KarmaGeddon

Suspended
Let me say this gently now.

It's all you doubting people that say we aren't going to make it for 2-3 years that are responsible for games like this.

Reality: Spirit is strength and too many people keep ignoring that.

If you are a looser in life stop supporting Carlton. We will win TODAY not tomorrow!!!

Hello wake up morons.

It's all you doubting people that say we aren't going to make it for 2-3 years that are responsible for games like this.

If you are a looser in life stop supporting Carlton. We will win TODAY not tomorrow!!!

Hello wake up morons.

I actually thought it might have had something to do with Geelong being far too god for us. Silly me. :rolleyes:

I think that I was in the same boat as you were HBF...

remember, there is no spoon...

Well... not this year :P

Hello wake up morons.
So because of what some supporters say, that is somehow responsible for how we performed on the field tonight?

And using that theory, if everyone had talked up our chances, does that mean we would have kicked Geelong's proverbial?

Wow, the power we hold. :p :thumbsu:

The game we played was an absolute shocker. I can not beleive how insipid our performance was tonight. It was like watching the blues of the last couple of years. All it was was cats players running around by themselves all night and we let them do it, What happenend to manning up its just about the first thing your taught in footy. It shows our severe lack of foot speed in the midfield and to me it is very worrying because that is where we got carved up tonight. I can not see us winning a gf in the next few years coz we do not have the speed and skills like the other teams have and we have players that are not good enough for afl footy and please dont go on about how young our side is coz our side aint that much younger than other sides and it is not a given that our young players are gonna be any good god help us if they turn out duds like most of the players we recruit, Carazzo must just about be the worst kick in the league setanta shouldnt be there will hampson get any better coz he aint up to standard, and i reckon judds groins are f***ed coz he looks as slow as stevo weve only got one genuine goalkicker and hes forever double teamed oh shit im gonna stop whinging now but this is my opinion so dont get stuck into me coz this is all true.

Take a breath!!

Should;ve taken a walk around the block before typing this one. I am as disappointed as any but I wouldn't be pencilling blame on a few that you picked on. Judd was our best (how many hard ball gets does this guy rack up?) and although Carrazzo, Hampson and Setanta were ordinary what about Fisher, Wiggins, Gibbs, etc.

Poor all round effort but we'll be better for the game. Hopefully they'll study guys like Bartel, Corey, Ablett, etc. and emulate some of their work.

Should;ve taken a walk around the block before typing this one. I am as disappointed as any but I wouldn't be pencilling blame on a few that you picked on. Judd was our best (how many hard ball gets does this guy rack up?) and although Carrazzo, Hampson and Setanta were ordinary what about Fisher, Wiggins, Gibbs, etc.

Poor all round effort but we'll be better for the game. Hopefully they'll study guys like Bartel, Corey, Ablett, etc. and emulate some of their work.

Yeah judd was pretty good but when it comes open play he looks like hes runnin like hes just gotten out of bed he doesnt look right. y'know they have started to look good and the they put in a performance like this. It is just so frustrating.

It's because we stick with guys in the midfield who aren't up to it like Bentick and Carrazo. No support. They try hard but just aren't good enough. Matty Hogg would've given them a flogging.

Hello wake up morons.
I'm not looser.

Moron.

It's because we stick with guys in the midfield who aren't up to it like Bentick and Carrazo. No support. They try hard but just aren't good enough. Matty Hogg would've given them a flogging.

Why didn't you just type that in the first place instead of giving that bit of reverse logic in your OP?

You have pretty much contradicted yourself too.

Sorry man, I don't get it. Please kindly clarify.

Well, on the one level you are basically saying that we are crap because of all the bad vibes then you go on to say that we rely too much on second-rate midfielders. I would suggest your second theory is closer to the mark.

When something is not quite right a side can be made to look a lot worse than they actually are. Alternatively; people close to a club can get caught up into believing that the club is a lot closer than it actually is.

You can’t just expect to be great just because you have had high draft picks. You have to pick the right players, hope that the particular drafts you have the picks in are good ones, and use your brains with other recruiting decisions - not to mention development. Carlton will not be a great team just because we will them to be.

Well, on the one level you are basically saying that we are crap because of all the bad vibes then you go on to say that we rely too much on second-rate midfielders. I would suggest your second theory is closer to the mark.

When something is not quite right a side can be made to look a lot worse than they actually are. Alternatively; people close to a club can get caught up into believing that the club is a lot closer than it actually is.

You can’t just expect to be great just because you have had high draft picks. You have to pick the right players, hope that the particular drafts you have the picks in are good ones, and use your brains with other recruiting decisions - not to mention development. Carlton will not be a great team just because we will them to be.

OK gotcha. I believe both. Our supporter group is attending the matches only believing we can beat Collingwood, Essendon and Richmond and HOPING we can beat everybody else.

My question is why don't we go into every game stating "We can beat them" regardless of any consequential disappointment or backlash.

On a secondary level, being the playing group (Belief and spirit comes first) why don't we pick potential over experience(ie: limited in talent players such as Bentick and Carrots??)

Do we want to go forward as a club or be tentative? That is my question.

OK gotcha. I believe both. Our supporter group is attending the matches only believing we can beat Collingwood, Essendon and Richmond and HOPING we can beat everybody else.

My question is why don't we go into every game stating "We can beat them" regardless of any consequential disappointment or backlash.

On a secondary level, being the playing group (Belief and spirit comes first) why don't we pick potential over experience(ie: limited in talent players such as Bentick and Carrots??)

Do we want to go forward as a club or be tentative? That is my question.

for starters with bentick and carrots.

Bentick was bog last week so of course he was going to be selected this week.

Carrots has been in fairly solid form over the last 3 weeks also, including the 40 odd poss he picked up against WC.

I completely understand what you are saying and feel your frustration when it comes to giving the young kids a go, as they have obviously got potential.

But its kinda a double edged sword mate.

One one hand......to give kids a go such as .... anderson, benjamin, austin aiske and co would be great for their experience.....

however on the other hand, it can be detremental to their development. It is one thing to have a very promising talented young list, but is another thing to make that list go from having loads of potential to being good/great. The only way to do this is to treat each individual kid differently. Some such as say murph, browne, jammo can fit straight into the seniors because

a. they have the build.
b. they are fast developers
c. naturally talented footballers

then there are the other players who are either been playing the game for a shorter amount of time, less skillful and less built and also more suited to a key position on the ground which means they need a couple of years to develop and fill out so that they can compete with the size of their opponents.

players i see in this category are

austin - not built to play afl yet
aisake - too raw
benjamin - too raw
army - only played the game fro a couple of years.

so as i said i completely agree with your frustration and i would love to see the kids all out there, but i think it is important to acknowlege that every player develops at a different speed and to force one player into senior football before they are ready would be detrimental to their careers. The vfl is there to allow them to undertake the appropriate apprentaship for afl level football.

Players such as bentick, carrots are in the side atm because

a. they have good form and warrant their selection, and
b. the guys under them in the bullants are not pushing hard enough to warrant selection..... excemption to this is phyf and anderson.

you could also say that bentick, carrats, wiggo and co are stop gap players at the moment and they will be shuffled out of the 22 when the time is appropriate.

for starters with bentick and carrots.

Bentick was bog last week so of course he was going to be selected this week.

Carrots has been in fairly solid form over the last 3 weeks also, including the 40 odd poss he picked up against WC.

you could also say that bentick, carrats, wiggo and co are stop gap players at the moment and they will be shuffled out of the 22 when the time is appropriate.

Reckon you are being a bit hard on AB and Carrots. Many people seem to think it is easy to get the pill as often as these two.

Would venture to say 80% of all AFL players have never been BOG and 99% of all AFL players have never had 40 possies, so these two might have something going for them (Carlton B&F, AFL leading tackler are a couple of things that spring to mind)