AFL LIVE 2011 - 360, PS3 & PC - Part 16 - READ FAQ BEFORE POSTING

Rub it in? Geez mate. Another 15 years of this and we will all have to be living of Desal Water. I'd kill for some rain haha

With regards to WA footy viewing, we are usually pretty good. Doubt there are many matches not aired each weekend, Think we get 6 or so on FTA per week.

You can have ours, week of solid torrential rain.

Another draw....
seriously Gilbert should become a photographer and quit football.

OFFTOPIC:Hey, guessing this is not an April fools deal - I'm still watching it here in WA!

I'm not going near this place tomorrow night - got to get home without hearing how much the Blues belted GC by.... (I should add I won't get home until 24 hours after the match...) :)

By then they might braodcast Carlton games to WA - no GC v Carlton on the telly, not even foxtel!!

Hahahahaha, yeah I should be right by then, it will be on Fox Sports 17.

It'll probably still be delayed though...

So I'm guessing you won't be in Werribee tomorrow morning Ross? Do you know who will be there? Looking forward to meeting some of the devs.

I feel its been about 3 years since I last saw rain....

So is there any way to direct the kick for goal when on the run other than 'press square'?
You use the left stick to basically guide the player to where you want to kick it. The game will take into consideration things like pressure and the players ability though when doing so.
ok. this is gonna seem pretty stupid but i got confused in the game play videos where the wind display is,the direction of the kickers swing is undering so that got me thinking you had to do a flick kick dumb hahaha
That's all just there so you can get a helping on how to kick the goal.

The wind is obviously so you can know which way the wind is blowing and how hard and the 'right footed/left footed' is just so you know which way the ball will arc and it has the little arc there to show. I am pretty sure both can be turned off too.

But no, all you do is move your players aim with the right stick and then power up the kick. The power of the kick will decide how much the ball arcs.

Hahahahaha, yeah I should be right by then, it will be on Fox Sports 17.

It'll probably still be delayed though...

So I'm guessing you won't be in Werribee tomorrow morning Ross? Do you know who will be there? Looking forward to meeting some of the devs.

You will have Neil there from HES/Tru Blu, he has a very solid knowledge of the game, I would think he might have done 10+ playsessions now :)

Sorry, I know this was a while ago, but I'm just catching up. Does anybody (maybe Ross will be able to help with this) know if the Deliberate Rushed Behind Rule is in the game? (The last quarter of the Saints-Tigers game tonight made me think of it) Because when a mate and I went to the playtest in Sydney, we tried to manufacture one, I played on from the kickout and ran back through the goals. It was just given as a behind and I was given another kick-out, rather than my mate getting a free kick. Has anybody seen one payed? I don't really care, just something we noticed when we were at the playtest.

It is in. The Tru Blu rep at a playtest said they had turned off some rules so people could get the hang of the game

We also have turned off the 50's off for going over the mark, etc... in the demo's

I noticed that I accidentally went over the mark a fair bit and didn't get penalised. I'll have to watch it in the real game.

there is a setting to turn it off. I'm guessing it may have been turned off for the demonstrations because it would've been quite frustrating for newbies playing the game

Yeah, I'm just saying I was lucky that it was off.
I don't plan on turning it off at home.

All rules will be on when I play for sure.

Not a bad idea to not have the AI give away 50s for running across the mark, that could turn into a random thing and I wouldn't really like it if I was gifted a 50 late in the game for something like that. I would feel a bit dirty.

All rules will be on when I play for sure.

Not a bad idea to not have the AI give away 50s for running across the mark, that could turn into a random thing and I wouldn't really like it if I was gifted a 50 late in the game for something like that. I would feel a bit dirty.

Yes, Hawthorn supporters are still complaining about Jim Stynes.

"complaining"? When Stynes ran across the mark, it got us in to the 1987 GF by default - so we are hardly complaining. Although we lost to Carlton - we still got there!

I played for 2 hours today at Werribee. Neil must have forgotten to turn 50m penalties off because they were on in our games. Only saw one or two given away though so it was good, nice and realistic. It's not like it's super easy to run across the mark.

I didn't get to see any player ratings, but the game seems relatively even. I played in a Carlton vs Collingwood game, we (Carlton) lost, but one of the guys on the other team was an absolute freak. I'm guessing he has been to a few play tests already. When me and him were on the same team (same 4 players, just switched team-mates) we won by over 100 points! So taking that into consideration the game was pretty close. The final scores were roughly Coll 50 - 30 Carl.

Hendo and Waite seem like they will be quite handy in the forward line, so good news for Carlton fans! But then like I said, you don't notice a HUGE difference among players. It's a lot like FIFA in that regard, rather than Pro Evolution Soccer, where you immediately feel a huge difference with each player you pass to. But I think they have the balance just about right, especially considering it's the first game of the series. Never during the Carlton vs Collingwood game did I feel that the reason we were losing was because they were using Collingwood and their players were far too superior in every positon.

The main difference I noticed was how far players could kick for goal. You can't expect to dob it from 55 with Betts, but with Hendo or Waite you can. Also Judd can shed tackles easier than most other players, which is awesome. :D

I went down to werribee today (40min drive) wow it was awesome I watched a bit of a match of collingwood vs kangeroos cloke kicked a goal off the ground to win by 3 points then I played a game against 3 kids i played as gold coast they were sydney neil talked us through the controls (it took me a whole game to get the controls because don't have a playsation) hand balls were quick and you could hear the grunt from a kick or from a mark, i won the first 3min qaurter 13 to 0 they were sick of me winning so they left neil stepped in and he said "i will go easy on you" the ruck contest were hard to get it was raining really hard short kicking was cool but players looked odd when kicking. goal kicking was the best allowing the wind to aim you kick.

i got one chance to take a specky but didn't get it. the graphics were great, adam goodes looked good and karmicheal hunt was slow and tackled good (like what you expected) and at the third quarter it was a draw but i new neil wouldn't let me win in the end he won by 7 points.
i think that big ant are going to make heaps of sales great job ross and bigant. i am happy to answer any questions bring on 21st.:D