AFL Canberra

Hello all,

Can anyone tell me if there is a week break between the last home and away round and the first round of finals?

I looked on the AFLCanberra website, but the fixture only has the 18 rounds.

Thanks for any info

CD
Welcome CD.
Yep there is a general bye between the last round and the first week of finals.
Why?
You would have to ask someone with greater knowledge than I.

Thanks for the info,

Can anyone inform me as to the reasoning behind this?

This means that the Belconnen Reserves only play 2 more games after this weekend before the finals, WTF?

2 games in 43 days, not a single game for about 20 days before the 2nd Semi, not exactly an ideal preparation for finals footy?

thoughts?

CD shoot me if i am wrong i am led to believe it is to do with manuka oval availabilty which is out of the actafl control.

If it is the ground availability, then surely they would just negotiate to access other grounds. Jamo used to be OK, Ainslie is excellent. There is no sense in pushing the players all season and then leave them hanging, particulalrly if they already have byes built into the comp ?

Tell me there is another reason, please tell me ...

I think Belco will be keen to take last weeks shock loss out on Eastlake without the "rumoured" offer.

Winners to be - Belco, Tigers, Ainslie (but we need it be Swans!)
Heres one for the conspiracy theorists out there. I have heard that the Magpies are going to "rest" up to a dozen of their players this weekend, given that there is little to gain for them actually winning. Would they be doing this to run dead against Eastlake, thus making things even harder for Queanbeyan to make the finals? Surely not???????:confused: Or, I could be completely wrong, as I often am. Will be interesting to hear who they trot out at 2pm

If it is the ground availability, then surely they would just negotiate to access other grounds. Jamo used to be OK, Ainslie is excellent. There is no sense in pushing the players all season and then leave them hanging, particulalrly if they already have byes built into the comp ?

Tell me there is another reason, please tell me ...

Not in my 15 years here, it was a sh*t hole then and its a sh*t hole now....you must be very confused!!;)

Heres one for the conspiracy theorists out there. I have heard that the Magpies are going to "rest" up to a dozen of their players this weekend, given that there is little to gain for them actually winning. Would they be doing this to run dead against Eastlake, thus making things even harder for Queanbeyan to make the finals? Surely not???????:confused: Or, I could be completely wrong, as I often am. Will be interesting to hear who they trot out at 2pm

No real need to rest players with next weeks bye round unless they rest up the rep players??

Well they shouldn't play rep.footy then if they are "injured' or need to be "rested".

Very tricky, possibly throwing games or allowing losing form to continue this stage of the season. Hard to get going again when you add a bye and rep. duties in there.

Tuggers might stuff it all and beat the Tigers anyway. They have a good record v Tigers out there. Brass monkeys will be needed to run the boundary tomorrow out at Artic Park..

good game down at artic park yesterday (up unti 3/4 time), its hard with two of your backmen out (overs out before game, apparently collapsed when he got out of bed on sat morning and is on a drip!!!, and tak injured at 1/4 time) but still no excuses. group still played well but fell off in last quarter. Powell and carey dominated. did notice that the hawks wil need a good ruckman in coming yrs to really compete, jaques and dickinson dominated all day which allowed great service to on baller. kav also played well.

any other views or opinions of the game?

good game down at artic park yesterday (up unti 3/4 time), its hard with two of your backmen out (overs out before game, apparently collapsed when he got out of bed on sat morning and is on a drip!!!, and tak injured at 1/4 time) but still no excuses. group still played well but fell off in last quarter. Powell and carey dominated. did notice that the hawks wil need a good ruckman in coming yrs to really compete, jaques and dickinson dominated all day which allowed great service to on baller. kav also played well.

any other views or opinions of the game?

Didn’t see any of the game, but running through the team sheet, I note that Daniher is still out. Is this the same injury from the Ainslie game a couple of weeks ago? and if so, when is he likley to return?:rolleyes:

Sat through a great game in trying conditions yesterday. Ainslie were very good with contributors across the ground. The win will no cement a finals spot with 3 teams looking to fit into two positions. Tigers v Eastlake will be a great game with both clubs seasons on the line. Seems Armstrong and his side kick McGinley have finally got the team up and running. Begs the question – what has changed across the boarder?

I have also been told that a couple of injuries on Sat will alter the make up of the Rep tema to be announced today. Anyway – to all those associated with the rep team good luck and to the league proud. :thumbsu::D

itktm,

Your mail about Belco 'resting' there players is totally wrong. Winning games and making up for the loss V Queanbeyan last week was the priority. Hope that the result put to sleep your theory of making things more difficult for QBN.

ITKTM has has a few "interesting theories" this year.

Round 1 with he claiming to eat his own shit if Tuggers beat Eastlake (did anyone see him do this !!)

and of course the "resting players" theory.

Give him credit for putting it out there even if its usually way off base

Just checking sporting pulse.
Did the Swans only play with 17?
If not why weren't the top ups named?
4 top ups named played for the RAMS this year were named and are from Sydney.
Have the rules changed again?
I thought the top ups had to come from canberra when the swans played in canberra?

Congratulations to the 24 players selected to represent the ACT in the Country Championships.

Do us proud boys and continue the tradition of surprising the so called AFL states!!

Squad is -

M. Armstrong, B. Neely, N. Clarke, M. Kimball, L. Jeffrey, J. Bennett, C. Healey, R. Underwood, A. Harris, J. Kavanagh, C. Pettersson, J. Stiller, R. Jaques, C. Illett, A. Leischke, G. Underwood, M. Powell, A. Ainger, S. Curtis, B. Hughes, A. Rogers, R. Quade, S. Dickinson, M. Ghobrial.

- Raadts, L. Bennett, Jennings, McMahon, Takenan, Lewis couldn't be considered due to injuries either from the weekend or just coming back from lengthy spells.

Bourke pulled out due to old age. I can sympathise as the format is a young mans carnival.

Kirkwood was not picked due to his heavy workload of late. He has played alot of footy lately.

My only concern is who will play 2nd ruck?? Possibly Gobbers?? Quade, Jaques, Ainger even??

Its a V Good side and should perform well. Its has pace, class and strength across all lines.

Good Luck guys!!

itktm,

Your mail about Belco 'resting' there players is totally wrong. Winning games and making up for the loss V Queanbeyan last week was the priority. Hope that the result put to sleep your theory of making things more difficult for QBN.
Maybe my "mail" was off the mark....................or maybe I was just feeling a bit cheeky on a Friday arvo and decided to put some bait out there just to see who bit???? Smart blokes would never fall for that, would they jdjt?

Congratulations to the 24 players selected to represent the ACT in the Country Championships.

Do us proud boys and continue the tradition of surprising the so called AFL states!!

Squad is -

M. Armstrong, B. Neely, N. Clarke, M. Kimball, L. Jeffrey, J. Bennett, C. Healey, R. Underwood, A. Harris, J. Kavanagh, C. Pettersson, J. Stiller, R. Jaques, C. Illett, A. Leischke, G. Underwood, M. Powell, A. Ainger, S. Curtis, B. Hughes, A. Rogers, R. Quade, S. Dickinson, M. Ghobrial.

- Raadts, L. Bennett, Jennings, McMahon, Takenan, Lewis couldn't be considered due to injuries either from the weekend or just coming back from lengthy spells.

Bourke pulled out due to old age. I can sympathise as the format is a young mans carnival.

Kirkwood was not picked due to his heavy workload of late. He has played alot of footy lately.

My only concern is who will play 2nd ruck?? Possibly Gobbers?? Quade, Jaques, Ainger even??

Its a V Good side and should perform well. Its has pace, class and strength across all lines.

Good Luck guys!!
Hope the boys, go well. I am a bit surprised by the ommission of Lexie Bennett and Marcus Crooks (who both seem to be in the best for their clubs most weeks), maybe there are some injury issues.

What odds a finals appearance ?

Maybe my "mail" was off the mark....................or maybe I was just feeling a bit cheeky on a Friday arvo and decided to put some bait out there just to see who bit???? Smart blokes would never fall for that, would they jdjt?

Maybe you are a good fisherman itktm....hope that you do not support the WCE as that maybe considered 'tanking' (according to all except those in power at the AFL).
Just hope that you were making Fridar arvo chit-chat and were not totally serious??? :eek:

Dear All,

Now I am really confused ?? When I replied to the team list by ABH, I could not see the bottom half of the message, and thus the explanation of the ommissions through injury etc. Is this unique to me / my computer etc ?
In any event sorry for the spurious observation.

Dear All,

Now I am really confused ?? When I replied to the team list by ABH, I could not see the bottom half of the message, and thus the explanation of the ommissions through injury etc. Is this unique to me / my computer etc ?
In any event sorry for the spurious observation.

Not totally your fault mate as I did an edit on it probably as you were replying to it

How many games do they play?
Heard that they play 2 1/2 games then a full one for the final - it that correct?
Do they pick a side from the carnival?
Who do they play against?
Hope that the Canb. Times sends someone down there but as it is not Rugby League, it will probably not get a mention.
Hoping that all players return without injury as round 16 will be a cracker.....Tigers V Eastlake for 4th spot, Belco V Ainslie (maybe a 2nd-semi preview) and an injury-depleted Swans V Tuggers.

From my understanding ACT are in Div 1 with SA Country, WA Country, VIC Country, NSW.

They play 2 half games on the Thurs, 2 half games on the Fri.

Sat off,

Then full games for the finals on Sunday

Final - 1st v 2nd
Consolation Final 3rd v 4th
Relegation 5th v 1st (Div2)

Not sure who is in Div 2, Indigenous all-stars have a team, VicCountry have a 2nd tier teamTas?, Qld?, not sure.

Hopefully we make the final and give it a good shake on the Sunday.

Don't hold your breath about the Canberra Times, Merrymen of Sherwood Forrest will probably make something up like she does every weekend.

Historically the Country Champs has announced an All-Australian team 22? players from both divisions, and a best player from each state, as well as a player of the carnival. I'm not sure if we have ever won the best player at a carnival, possibly Jarjoura in 2004?

On an aside, David Love from Ainslie, has been selected in the Indigenous All-Stars side, a great effort.

Things are starting to heat up in the race for September action, if Queanbeyan can scrape through, they could be the smokey again like last year.

ITKTM has has a few "interesting theories" this year.

Round 1 with he claiming to eat his own shit if Tuggers beat Eastlake (did anyone see him do this !!)

and of course the "resting players" theory.

Give him credit for putting it out there even if its usually way off base
Good to see you are coming around to the ITKTM way of thinking ABH, after the battering you gave me earlier in the year.

JDJT, youre forgiven! However I will try to get you again before the year is out, but as ABH has said, I am usually way off the mark with my predictions, although I did tell you all to load up on Ainslie last weekend.

Anyone know if that betting agency is taking wagers on the finals again this year? I like the tricolours as a value bet:cool:

Good to see you are coming around to the ITKTM way of thinking ABH, after the battering you gave me earlier in the year.

JDJT, youre forgiven! However I will try to get you again before the year is out, but as ABH has said, I am usually way off the mark with my predictions, although I did tell you all to load up on Ainslie last weekend.

Anyone know if that betting agency is taking wagers on the finals again this year? I like the tricolours as a value bet:cool:

Yes apologies for that.

Since the birth of my first child I have a different outlook on things. Its amazing how they change you.

Hopefully you have noticed a change in my postings with not as much sarcasm and anger.

ITKTM,

Thanks for being so nice......:p
If you have any 'hot' tips, would like you to post them plus keep with the Friday arvo mail - makes for good banter on a Friday arvo.....
ABH
Hope that the kid(s) are not driving you crazy because when they do, you may go back to your old ways :(