Andrew Demetriou ...... Your Time Is Up !!

OK Vlad, you've done a good job growing the business of the AFL. Money from TV rights and memberships is up. Apparently nobody tanks and nobody takes drugs, which is good to know. Well done. :thumbsu:

You also say the fans are the most important people in the game. That's nice to hear, even if I don't quite believe it. But, just like John Brumby, you are promising to stick around for another 3 years, so you still have time to convince me.

Now can you please turn your attention the integrity of the game. Can you please make sure every club has an equal opportunity to market themselves in popular time-slots? It might cost a few dollars but it will restore the confidence of the grassroots fans, which might actually help the game in the long-term.
Can you make sure the draw is fair? Can you attempt to protect the traditional clubs from the expansion clubs? Can you make sure the same salary cap / 3rd party rules apply to everyone? Can you ask the rules committee to leave the game alone? And can you please please please make sure the umpires and MRP act with consistency and fairness? That would certainly be in the best interests of the fans.

Thanks mate, that would be awesome. I reckon you'd deserve a payrise if you can do that. You must be nearly due for another one...:rolleyes:

Time to stop calling him Vlad.

Start calling him Vince McMahon.

Fixed draws, endless rule changes, new teams/characters no one really wanted, every decision made to increase TV audiences regardless of how illogical or unbelievable it is.

Who needs the WWF when you've got he AFL?

You know he is eventually going to run out in the middle of a Collingwood game with a mic and award the points to the other team, because a Collingwood player started seeing his daughter without his approval. Then Eddie will run down the aisles with a steel chair sneak up behind him and clobber him with it.

Vlad now thinks it's acceptable to meet with the major sponsor (Kia) of the Bombers and then come out and tell the other clubs to be quiet.

Seriously, this smells of an attempted cover-up of the highest order and for that reason alone, not forgetting all of the other issues raised in this thread ........................

It's Time To Go ............... VLAD !!!

AFL CEO Andrew Demetriou has accused rival clubs of spreading rumours and lies about the Essendon performance-enhancing drugs saga.
ESSENDON would still be enjoying performance-enhancing drug benefits if players took them last season, a leading athletics expert says.
As Essendon players prepare for next week's interviews with the Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority over the alleged use of illegal substances at the club last year, Demetriou said he knew for a "fact" that other clubs were actively seeking to discredit the Bombers.
The league boss described the circulated rumours, which centre on Essendon's 5-0 start to the season and the long-lasting benefits of performance-enhancing substance use, as "scurrelous" and he demanded the clubs stop.
"Absolutely they are (spreading rumours). I know that to be fact and it's got to stop," Demetriou said on 3AW.
"There appears to be a small group, particularly amongst our clubs, who are taking it upon themselves to put about scurrilous innuendo about the fact that the Essendon football club has won five games and are they getting an advantage?"
"I think this is really unfortunate, I think it's a byproduct of this running commentary and I don't think it is acceptable and it just might be that they've got some good players.
"It just might be that they've got some good tactics, it just might be that their coach is coaching well, they might actually just be playing well.
"The sooner some of our clubs, this is not all but a small few, stop this sort scurrilous mongering, the better because it's not doing anybody any good at all."
Demetriou said the clubs in question should put their efforts into winning games of football.
"They should focus on their own club. There is an investigation ongoing at moment with the Essendon Football Club, I would remind people, (that) they are fully cooperating with.
"They came forward, they're not running away, they are part of this, they know it's going to take a while and they need to let it run its course."
Demetriou's comments came after a leading athletics coach and an AFL sports science expert said if Essendon had used illegal substances last year, they would still be enjoying the fitness benefits during the 2013 season.

So the question is....if the fans really do own this game, and we all see through his bullshit and brand protection, how do we take the power back?

Social media campaigns?

A walk to AFL house?

Every 12 months, there seems to be a push for something to happen, and for fans to take some of this great game back.....yet nothing eventuates.

Fans won't boycott their teams, we know that. What are the other options?

Vlad now thinks it's acceptable to meet with the major sponsor (Kia) of the Bombers and then come out and tell the other clubs to be quiet.

Seriously, this smells of an attempted cover-up of the highest order and for that reason alone, not forgetting all of the other issues raised in this thread ........................

"Absolutely they are (spreading rumours). I know that to be fact and it's got to stop," Demetriou said on 3AW.
"There appears to be a small group, particularly amongst our clubs, who are taking it upon themselves to put about scurrilous innuendo about the fact that the Essendon football club has won five games and are they getting an advantage?"

So is he saying that illegal drugs do not give you an advantage?

The real question should be how many years until the affect of the drugs has worn off?

So that comment Demetriou made about James Hird stepping down was based on rumours? This whole investigation which is tarnishing the game is based on other clubs whispering behind Essendon's back?

Time for me to cancel my AFL membership me thinks and watch another sport that is more honest with itself. This guy has lost the plot.

And yet the game has never been more profitable. If any of those things listed hurt the game financially, sure he'd go in a flash. But chances are this will just help the AFL. Footy loves controversy.

Couldnt agree more its the old "any publicity is good publicity"theory.You only have to look at the shocking things that the RL had going on over the last few years and their crowds actually went up.

When it comes down to it, it is all about the money and the AFL has never been better off so why would you get rid of the CEO when things are so good

There are some whingers on here that always want to get rid of AD - be careful what you wish for!

Couldnt agr
And yet the game has never been more profitable. If any of those things listed hurt the game financially, sure he'd go in a flash. But chances are this will just help the AFL. Footy loves controversy.

Sorry Double post comp running slow as Im out of OZ

This is all code. Vlad is warning us - he is going to let Essendon off without penalty, so he wants us all to stop talking about it.

That's exactly what's going to happen but he'll have to impose some sort of 'penalty' as a warning to others and to appease ASADA.

The real question should be how many years until the affect of the drugs has worn off?

The point is that the drugs take a while to wear off, yes.

However whats more important is that the drugs allow you to set up an aerobic and muscle base through their use that you have forever.

That is why asada and wada and all that dont allow drug cheats to train with their club for two years when they get caught.

Vlad needs the sack...he has had control of the AFL in a period of such economic richness that failing would be impossible and yet he has failed.

He has covered up for clubs such as essendon, st kilda, norf (fiscally) and Melbourne time and again.

He has ruined our game and he has to go.

If these drugs are the reason why Essendon is 5-0 and take a while to wear off, then why were we extremely pathetic towards the end of 2012?

So the question is....if the fans really do own this game, and we all see through his bullshit and brand protection, how do we take the power back?

Social media campaigns?

A walk to AFL house?

Every 12 months, there seems to be a push for something to happen, and for fans to take some of this great game back.....yet nothing eventuates.

Fans won't boycott their teams, we know that. What are the other options?

Throw sticks and use harsh language?

Agreed...they are laying the groundwork to let them off scott free because to do otherwise would cost them cash in blockbuster games (and that, after all, is the reason we play footy). The articles the other day about Essendon players serving any suspensions over summer and Jobe Watson potentially being allowed to keep his Brownlow were also part of that. It's a disgrace iif that happens.