Aflq News Part 2

Shit there are some good players leaving Victoria to go and play in the AFLQ competition!! Aspley must have signed a dozen guys from Victoria.

Question for a few of you locals, what's the attraction that's grabbing so many of them - money, lifestyle or is Gold Coast AFL team a factor?

Going to be good for the AFLQ competition anyway, should see the standard continue to improve.

Shit there are some good players leaving Victoria to go and play in the AFLQ competition!! Aspley must have signed a dozen guys from Victoria.

Question for a few of you locals, what's the attraction that's grabbing so many of them - money, lifestyle or is Gold Coast AFL team a factor?

Going to be good for the AFLQ competition anyway, should see the standard continue to improve.

$1200 per game. Aspley is a long way from the Gold Coast.

Nah, I shouldve been more specific. I meant in terms of playing in South East Queensland with the hope that perhaps they might be under the nose of the Gold Coast Recruiters more often?

I reckon the real benefit is for those playing on the gold coast. (ie Broady, Southport an Labrador). Southport pump heaps into GC and the Labrador coach works closely with and knows bluey and all the GC coaches really well.

I've got no idea why all the O & M player links with Aspley? Maybe one or two signed and the ball got rolling. If it is for $$, fair enough I say....if you've got it you may aswell spend it!!!!

Hopefully a good close comp this year. I reckon NT will he very hard to beat. Great recruits and 12 home games, look out.

you can't say the reason all o & m players who have signed with aspley have relocated for money the o & m offer way more coin

Do you have a suggestion why then? It is becoming quite a mystery!
No mystery if Aspley was first to work out the O & M was ripe for it. Perhaps lifestyle and career opportunities in SEQ were always attractive and the opportunity to help grow a new state league club was all the extra motivation it took - along with some pocket money thrown in for good measure?

As much as I hate to admit it BigFooty Buddies, life's not always about Footy, Meat Pies and Match Payments!:confused:

No mystery if Aspley was first to work out the O & M was ripe for it. Perhaps lifestyle and career opportunities in SEQ were always attractive and the opportunity to help grow a new state league club was all the extra motivation it took - along with some pocket money thrown in for good measure?

Let me reiterate 'good on Aspley' but they definitely aren't the first state league club to try and pick the eyes out of the o & m. Help build the club maybe but I reckon that would be a distant 2nd to the 'pocket money'.

You misread me 'BlackDog' - not having a chop. Just agreeing with 'chb' re o&m (and others) having more coin. On that basis it doesn't seem pocket money is #1.

In any case, I agree - good on Aspley. As the sole state league team north of the river now, it looks like they're trying to catch up to where Eagles were - making sure there's attractive football on offer for the local fans. Not an easy task one year in.

Personally looking forward to watching Goodes on Shir, Shattock/Notting on Carpenter etc etc. Can only be good for grass roots footy.

You misread me 'BlackDog' - not having a chop. Just agreeing with 'chb' re o&m (and others) having more coin. On that basis it doesn't seem pocket money is #1.

In any case, I agree - good on Aspley. As the sole state league team north of the river now, it looks like they're trying to catch up to where Eagles were - making sure there's attractive football on offer for the local fans. Not an easy task one year in.

Personally looking forward to watching Goodes on Shir, Shattock/Notting on Carpenter etc etc. Can only be good for grass roots footy.

you won't have too travel up too friggin maroochydore this year to see that. thank god

Anybody got an idea about the whole Aspley - O&M league link?? Seems the majority of their recruits are coming out of this league

Not sure what role the bloke has at Aspley but Mark Perkins used to play for Myrtleford in the O and M.Maybe he has touched base with a few old teammates and got on to the better players that way.Keep ur eye on Carpenter is an absolute gun!!

Wow – it’s all happening at the moment in the QAFL!

The website has been full of many of the changes to team lists, the new recruits, the departures and the transfers.

All good stuff and it seems that there should be another significant lift in the QAFL standard of footy being played. Really looking forward to the start of the 2010 season.

Getting some good information from the various clubs via Facebook sites as well, although apparently some think that the Bigfooty forum is bagging them (read Hornets :D)

Just for the record I have been a regular poster about Aspley and am not putting it on the playing group - old or new. What I don’t understand why they continually defend a culture which has seen them lose or miss out on a number of former Qld Rep players since their elevation to State League. Not attracting some of these is a problem, but actually having Tapp, Argus, and Hill leave to play for other clubs in the same comp should be disturbing for any club. It’s fine if they want to play somewhere else, but why were they dissatisfied. Some blame the 2009 Coaching staff, but that’s crap because they aren’t there anymore.

Surely finding a way to keep those players, plus I believe Forbes and Panaho haven’t been seen yet would be far cheaper than heading off to Country Victoria to recruit. Finally though, congrats to Russ Harding and his team for actually attracting some real quality to Graham Road – I expect them to be very competitive in 2010.

As for the others, it looks as if the Panthers will be thereabouts again with few losses of major impact and a few good gains. Southport will always find a way to fill any gaps they have and would be smarting at going out in the Prelim last year. Labrador will make up ground if all their recruits fire, looking forward to seeing the Spider, they will miss Doering. The Vultures will be buoyed by the return of Evans and Turton, plus a good range of recruits. Redland have done a great job with the ex-Lions players but will they recover from the loss of Eagle & White, plus the mental scars of their 2009 finals campaign? The Thunder appear to be struggling under the pressure from local clubs to have players in the local comp. The loss of MacFarlane will test them, but the addition of Goodes will help. Broadie look like they may be in for a tough year and the Magpies have really only lost Ben H-R and it should be interesting to see how Zantuck goes, but they are coming from a long way behind.

Early form for ladder.

Sharks
Panthers
Tigers
Vultures
Bombers
Hornets
Cats
Pies

Wow – it’s all happening at the moment in the QAFL!

The website has been full of many of the changes to team lists, the new recruits, the departures and the transfers.

All good stuff and it seems that there should be another significant lift in the QAFL standard of footy being played. Really looking forward to the start of the 2010 season.

Getting some good information from the various clubs via Facebook sites as well, although apparently some think that the Bigfooty forum is bagging them (read Hornets :D)

Just for the record I have been a regular poster about Aspley and am not putting it on the playing group - old or new. What I don’t understand why they continually defend a culture which has seen them lose or miss out on a number of former Qld Rep players since their elevation to State League. Not attracting some of these is a problem, but actually having Tapp, Argus, and Hill leave to play for other clubs in the same comp should be disturbing for any club. It’s fine if they want to play somewhere else, but why were they dissatisfied. Some blame the 2009 Coaching staff, but that’s crap because they aren’t there anymore.

Surely finding a way to keep those players, plus I believe Forbes and Panaho haven’t been seen yet would be far cheaper than heading off to Country Victoria to recruit. Finally though, congrats to Russ Harding and his team for actually attracting some real quality to Graham Road – I expect them to be very competitive in 2010.

As for the others, it looks as if the Panthers will be thereabouts again with few losses of major impact and a few good gains. Southport will always find a way to fill any gaps they have and would be smarting at going out in the Prelim last year. Labrador will make up ground if all their recruits fire, looking forward to seeing the Spider, they will miss Doering. The Vultures will be buoyed by the return of Evans and Turton, plus a good range of recruits. Redland have done a great job with the ex-Lions players but will they recover from the loss of Eagle & White, plus the mental scars of their 2009 finals campaign? The Thunder appear to be struggling under the pressure from local clubs to have players in the local comp. The loss of MacFarlane will test them, but the addition of Goodes will help. Broadie look like they may be in for a tough year and the Magpies have really only lost Ben H-R and it should be interesting to see how Zantuck goes, but they are coming from a long way behind.

Early form for ladder.

Sharks
Panthers
Tigers
Vultures
Bombers
Hornets
Cats
Pies

Tapp - left as Thunder were able to secure a job at one of the Radio stations for his girlfriend.
Argus - everyone at the club know why he has left nothing to with the football side of things!
Hill not sure.

At the end of the day those who have gone have gone, if they don't want to play with a club who cares - MOVE ON! Aspley club has and have they have recruited extremely well.

Well done to Perko and Russell.

Sharks
Panthers
Tigers
Vultures
Bombers
Hornets
Cats
Pies

For "Since their elevation to State League" read "ONE year". Fair go! Without knowing what went on inside the club, anyone with half a brain knows that elevation to the top league (footy or business) requires adapting a long entrenched history and culture to a new and very different environment. Besides, if it's that ordinary, how did they attract Harding from Mt Gravatt in the first place?

Here we go again -everyone being defensive.

So it's fine that Tapp, Argus, Hill (add Cadzow & others) walk out. As an Aspley member who sees most home games I think I have the right to ask these questions.

No question that Harding has done well - I acknowledge that, but Argus is a long term Aspley person, I'm sure Tapp left because he was not happy, the bonus for him was he got an offer with NT.

Why can't someone make an honest assesment of what's not quite right?

There is a bunch of very good recruits this year, but if the structure isn't right then they might not stay and a short term fix is the result.

Just asking the questions!

So it's fine that Tapp, Argus, Hill (add Cadzow & others) walk out.

No question that Harding has done well - I acknowledge that, but Argus is a long term Aspley person, I'm sure if Tapp left because he was not happy.

There is a bunch of very good recruits this year, but if the structure isn't right then they might not stay and a short term fix is the result.

Just asking the question!

Fair call Oddball. Time will tell. Seems that some don't want to give time and with the second year only just starting, it's a fair bet to say the structure isn't right yet. Money can't buy that.

Probably got to consider that the Eagles have not long gone. The guys that went across may have been hoping for things to be just like the Eagles. that was never going to happen regardless of what culture the Hornets had.

AFLQ's attitude to NT will also be interesting. The NT team was put in the league to showcase NT talent and give the talented players a better ride into the AFL. How does taking current AFLQ players from Qld clubs and potentially putting locals out of a position work with that?

Actually, that's a good point. Maybe the lack of support from local NT clubs has forced the Thunder's hand - but you're right they too could be filling their team with 'short-term' players which I agree is not the future of their club.

if tapp argus and hill wanted too go, i couldn't give a stuff. good on the the club for going out and recruiting some good players, all clubs need new recruits every year.

early ladder prediction for me

siders. still have the best all round list in the comp by a country mile
vultures
southport. team gelling together might be their downdall
labrador. forget about spider. they have a good list
nt

So it's fine that Tapp, Argus, Hill (add Cadzow & others) walk out. As an Aspley member who sees most home games I think I have the right to ask these questions.

No question that Harding has done well - I acknowledge that, but Argus is a long term Aspley person, I'm sure Tapp left because he was not happy, the bonus for him was he got an offer with NT.

Just asking the questions!

tapp left to enhance his draft /rookie chances, hes been sold on the idea he will get more exposure playing for NT. good luck to him hes a good kid.
Argus, same idea, dont like his chances
Hill, shultz note sure. are they in the vultures best 22??? time will tell
matthews, travel committment too much with a newborn, fair enough
Cadzow lol... give us a break
if the problem was with the football department, they have been replaced. and we must rememebr they were all ex zillmere ;). i still believe a lot were dissapointed in getting thrashed most weeks, which i understand, but that wont happen this year. hope this has helped with some of your concrern oddball.
ladder
panthers
sharks
nt
vultures
aspley ;)

How will Redlands cater for the loss of White especially? Eagle might have kicked 80 but Whites 30 and his work around the ground was invaluable. Do they have anyone to take his place in the middle?

Where are all of the GC boys playing this year there will be a few missing out everyweek and they all can't play for southport!