I have seen.

Yes, that may be true, but lets be honest, your club has (correct me if Im wrong) spent an absolute fortune on your list in the last two years and come up empty. Spent more than Eastlake, and heaps more than Belconnen. Will heads roll? Do you think the Tigers made a big mistake in patting themselves on the back for what you considered a great year in 2007, when really, when you take out the last 4 or 5 weeks, it was very much like this season?

Wouldn't have a clue what any club spends on players itktm. Unless you have an idea then most of us would just be speculating as you have just done about my club. Im sure all clubs spend more than they should in a comp that lacks spectator support, media coverage and prize money. I have always wondered why clubs spend what they do when the only reward for them is prestige and bragging rights.

Cant see heads rolling, the nucleus of the side is there. They showed it in patches during the season. They defeated every side in the comp, unfortunately they lost to every side also. They had difficulties with injuries as most clubs do but the gap between a good ressies player and a first grader is still pretty big and we didnt have the quality in depth to cover the many loses we had during the season so maybe that is an area for improvement.

Dont think any of the playing group patted themselves on the back, it was more past players like myself that sung there praises on this site but that has no effect on what happened this year. Of course after last years finals campaign you would have to be optimistic about this season and expecially when they were 3 zip. But they got themselves into a hole that they couldnt get out of and other clubs worked very hard to stop their strengths. Thats football!

ABH Thanks for the response as a current coach must hole heartly agree with the time factor i hope you can committ to a coaching role b4 you call it quits all together. Suprised roy not among the b/f favorites i for one like the way he goes about his footy as for willo only a rumor i heard the other day.I hope merv goes again also hope dougy keeps his long standing in the coaching ranks.I hope to see the likes of sammy and kane amongst others come into grade next year.Think kane will be an absoulte star!!!

Cheers SC, much appreciated. Unfortunately you will find that I play less of a role next season as I want to spend time with my new family.

You are wrong !!! the only club the Tigers spend more than is Tuggers. Rest assured the Tigers have loyal and dedicated group of players who committ themselves to the club year in year out. Yep, there are a number of well paid credentialed players - as with any club - but your comments are way off the mark.

The big mistake a number of people made was being critical of certain playing personal from other clubs. It made those guys stand tall. What goes around comes around and some of those comments have certainly biten us on the ass.

Wouldn't have a clue what any club spends on players itktm. Unless you have an idea then most of us would just be speculating as you have just done about my club. Im sure all clubs spend more than they should in a comp that lacks spectator support, media coverage and prize money. I have always wondered why clubs spend what they do when the only reward for them is prestige and bragging rights.

Yeah, we should all close up shop and give the game away. If that was the attitude, our game would have disappeared long ago from the Canberra Sporting scene. Maybe the money spent to keep our game alive and at such a high standard is required to combat all the other footy codes and to make sure AFL Canberra remains high on the list as a major football body.

As for prestige and bragging rights, I think you are way of the mark again ! Successful clubs are rewarded with titles and entilted to list them and remind people of their history. If thats bragging - so be it.

But as you well know ABH, football clubs are about providing opportunites for players and officials to be in a strong community and family orientated enviroment. To brag about winning is one thing but to be a body providing opportunities and support is another. Unfortunately the cost of running a strong sporting organisation in a competative sporting environment perhaps outways what is percieved to be an overspend. .

The big mistake a number of people made was being critical of certain playing personal from other clubs. It made those guys stand tall. What goes around comes around and some of those comments have certainly biten us on the ass.

I think your clutching at straws on this one Original. Your entitled to an opinion but surely that wasn't the major factor behind the sides form. No doubt when a player is criticised he builds himself up for a better performance but what about the side he is playing against. Dont they have an influence on the critiscised players performance??:rolleyes:

original;11971435 [I said:
Yeah, we should all close up shop and give the game away.[/I] If that was the attitude, our game would have disappeared long ago from the Canberra Sporting scene. Maybe the money spent to keep our game alive and at such a high standard is required to combat all the other footy codes and to make sure AFL Canberra remains high on the list as a major football body.

As for prestige and bragging rights, I think you are way of the mark again ! Successful clubs are rewarded with titles and entilted to list them and remind people of their history. If thats bragging - so be it.

But as you well know ABH, football clubs are about providing opportunites for players and officials to be in a strong community and family orientated enviroment. To brag about winning is one thing but to be a body providing opportunities and support is another. Unfortunately the cost of running a strong sporting organisation in a competative sporting environment perhaps outways what is percieved to be an overspend. .

That is what Im talking about and Im all for that but outside of the football community Im not sure who else cares...

Again that is what Im talking about, perhaps I didnt express it very well but I think you follow what I mean

That is what Im talking about and Im all for that but outside of the football community Im not sure who else cares...

I think you would be surprised at the interest generated by local teams. We have many supporters (who may not attend games) who read and listen to local media outlets and I for one can assure you (and others) that there is enormous interest in AFL Canberra footy - it just doesnt show through the gate !
QBN FM is hugely popular !

Again that is what Im talking about, perhaps I didnt express it very well but I think you follow what I mean
ABH - it just costs more and more to attract players to a League in an area swamped by other codes. Unfortunately in the early eighties the powers to be did not accept a proposal to have an AFL team in Canberra. We have suffered ever since with the Raiders and Brumbies etc. Had that occured then we would have been an AFL area and would not need to outlay the so called finances to footy that everyone is so knowledgable about. One wonders if these knowledgable people are former players who regret not being around right now to receive such so called high payments. I suppose those in the 30's and 40's didnt recieve anything in comparison to those in the 50's and 60's. Likewise those in the 50's and 60's didnt receive anything like they did in the 70's and 80's and now the same could be said for those in the 90's to the current crop of players. House prices have also increased !!!!!!!

Totally agree with Canberra missing the boat with an AFL team. That door will be very difficult to open again.

These knowledgeable people who know what players get paid is only one poster who has continually jumped on this site to get a bite.

I totally agree that the pay today compared to yester year is relative. I also as stated previous wouldn't have a clue or give a rats what players are on. If they are over paid then good luck to them if they negotiate better deals.

I also think you need to relax just a bit, take a deep breath and not take everything as a personal jibe at the Tigers as that is what certain posters are fishing for. They are twits you probably never amounted to much as a footballers and the only way they feel important to Canberra footy is to see who bites and who doesn't on this site.

Cheer up mate, we who know you still luv ya!!:thumbsu:

There was 1 player (Clarke) whose tactics were criticised in public and if you think that is the reason the Tigers didnt make the finals then thats BS.:eek:

The only change he made was to man someone up and if thats what caused them to become a better performed side than ours then i think you need to look a little deeper than here.

In the last two times the sides met, the Tigers were in a winning position at 3/4 time and were smashed in the last term. Not sure any words via the media caused that, next you will be pointing the finger to solve the JFK murder!!

Is it also the reason we lost to Tuggers, Ainslie and got pumped by 109 points at home to Belco?? I dont think so!!:rolleyes:

I dont know if the money spent on players in this league assists the profile of the sport in the region. I agree that we should be spending money on boosting the profile of footy in Canberra, but just spending money on footballers (who in my opinion aren't always up to it), wont necessarrily do that. I am guessing that the powers that be have discussed a salary cap at some stage, but i think it might have some merit.

I think the high player payments (not that i know the amounts personally - purely from the speculation of other posters) are a result of a supply v demand market. There are not enough "quality" players in canberra to play at the high standard (2008 Champs:thumbsu:) so there is a demand for these players. To lure a good player from elsewhere to Canberra has been requiring $$$$ because Canberra has difficulty promoting itself as a good place to live (although most of us who do live here disagee....dont we:confused:)
If you cut the payments to players they look elsewhere for more $$$$ and what you end up with is a lower standard of footy in the Canberra region.

And I must admit, you boys have really stepped it up on here with your wonderful coloured text - i guess it reminds you guys of having your crayons out at school