Mego Red

The Artist Formerly Known As Kristof
10k Posts
Soft spot for Brisbane
For what it's worth, the AFL released a press release on the 25 top players in the upcoming draft (in their opinion) - and Hall wasn't listed ...

Originally posted by Kristof
For what it's worth, the AFL released a press release on the 25 top players in the upcoming draft (in their opinion) - and Hall wasn't listed ...
There has been a bit of a rumour that he hasn't nominated for the draft this year and will play another year in colts.

Besides with the record of afl.com, I wouldn't take anything for granted.

This is from Footygoss. I can't stand the suspence. If Port get him I will not be a happy chap.
Young South Fremantle ruckman could be draft surprise
Posted Nov 16, 2003 - 14:01 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

By Paul Harrison
Young South Fremantle ruckman Brent Hall could prove to be one the surprise packets of next Saturday’s National Draft.

In a draft that is dominated by talented midfielders, 17-year-old Hall is being touted as the best pure ruckman in the draft.

Hall, from the Western Australian town of Williams, played 13 games with the successful South Fremantle’s Colts team in 2003. He was a member of the premiership side.

Hall was also named vice-captain of the WA U/18 Championships team in 2003.

With several clubs looking for a ruckman to develop, Hall is a good chance to be taken in the top 20 picks of the draft.

Adelaide, Port Adelaide and Collingwood are clubs that will be looking to bolster their ruck division over the next couple of seasons, so Hall could be seen as an excellent long term prospect.

Hall is a tremendous athlete and for a player of his size ( 198cm/94kgs) has great handling skills, especially at ground level.

Another asset that would appeal to AFL clubs will be his unquestioned courage.

Hall is keen to stay in his home state, but naturally would go anywhere if it means playing senior football.

“I would be over the moon if I played for either the Dockers or the Eagles. I guess if it happens and go get drafted and go off to Melbourne, it’s something I would have to do, but it would be awesome to stay in WA,” he said in a recent interview with FootyGoss‘ Emma de Burgh.

“Coming from Williams with a population of about 500 people up to Perth- That is a huge step- But going to Melbourne would be even bigger I guess.”

Uh-oh...sounds like if we draft him he'll oblige his contract then ask to go back to Perth.

I don't like this 'I'll go but I REALLY want to stay here, it would be SO GREAT' emphasis.

Originally posted by spindoctor
Uh-oh...sounds like if we draft him he'll oblige his contract then ask to go back to Perth.

I don't like this 'I'll go but I REALLY want to stay here, it would be SO GREAT' emphasis.
Needless speculation.

I think you're reading too much into what he says.

I don't.

Look how reverent he is about his home state, then a bit downcast about moving interstate.

Yum...yum...Nestle all-natural!

99% of the draftees will say that. They all want to stay home but that doesn't mean they will leave the club high and dry. Generally, we have had good record with WA players when it comes to hoesickness.

I remember Pavlich saying he desperately wanted to stay in Adelaide and if he got drafted interstate he would play out his first contract and bolt home. 3 years later he turned down much bigger contract from Port so he could stay with Freo.

Every kid says that.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
99% of the draftees will say that. They all want to stay home but that doesn't mean they will leave the club high and dry. Generally, we have had good record with WA players when it comes to hoesickness.

I remember Pavlich saying he desperately wanted to stay in Adelaide and if he got drafted interstate he would play out his first contract and bolt home. 3 years later he turned down much bigger contract from Port so he could stay with Freo.

Every kid says that.

No they don't Stiffy.

There's a large percentage of young lads who are just happy to play AFL footy wherever that may take them. They generally stick with the club that drafts them for their careers. They're the ones you want to draft.

There does appear to be an increasing number who want to stay at home or intend to go home at the first opportunity though. Remember Johnson for us and Stevens for Port - both now gone? When they got drafted all of a seven hour drive from their comfort zones, they looked like virgins who had lost their cherry and wished they could get it back!! They were always going to go home.

This Hall does worry me a bit after reading that article. We just can't afford to blow a first rounder on a lad who's not rated in the top 25 AND doesn't want to leave home.

Originally posted by macca23
No they don't Stiffy.

This Hall does worry me a bit after reading that article. We just can't afford to blow a first rounder on a lad who's not rated in the top 25 AND doesn't want to leave home.
C'mon mate. Most of the young draftees prefer to stay in their home state. Its only natural for a kid wanting to stay ina comfort zone. What makes you think that Watts doesn't want to stay in Victoria??????

Over the years its safe to say that WA kids are less likely to leave. In case of Kane Johnson we got a very good compensation for him. Jason Torney, Picks 2, 18 and 32 for Johnson Picks 14, 30 and 45.

He is not rated in the top 25 by AFL.com. The fact that they have Llane Spaanderman in the top 25 and don't have Tim Schmidt there speaks volumes of their knowledge.

maybe it speaks volumes for your knowledge?
Tim Schmidt should be in there and it does speak volumes about there knowledge. They have no idea, AFL.com was a great site a couple years ago now it is only just.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
C'mon mate. Most of the young draftees prefer to stay in their home state. Its only natural for a kid wanting to stay ina comfort zone. What makes you think that Watts doesn't want to stay in Victoria??????

I agree with you Stifffy that they may prefer to stay in their home state and comfort zone, but most of them will go wherever they have to, because all they want to do is play and succeed at AFL level.

Here's an example of that, and this lad is guaranteed of being picked up.

http://afc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=126961

They're the ones you want.

Originally posted by Kristof

Could someone please provide a link for this list/

cheers

Jerome

and yours coming from a sook who can't take a typical Aussie mum joke without threatening violence (over the Internet! you brave you!) and who thinks without height you can't play a key forward post

*ahem*

and yours coming from a sook who can't take a typical Aussie mum joke without threatening violence (over the Internet! you brave you!) and who thinks without height you can't play a key forward post

*ahem*
Oh how original. I said i would belt you if you said that on the street to me and I still stand by that. You name the time and the place and I will be there. I have stood up to bigger guns than you and got out of it OK. A bloke who can only crack the mum jokes is a joke in itself.

So why don't you go back under the rock that you crawled under.:rolleyes:

I am big (6'2", and broad) but I make no bones about the fact I have never been in a fight and it is a fact that I am proud of. It is the realm of the thuggish, the pathetic and the ignorant. And the realm of idiots, like you, who are so gormless and lacking in brain cells they feel the need to threaten violence because they can't handle a joke.

Look, I think I could probably hold my own, but I'm not going to stoop to your level. You need to go back and get a ****ing education you pathetic ****er, mum jokes are an ingrained part of Australian culture and if you feel the need to threaten violence over me saying 'we should draft your mum' in a post it says more about you than it does about me.

Grow up, are you one of those disenchanted piee of sh|t wiggers who roams town looking for a fight? Cos that's all that you seem like. You've got some real issues if you want to fight someone over that - it is you who sounds like they live under a rock, cretin.

No actually I have only been in a fight 3 times and I have never started them so you better get you facts straight. I never started a fight and I never walked away from it 2nd best. Mum jokes are something I hate and you really don't know what my mum has been through and if you did you would probably know why I am overprotective of her. Believe me you would be too.

As for the Education part, I will have you know that I am currently studying my 2nd university degree which is more than I can say for you. And no I am not the sort of bloke that goes around town picking fights because in all honesty I hate fights but I will always stand up for myself and my family and if thats tuggish so be it. I have done that in the past and I will do it again.

So basically you have absolutely no right to judge me as you don't know the 1st thing about me. W@nker.

Don't mind me...this is exciting...

popcorn.gif