List Mgmt. Aisho Going Elsewhere

• Thread starter Thread starter mike123

Will be pleased if we can land Treloar and Aish. What a bonaza trade period that would be for the Pies!

The best part out of all of this for me is the fact that Collingwood is the club of choice for up and coming young guns :thumbsu:

Its creating a horrible culture.
So much this.

When you're flagging in the AFL dregs, the first thing you'd want to do is secure some talented players who want to be there all pulling in the same direction toward a common goal. Forcing people to play there as a restraint of trade is going to be counterproductive.

Do you like my avatar Adam ;)
Soz, couldn't see it on the Android earlier on. Loving it.
Wish I could change my name to PicaBoO
And you remind me of this

Let's be clear.

Aish or his manager are under no obligation to speak to any other clubs or submit to a medical.

Hell he can go back overseas if he wants.

This strategy worked with Ball and I doubt a club in this day and age with so much going on in terms of personality profiling and the like prior to a draft would entertain using a 1st or 2nd round pick on a player they've never even met with prior to taking him.

Aish by staying out of reach and not willng to entertain offers from rival clubs will send a clear message of where he wants to end up and importantly will not be breaking any rules.

Of to get my red card........see you all in the afterlife!

Yes it's petty but "they did it first" :D

Don't need to go there with the sick relative/dad joke.

You choose your path and I'll choose mine...and i promise not to criticise you if you post that you like to dress up in women's clothing...

btw 5 people have liked the post and popularity is very important at BF...

Why do you think Aish nominated Collingwood?

I was walking past Leigh Matthews' office last week when he was meeting with Aish ...

Aish: "G'Day Leigh, got a moment for a chat?"

Matthews: "Sure, what's this about?"

Aish: "I'm looking for a bit of career advice"

Matthews: "What kind of advice?"

Aish: "Well, I've always looked up to you and seen you as a mentor"

Matthews: "Oh, happy to help you in any way I can"

Aish: "Well, I'd really like to be like you Leigh, to achieve what you've achieved"

Matthews: "Well, it took a little bit of hard work and a lot of luck"

Aish: "But there's something that I really admire about you Leigh, a special something that you've achieved, and I really really want that for myself, more than anything in this world"

Matthews: "What's that James?"

Aish: "Help win a Premiership for Collingwood :D "

Matthews: :mad: :mad: :mad:

I completely understand Brisbane not wanting to get reamed again in a trade but coming out and blatantly refusing to trade before even knowing what is on the table just shows how badly that club is run. Surely even their supporters would want a trade looked at first? If they feel they are getting screwed (like we will with Freeman) by all means send him to the draft, but you have to have some common sense.

They're basically telling every kid in the country that if you come to us you're stuck here or you'll go back in the draft again. Doesn't exactly scream great environment.

Really does go to show that without a $1m salary cap advantage they are the most irrelevant excuse for a football club going around.

What's worse for them is that they will trade for him, Aish will end up with us and they will come out looking even weaker.. They will say 'our hardline stance got us fair value for him' but the truth is it makes no difference to what we'll offer (not dissimilar to our stupid statement on Beams last year).

You choose your path and I'll choose mine...and i promise not to criticise you if you post that you like to dress up in women's clothing...

btw 5 people have liked the post and popularity is very important at BF...
Good for you. Carry on being a dick.

First they ask for a compensation pick and then don't want to bother trading for a player who wants out. That club is fcuked up properly.

I think this year in the national draft will be the first time you see a top 10 draft choice cry in sorrow on stage when he gets picked up by the Lions.

Soz, couldn't see it on the Android earlier on. Loving it.
Wish I could change my name to PicaBoO
And you remind me of this

JordO DeGoGos favourite song

Let's be clear.

Aish or his manager are under no obligation to speak to any other clubs or submit to a medical.

Hell he can go back overseas if he wants.

This strategy worked with Ball and I doubt a club in this day and age with so much going on in terms of personality profiling and the like prior to a draft would entertain using a 1st or 2nd round pick on a player they've never even met with prior to taking him.

Aish by staying out of reach and not willng to entertain offers from rival clubs will send a clear message of where he wants to end up and importantly will not be breaking any rules.
Make him put a price of 600k on his head for 1 year. After that year sign him for 100k for the next 2..

I think this is all posturing from Brisbane in order to extract a better deal. I can't imagine why any club would cut off its own nose to spite its face like this.

Brisbane needs to ask itself why players are getting homesick all of a sudden. When they were a successful, well run organisation in the early 2000's it's amazing that this homesickness epidemic wasn't a big issue. Currently, there are clearly huge cultural issues at the club with a potential rift among players and between the playing group and the coaching staff. This should be a chance for the club to reflect on what it isn't providing to these young men that makes them want to seek opportunities at other clubs. They didn't have a problem doing this with Dayne Beams when they offered him a significant pay increase.

If Brisbane want to change their culture they have to do it from within. A well run club would not isolate all potential draftees by threatening to hold them hostage for 4 years. It would also not stubbornly refuse to attempt to improve their list through the draft out of false principle or pride. Blaming the AFL or free agency as a whole does nothing to address the real problems with the club. Until they address the real issues within their club, they frankly deserve this exodus.

Another quote from afl website-shows difference between a club that knows this is a business industry and will try and do what is best for the club vs a club that just wants to sook! At least not all ex lions are unreasonable dooche bags..Leppo and Matthews take a leaf out of your old mates book!

"Ashcroft said the club would try and help Smith get to Geelong after he nominated the Cats as the club of his choice.

He also confirmed that Daniel Gorringe would likely move on from the Suns after playing just two matches this season.

Ashcroft said the club would try and facilitate a move back to South Australia after Gorringe failed to get to Port Adelaide last year."

Of to get my red card........see you all in the afterlife!

Yes it's petty but "they did it first" :D
I see you took one for the team. Thanks.

It's funny how it changes when the shoe is on the other foot. Brisbane carried on like complete tools this time last year, but now someone wants out from their club and is out of contract, they crack the sads. Got news for you Brisbane.....this trade is happening, you are in a no win situation if you let him walk to the draft. Grow up and start doing the best deal you can for your football club!

The AFL really is a long way behind soccer in terms of trading players. If we are going to allow players to change clubs it needs to be an easier process. Players have the right to choose where they prefer to play. It is up to the clubs to make themselves into destinations where players want to go.

Just watching an interview with Cahill in the lead up to the Socceroos game and he is basically playing in China because he has a clothing range to flog there. He is literary an advertisement.