AFL LIVE 2011 - 360, PS3 & PC - Part - 25

And with a couple more games after that, it rounds out an interesting night.

Next game played a 5 star Melbourne team (with the usuals, Sandi, Franklin, Judd, etc). Got out to a lead and then he came back at me. Late in the game i took a running shot on 50, and got pushed in the back. I stopped to set myself. Next thing i know, advantage is called, he's got possession and goes coast to coast and goals. He ends up winning by a point. Not only that, after he wins, i get a lovely message informing me to go and suck a certain appendage, as i'm a cheating c-bomb. I play as fair as i can (as i assume Mahama can now attest to), so that was just icing on the cake. I really wish there was a rematch button sometimes, not that they'd ever accept.

Then after that i got lumped with a 2 on 1 against a 5 star Collingwood. It was raining heavily and somehow i dragged out a 1 point win, even with excessive bumping, and the Sandi in the ruck and punch manouvre. Classic. It was only my second game against a 2 on 1 but damn isn't it a good feeling to get one over them.

Hey Ross, after a lot of time playing this game I'd just like to share my ideas on how you guys could build on AFL Live, going into the next installment.

Counter towards Magnet tackling
I think one of the big problems with AFL Live this year is that a perfect tackle can be preformed with no skill at all, obviously there currently is a counter to magnet tackles in that if you are sprinting while tackling, there is a 50% chance it will end up as a free against you, but this doesn't stop AFL Live from being a tackle fest. I think there should be a skill implemented so that you can get around magnet tackles, and also, I think there should be a new system, where you have to time tackles so players can't break out of them easily. My idea for the way around them is to add a movement system which actually takes skill, unlike timing a press of the Y button like fending in this year's addition. There should be Dummies, Side-steps, No look turns, all the moves you see in modern footy, but they should need to be learnt, and take some degree of skill. The perfect use of this would be that a skilled player who has mastered the movement system, will be able to counter an unskilled player who is using magnet tackles.

Improved AI
Another problem is that team AI needs some work, I don't think they should be able to shepard, because sheparding is very overpowered in AFL Live, but I think they need to do a better job of attacking the ball so that you have other options if you are tackled or your plan doesn't pull off too well. Team AI also sticks to their man like glue, which is the real reason that AFL Live is a tackle fest, a common dirty tactic of a team playing with 2 or more players online is for one of the players to run into an open goal while the other one(s) switch players through the team, luring out your team's players so that they are nowhere near close enough to stop them from running into the open goal. Another thing I experience a lot is that if I am running towards the ball near the centre square (especially with a player who plays in the backline) and I accidentally switch player, the player I was running towards the ball with, no matter how close he is to the ball, will turn around and run back to his man/position, which is incredibly frustrating since it almost always leads to a turnover against me.

Call plays while on the mark
This is my idea on a counter for spoiling. Now spoiling shouldn't be totally dumbed down or anything, kicks to a teammate just need to be more planned out, the best way I can think of would be to call plays/instruct team mates after taking marks. This should work like locking on players to kick to them in AFL Live, but you also get an option to instruct them, eg. Spread left/right, go long etc. This would provide a more streamlined gameplay and would be a counter to constant spoiling.

New animations/Improved Graphics
AFL Live does look good for the most part, and the animations are very nice, but there is still room for improvement, I think the thing that needs to be improved graphics wise is to add a more bulky, hard look to players, and a more realistic look to the ground, also some ground features would be nice too, like water splashing off the grass when players slide down when it is raining etc. More animations would be good too, marking especially, there should be some animations for pack marks, hook marks (where a players pushes his legs into another's side and kicks off to take the mark) and some more specky ones, that would be cool. :thumbsu:

More online options
Something I really, really hate on AFL Live's multiplayer is that I always come up against 5 star custom teams with Sandilands in the ruck, Ablett, Judd and and swan in the midfield, Franklin in the forward line, all those type of players, and this still happens A LOT even after the patch, and since I always use Essendon online, it is really frustrating to be at a disadvantage like that. I think the obvious counter towards that would be to make playing custom teams with dream lists online another game mode, and make it so you can only play as the official teams in quick matches, the same should go for team play.

Anyone else been having slight frame rate problems?, noticed it started happening after the patch on the PS3. It seems to happen when the ball goes to ground after the ruckman taps the ball at the centre bounce and when a player kicks a high ball down the ground, its very minor but i'm wondering if there's any way to fix it.

Tried playing. About a dozen matchups in a row got suped up custom sides so exited on team selection screen.

One person changed to Geelong but it was a FF so didn't trust it. One gamer who appeared to use a default side but exited me 3 different times (mostaus, with Richmond, North and then Bulldogs).

Pretty much gonna be done with this soon. >_<

Me too I reckon.

It's not just the custom teams though, it's the constant 2v1's and 3v1's as well. Really frustrating :mad:

In hindsight I think my original opinion about the game was wrong.

I originally said, "as long as online's good" (that was strange for me cause generally I'm not that into online play). But now I'm wishing there was more to the offline game.

I think I'm just about done too, more that I've played the game so much I'm sick of it. Apart from the now stuffed up online there is no replay value.

I'm officially bored of the game FWIW. I did play alot of it though, so I don't really regret the purchase but I think the game needs to be improved significantly for the next version, I've heard from people that they hate it etc. etc. Though I, and most of my mates loved it.

Just needed a hell of a lot more to do in single player. Though I think the game play needs to be reworked a fair bit as well.

I'd say an option filter would be a great for this game online. That way the flogs with five-star teams can play other flogs with five-star teams and you can choose to search for a default team to play.

:thumbsu:

I reckon you should only be allowed to use a custom team in a private match. That way the online ranking system gives a true reflection of how good you are.

Just played the #30 ranked dude on PSN, Quinny02, and soundly beat him. He had a 5 star Brisbane team with the usual suspects, and his game plan simply consists of excessive bumping, and tackling after the mark. I lost about 3 goals to him through lag (then i realised the missus was downloading a torrent, and promptly told her to stop it for 10 minutes). After that he barely saw it. Ended up beating him by about 5 goals. Quite a few of my goals were from 50m penalties (thanks to failed after the mark tackles), and his over bumping taking him out of the contest and my crumbers swooping.

I'm going to be honest, this entire time I've thought the Possession % was disposal efficiency of the team collectively. I've been getting roughly 30% and so has my opposition each game. At half time of this game I'm winning 62-27 (WCE vs Geelong) and my possession is 87.5%, compared to my opponent's 5.2%. Anyone else get ridiculous numbers like this? Considering I'm only up by 6 goals it's pretty ridiculous.

EDIT: I just played a pretty even third quarter and lead 92-40, and yet % reads 82 vs 7. Surely this is a bug?

EDIT2: Just paid alot of attention in the last quarter and yes I had a ton of the possession, and won 137-53. Final possession count was 79.6% vs 8.2%. Weird, I've games where I win 200-20 and I still only get around 40% possession.

I played a game tonight. I was 2 goals down at quarter time and from then on in it was even. I was up in the last few minutes by a point and I was hanging on until he kicked it into his forward line I spoiled it and then recovered to collect the crumbs and ran towards his goals and with 3 seconds left I rush it through for a point. :eek::eek: hahahaha worst decision i've evr made in this game, i should of gone towards the boundary. Oh well.

Have not played a non-custom team in the last 3 days. Ridiculous.

Any ETA on the patch Ross? (now where have I heard that before?...:rolleyes:)

I had a match up tonight against a 5 star Custom team, so as i do when that happens, i change from default Adelaide to my custom side that i use for online. As soon as i changed to be custom as well, the stooge backed out. :thumbsdown:

I'm going to be honest, this entire time I've thought the Possession % was disposal efficiency of the team collectively. I've been getting roughly 30% and so has my opposition each game. At half time of this game I'm winning 62-27 (WCE vs Geelong) and my possession is 87.5%, compared to my opponent's 5.2%. Anyone else get ridiculous numbers like this? Considering I'm only up by 6 goals it's pretty ridiculous.

EDIT: I just played a pretty even third quarter and lead 92-40, and yet % reads 82 vs 7. Surely this is a bug?

EDIT2: Just paid alot of attention in the last quarter and yes I had a ton of the possession, and won 137-53. Final possession count was 79.6% vs 8.2%. Weird, I've games where I win 200-20 and I still only get around 40% possession.
It's how much of the match that you're in possession of the ball. So it's not just the number of disposals, but how long the players have the ball in their hands (so holding onto it for 10-15 seconds after every mark will raise it through the roof, for example).

Yep, fair call. This occurred to me after I posted.

Still remarkable that I could dominate play so much but only really thrash them in the last quarter. I wonder what the most amount of possession someone's gotten before.

Yep, fair call. This occurred to me after I posted.

Still remarkable that I could dominate play so much but only really thrash them in the last quarter. I wonder what the most amount of possession someone's gotten before.

Well i was playing as sydney and the guy i was playing was a custom team and 3+ players and he was a deadset cheat aswell.

i had nick malceski get 35 possesions and i lost the game. but i couldnt have cared less if i won or lost to a normal team with a guy who doesnt cheat but this guy did my head in so i thought i would teach him a lesson.

Everytime he kicked a behind or everytime i would rush a behind i would kick it to myself and then run around in circles in the goal square untill he would come at me and then i would run it back over the line.

he then proceeded to send me a message calling me a cheat and every name under the sun i nicley pointed out to him that he had a custom team with their stats upped and that he was playing with 3 plus players and that if he wanted to play me 1v1 with a standard team i would be more than willing to accept.

he did and i beat him by 100 plus points and once again he proceeded to call me a cheat and every name under the sun.

but on the same note i had a similar game to the one i previously mentioned custom essencsum team 4.5 stars and upped stats and 2 or more players he won the game by 40 points i gave him a nicley worded message explaining to him what he did wrong.

he responded with a something that actually surprised me he said something along the lines of " hey mate we realised that you were 1 player and we didnt want to smash you because that wouldnt be fair if it was possible we would have liked to vs another custom team with the same amount of players but we were matched up with you and that was not our fault".

That realy shocked me i usually get someone send a message back saying you fing this or fing that,get over it,we did this fair and square,we didnt cheat, your just a shit c**t and so on so i take my hat off to you sir whoever you are i cant remember your name.

ive got a real annoying bug where my teams for online get whiped when i turn the console off? any way to fix it?