ripitup27

Aug 14, 2005
Your Place
The Chapman Express
Was anyone else unlucky like me and bought this game? It is worse than last years. Barry Hall and Paul Chapman have hair, players who have hair lack it. Red hair guys and brunette and vice versa etc etc. As well as that, it looked like you would be able to change their boots and socks etc. in the game but you cant. Players who always have socks up are down and vice versa. And the draft and trading had me getting C.Bruce and W.Tredrea to Geelong with picks 80 and 87 with new players in the draft having familiar names like Voss Riewoldt and Deledio, with just there first names changed. I might be a complaining tool that wants this game perfect but I feel a game should be similar to the real thing. Plus you cant change how the other team lines up, with Chick at CHB for WC, Giansiracusa at full back for the Dogs etc. Its just annoying. I think a true AFL fan should help out on the next one.

Love the ad, a black Nathan Brown rucking for Melbourne, goal umpires in shorts. Will not be surprised if it was a lemon.

Just buy a sesond hand Nintendo NES and get the footy game, classic......Out of bounds, on the full :D

ripitup27 said:
Was anyone else unlucky like me and bought this game? It is worse than last years. Barry Hall and Paul Chapman have hair, players who have hair lack it. Red hair guys and brunette and vice versa etc etc. As well as that, it looked like you would be able to change their boots and socks etc. in the game but you cant. Players who always have socks up are down and vice versa. And the draft and trading had me getting C.Bruce and W.Tredrea to Geelong with picks 80 and 87 with new players in the draft having familiar names like Voss Riewoldt and Deledio, with just there first names changed. I might be a complaining tool that wants this game perfect but I feel a game should be similar to the real thing. Plus you cant change how the other team lines up, with Chick at CHB for WC, Giansiracusa at full back for the Dogs etc. Its just annoying. I think a true AFL fan should help out on the next one.

Ahh Gia doesn;t line up at full back for the dogs in this game .... and try the computer forum.

it makes me angry how poor it is, the goal umpires have shorts on. lol. (and thats just from watching the add). You will not buy a better sports game the madden 06 (NFL). I buy that because the off season and trading etc is a lot like AFL so i enjoy it.

If AFL live eventually becomes 1/5 of what madden is i will buy it and im sure i will love it. In other words u will have more fun paying Madden then u will playing AFL, madden is so realistic and is exactly the same as the AFL system. SOOO REALISTIC!!!

tdubfleet said:
Love the ad, a black Nathan Brown rucking for Melbourne, goal umpires in shorts. Will not be surprised if it was a lemon.

Just buy a sesond hand Nintendo NES and get the footy game, classic......Out of bounds, on the full :D
The 2003 version is so easy to win that I have to select a team of all the reserves players, put the short players like schneids and crouch in the ruck and FFs and put the ruckman as the onballers and centers/wingers.

A video game disaster.

I stupidly bought AFL Live 2004 and still have not been able to fully come to terms with just how insanely crap it is.
Looks like no improvements have been made?

tdubfleet said:

haha mate i remember that game! that was the most annoying thing. funny now though

.M a t t. said:
Ahh Gia doesn;t line up at full back for the dogs in this game .... and try the computer forum.

Ok I got that wrong. And sorry about putting it in this forum but who really cares...its AFL.

tdubfleet said:

Haha, I saw that and I was like "...hang on a second. Browny isnt an aborigine"

The AFL games are colletively the worst group of games that I've ever had the misfortune to play.

TheTigersReallyGreat said:
Its a shame that they cant get to the standard of Madden or NBA. They are slowly improving though, I have a good feeling about 2020.

they don't have the millions of dollars EA throws at Madden every year though.

Munga said:
AFL 97 with Bruce McAvaney, there's nothing better. The NES version is a classic too.
I think you mean AFL 98. Twas a good game.

The latest version looks crap even on the ad which isn't a good sign.

AFL 99 kicks the ******** out of AFL 98 though.

BTW - If the draft was realistic, do you reckon it would gain the liking of its target audience, kids. I hate it aswell, but seriously, it is a video game, not a management game, and if people couldn't have a 2005 All-Australian side in the year 2008 then the franchise mode would suck for there audience. Think in another perspective.

ripitup27 said:
stop sooking about the game.
how bad is the game play?
who cares what player has hair and which players don't, they could fix the trading part, but it's still a young game. remember what NBA live 95 was like.

the trading is so ********. i was adelaide, and i asked west coast what they would like for chris judd, they said my pick 26 in the draft, so i happily accepted chris judd!

94_Eagles said:
Nup, '98 was definately better.

I gotta sa, i liked the saving the replays. I just changed the teams at the single game menu, went to the replay, and got the great goal to be kicked by Collingwood instead of Richmond...if you get me.

I bend the AFL 98 cd in half, don't ask why, i can't ********ing remember.

AFL Playstation game 2005