Joe-time

Dallas Cowboys, Orlando Magic
I was just reading/thinking/watching Petey Daicos. I'm 20, so I don't remember a hell of a lot about him, but I do have some very vague memories around the end of his career. Anyway, this got me thinking about Bucks. I almost remember all of his time at the Pies, well, the majority. This kind of made me a little disappointed. Every time I watched him play, I knew he was brilliant, spectacular, as close to completely well rounded as possible. All of the superlatives imaginable and more. Then it sort of hit me and I realised what I had done. I think I took his brilliance for granted. Don't get me wrong, the last season or so (since the injuries started) I watched him knowing it was nearing the end, and tried to take as much of it in as possible. But when he was playing, I just expected his extreme talent, I didn't actually savour it. Much similar to Daicos for me, After it was sort of all over is really when I started to actually take it in. Anyway, to get to the title. Here is my pledge and my plea: I am NOT going to take one of the most extrovertly amazing, sheer exhilirating enjoyment giver's presence and performances for granted. Alan Didak, for me and I'm sure for many others, is an absolutely incredible talent, who gives me more joy than I think I realise or give him credit for. Anyway, I pledge that I will not take this for granted anymore. I will savour these moments and truly engage in them. My plea is that you do the same, whether it be Diddy, Leon, Daisy or Burns. Because these moments don't come around forever.

Here is my pledge and my plea: I am NOT going to take one of the most extrovertly amazing, sheer exhilirating enjoyment giver's presence and performances for granted. Alan Didak, for me and I'm sure for many others, is an absolutely incredible talent, who gives me more joy than I think I realise or give him credit for. Anyway, I pledge that I will not take this for granted anymore. I will savour these moments and truly engage in them. My plea is that you do the same, whether it be Diddy, Leon, Daisy or Burns. Because these moments don't come around forever.

Beautifully worded, Joe, and so true. And all of these moments put together amount to a lifetime of premierships.

How's that coming along?:P

Dude, why would you choose 'Andrew Maher' as your username? It's like selecting Big-Noting Obsequious ____wit as your handle. So what gives?

Unless you are actually Andrew Maher...

In which case, welcome.

And... you really piss me off. ________.

I'm 37.

For the last 15 years Bucks has been a true legend of the game. Tireless, immaculate skills, an amazing long kick and always looking to lift his team .... the thing that really stood out for me was that he was rarely beaten in a contest ....

..... however, none of what Bucks has done can compare to what I felt watching Daics. Daicos could turn a game with a few touches, he was a player who had you holding your breath when he got the ball, throwing your record on the ground when he achieved the impossible and always believing. Many forget his best years were as a midfielder who could weave his way out of anything and deliver a pinpoint pass onto the chest of a leading forward.

If any of the current players can make half the impression these two guys made I'll be a very happy maggie.

I saw a lot of Daicos. I'm 29 and remember him well, I grew up knowing him as a family friend and just sat in orr of how much people loved him.
I cried my eyes out when he did his knee, I had a kick with him, he once showed me how to make the ball bounce like that I was about 6 or 7.

As for watching Bucks I'll never forget watching him take the pies apart in his one year at Brisbane, we all sat there laughing about how well he'll fit into our side next year. We were behind the goals at the Gabba that day.

I've seen like most of you a lot of Didak, he has more skill than Daicos, he can do things that no one would ever dream of, but Daicos did it all the time. Heard a Robbo on SEN yesterday say "That if Collingwood were down by 3 goals, you'll get Daicos the ball 4 times and he'll win you the game by a goal"

Whenever Didak gets the ball I just feel comfertable in the knowledge that something good is going to happen. It is how I felt whenever Buckley got the ball. I feel the same way this season when Leon gets the ball anywhere near or inside 50, I just get ready to stand up and go nuts.

I've seen like most of you a lot of Didak, he has more skill than Daicos, he can do things that no one would ever dream of, but Daicos did it all the time. Heard a Robbo on SEN yesterday say "That if Collingwood were down by 3 goals, you'll get Daicos the ball 4 times and he'll win you the game by a goal"

I reckon you'll get an argument on that bit.

Whenever Didak gets the ball I just feel comfertable in the knowledge that something good is going to happen. It is how I felt whenever Buckley got the ball. I feel the same way this season when Leon gets the ball anywhere near or inside 50, I just get ready to stand up and go nuts.
memories of that adelaide game. down by less than a goal. seconds left on the clock. boundary throw in after boundary throw it, you could feel the game slipping away as adelaide kept holding up play. next throw in, ball comes to buckley. boot to ball. travels 50+ meters onto the chest of a leading tarrant.

god how we miss his class...

bucks was an inspiration. how to get the best out of yourself, how to give 110%, not just every now and then but every single bloody time.

Daicos is my all time favourite player and thought we would never see his like again. Didak is the closest version we will ever find but he is no Daicos (yet anyway).

The similarities are body shape - stumpy little legs and low centre of gravity which gives them great balance, evasion, ability to produce something out of nothing and freaky foot skills. Daicos however could kick right or left, he was a natural right footer but at the end of his career (as a forward) kicked a lot of set shots with his left. They both play midfield but at most dangerous forward.

Buckley is a completely different player - he was a clinical, technically perfect footballer and a leader.

Daicos is my all time favourite player and thought we would never see his like again. Didak is the closest version we will ever find but he is no Daicos (yet anyway).

The similarities are body shape - stumpy little legs and low centre of gravity which gives them great balance, evasion, ability to produce something out of nothing and freaky foot skills. Daicos however could kick right or left, he was a natural right footer but at the end of his career (as a forward) kicked a lot of set shots with his left. They both play midfield but at most dangerous forward.

Buckley is a completely different player - he was a clinical, technically perfect footballer and a leader.

When Dids is 33, has had a few knee problems and played another 150 odd games he may be lot more like Daics. Time is the only measure.
They will never be the same player but may well be remembered together as the same type of Collingwood legend.

I am so very, very extremely gutted...
I can't describe how much importance I place on honesty in my own life and surroundings. When I heard about all this...

I am just so sad.

Poignant bump Joe.

But we all love the guernsey more than the wearer's at the end of the day and if something has to end to get us closer to seeing 22 of those guernsey's on the Premiership dias, that my friend is true utopia and nothing should stand in the way of us returning there.

Believe me when I say this, as soon as you see it for yourself you will know I spoke no lies. :)

Lothie, I believe you now! Just cannot wait to see it myself.
Realistically, it shouldn't mean as much as the carry on that's circulating. But who are we kidding? That jumper means so much more to us than some people will ever realise.
Like the rest of you guys I just breathe and bleed this club. I'm all for making mistakes and learning from them too.
Problem is I just can't buy into the party towlines or my own explanations. I accept everything that has happened, and try not to judge.
Fact is I can't help feeling so... gutted. Just wanna escape the feeling. It's smothering/engulfing me. So.... gutted.

Say it with me now guys

"If Alan Didak is committed, than so am I"

Look, the more i think about it, the more i would hate it if we let this man go.

His history with trouble is way overrated. He is nowhere near the trouble maker that ben cousins was or fevola is for example. All of his previous mistakes, none of them were illegal, some were just bad judgements, and they were only made into a big deal becase of that ****en media. The herald sun had 17 pages dedicated to this issue. what a ****in absolute disgrace.

Danny Jacobs from the Hawks a few years ago did a similar thing, got caught drink driving and lied about it to his club. No-one said boo. Yet because someone from collingwood has done it, the whole nation comes to a stop.

Lets not let the media coerce us into making a brash decision.

Didak wants to remain at collingwood. time and time again he shows his commitment. Last year he signed that no misbehavior clause and apparantely followed it to a tee. Yes he recently signed a new contract and he derailed a little bit. doesnt mean we ship him off. plus what daicos said was right, every other club would have him. now what can the other clubs do to turn around didak that we cant??

the guy is 25 and playing the best footy of his career and will get better.

Plus, noone has said it yet, but the reason he even lied in the first place, was out of fear of getting into trouble, because he desperately wants to stay at collingwood!!! yes, i know that if he wanted to stay at the pies so bad he wouldnt have got himself into this situation, well now he has the rest of the season to reflect and make amends.

Sorry for the scattered thoughts everybody

but if we let go of Didak I will be heartbroken (unless he doesnt want to commit to staying a pie).

This will make him stronger. Just you watch.

Good post joe-time, by the way

It's pretty rare that a CFC Supporter will give kudos to Collingwood, but after you owned WCE at Subi in teh finals last year......being there with your mob was awesome.

My problem with Didak is not so much the stupid little things he has done. ITs te lack of ownership and character he has shown when he did them. He bulSh1tted his way through last years comical events and made himself look like a total D!ck. He did not face up to what he did until people provided evidence. You would have thought he would have learnt from this.

What he did this weak showed me that he is a spinless, gutless selfish person. One of very weak character. Why you may ask?

Heath Shaws initial actions were far worse than Didak but what Didak did to hang Heath out to dry makes me very angry. Instead of taken ownership and putting his hand up he has lied to protect himself and let Shaw take the fall. Shaw had nothing to gain and everything to lose by lying to the club. Shaw faced up to everything he did, he excepted he was an idiot but trying to do the right thing by his mate he is now in a position where his season is over and his career at his beloved football club is on the ropes. I am not defending shaws actions as he was an idiot but I have no doubt he had nothing but good intentions in lying. He was protecting a mate. To me mates dont put there mates in that position, they dont put there mates in a position where they could make matters alot worse for themselves. Didak after last years incidents would have known this and yet the gutless wonder still let shaw do this. I am pretty confident most of Didaks teamates would be feeling the same way.

I love to watch Didak play for the pies but I starting to questions if his weakness(his character) outway his strengths and I would be happy to see him traded. If he does go I will hate watching him carve sides including ours up because I know he will. But sometimes you have to make a stand and this is the time.

I would not be happy if they got rid of the shaw boys as everyone deserves a second chance.

"If Alan Didak is committed, then so am I"

Committed has two meanings...better watch out which one you are....lol
You are a Collingwood supporter and it could be argued we should all be "committed" :D:D:D