All things Politics

It is recognised that this is a fraught topic for any number of you posting here. Some of you will have family in Israel or Palestine. Some of you will have connections to either side of the conflict. What you need to understand is that this site has rules governing posting standards and the appropriate way to talk to other posters, and you will abide by them.

How this interacts with this thread is that the following will result in your post being deleted, with a recurrence of the same behaviour resulting in (depending on severity) a threadban for a week and a day off:
  • direct labelling of someone as anti-semitic or a terrorist sympathiser for posting that is merely critical of Israel's response over time. Israel has the right to defend themselves from violence, but that does not mean that Israel has carte blanche to attack disproportionately towards people under their care.
  • deliberate goading or flippant responses, designed to get people reacting to your posting emotionally.
  • abuse.
  • attempts to turn this into a Left vs Right shitfight.
  • Use the word 'Nazi' in here, you had better be able to justify it in the post you're making and the comparison had better be apt. Godwin's law is in full effect for the purposes of this thread; if you refer to Nazis, you've lost whatever argument you're involved in.
  • Any defense of Hamas' actions on the basis of justification. There's no justification for genocide, regardless of whether or not they have the power to do so.
Please recognise that this is a difficult time for all involved, and some level of sensitivity is absolutely required to permit discussion to flow. From time to time, mods will reach out to specific posters and do some welfare checks; we may even give posters who get a bit too involved some days off to give people some time to cool down. This is not a reflection on you as a poster, merely that this is an intense subject.

I get that this is a fairly intense topic about which opinion can diverge rather significantly. If you feel you cannot be respectful in your disagreement with another poster, it is frequently better to refuse to engage than it is to take up the call.

From this point, any poster who finds themselves directly insulting another poster will find themselves receiving a threadban and an infraction, with each subsequent reoccurance resulting in steadily more points added to your account.

It has also become apparent that this needs to be said: just because someone moderates this forum that does not hold them to a different standard of posting than anyone else. All of us were posters first, and we are allowed to hold opinions on this and share them on this forum.

Treat each other with the respect each of you deserve.

Maggie5 Gone Critical Anzacday Jen2310

But these same issues existed in Russia in 1917. There was the question of religion (Christian Orthodox vs Judaism vs Islam- in the central and southern asian regions of the former Soviet Union, such as Georgia, Azerbaijan, Uzbekistan etc), and the question of national self determination for many populations of different ethnic backgrounds who had been suppressed by the Tsar. Yet the political program of the Bolsheviks (Lenin and Trotsky) found a way to unify all these nationalities and different religious groups in a unified struggle to overthrow the capitalist government, which had no alternative other than to continue the war.
You might want to read up on the Asian parts of the Soviet Union - the various stans. They had become Russian colonies in the 50 years or so before the revolution and Russia forced them into the Soviet Union where they were Russian controlled with increasing numbers of Russian settlers and enforced collectivism, resulting in hundreds of thousands of deaths in those areas from the impracticality and corruption of a centrally planned economy - and millions of deaths throughout the rest of the soviet union.

I wonder if these people think about the damage that they do to people back in gaza and the west bank, with moments of stupidity like this. And of course, we have the usual suspects coming out to use the incident to promote greater negativity towards palestinians. What's that footy truism of doing the same things and getting the same outcome?

israel has been terrorising palestinians in the west bank for years...now it intends to steal their money

"In addition, Israeli Finance Minister Bezalel Smotrich said he will stop transferring tax funds to the Palestinian Authority (PA). Israel, which occupies the West Bank illegally under international law, is required to transfer taxes collected from the Palestinian territory to the PA, which governs it."

it still wont ever happen but...

ISTANBUL (AP) — A top Hamas political official told The Associated Press the Islamic militant group is willing to agree to a truce of five years or more with Israel and that it would lay down its weapons and convert into a political party if an independent Palestinian state is established along pre-1967 borders.

I do not promote holocaust revisionism, that is a totral lie and slander, which is typical of Zionist propaganda.
I believe in the world socialism, in which all nation states will be abolished and the entire world population will have its needs fulfilled through a world planned economy.
The Palestinian and Israeli workers need to unite against both Hamas and the Israeli government. Likewise the Ukrainian and Russian workers need to unite against the Putin and zelensky governments. You are the one who is promoting horrific views.
Sounds like a kibbutz would suit you down to the ground. Almost.

I wonder if these people think about the damage that they do to people back in gaza and the west bank, with moments of stupidity like this. And of course, we have the usual suspects coming out to use the incident to promote greater negativity towards palestinians. What's that footy truism of doing the same things and getting the same outcome?

Don’t agree with the cause but it is a good looking cake

Wonder if they do it gluten free?

I can't wait to live in this communist utopia/Nirvana. Will Putin be running it.? I look forward to my gluten/plasma free cake. Some strange s**t being slung around here
You reckon you're getting cake?

Chinese workers were boiling up their shoes and eating the leather with a side serve of bark at the height of their centrally planned economy.

Putin’s no commie, I don’t think Xi Jinping is anymore these days, you might need to settle for JB1975
I think the call was for international socialism? Isn't that more about the community and less about a Dear Leader type.

Either way, the best commies/socialists of all are bees. And even then the Queen exploits the hell out of everyone else.

You reckon you're getting cake?

Chinese workers were boiling up their shoes and eating the leather with a side serve of bark at the height of their centrally planned economy.

Old mate could have won me over with the Nordic model but decided to go full Animal Farm.