Andrew "Tex" Walker

I know nothing about Andrews performance on the weekend, but I do have a small question of my own...

Are the Ants playing this week, does anyone know? If so, you'd think Walks could get up for the Saints game.

I know nothing about Andrews performance on the weekend, but I do have a small question of my own...

Are the Ants playing this week, does anyone know? If so, you'd think Walks could get up for the Saints game.

If i'm not mistaken, the Ants are playing down in Tassie, and yes Tex will be playing that game.

His shoulder (and himself) pulled up fine after the game!

If i'm not mistaken, the Ants are playing down in Tassie, and yes Tex will be playing that game.

His shoulder (and himself) pulled up fine after the game!
Cheers mate, excellent news.:thumbsu:

I was the Bullants game and thought he played pretty good,he picked up 22 possies but his kicking was a bit rusty as previously stated,but considering how windy it was no one was realy hitting any targets!

He just looked so athletic compared to everyone else,still has that awsome pace and leap and willingness to get to the contest,his fitness looked pretty good to until the last qtr when he looked like he had blown up a bit,which is pretty good considering how long he has been out for!

The main thing i noticed was his hunger..he just looked really eager to be playing!!So i definitly think he will be playing against the saints..:thumbsu:

I'd hate to rain on everyone's parade, and I'd love to see Tex play vs Saints, but from what I understand his disposal was poor and he struggled at the end of the game despite playing up forward for a lot.

He has missed heaps of footy, and I'm not sure he will be in the best 22 come next week.

For skills and running (ATM) I'd still have Browne, Carrazzo, Russell and Grigg ahead of him.

With any luck he has blown out the cobwebs and this weekend he demands his spot in the ones by running in the midfield and hitting his targets, but he needs to earn it.

Who will he come in for?

The question is will he still rotate through the middle with all the other class in there? Maybe in the past we needed to do this as we had no Judd, Stevo injured and Muph/Gibbs both pretty new to the big time.

I personally would like him to just stay on the flank and possibily a run on the wing but having typed this I am thinking of one Eddie Betts that has been going in the middle so maybe he will. I love it when eddie goes in the guts, it just seems to lift us, what do you guys think?

When he comes back, where do you think he'll be played? As a backman, in the midfield, or perhaps be reinvented as a forward?

It'll be interesting to see where he is placed.

I'd hate to rain on everyone's parade, and I'd love to see Tex play vs Saints, but from what I understand his disposal was poor and he struggled at the end of the game despite playing up forward for a lot.

He has missed heaps of footy, and I'm not sure he will be in the best 22 come next week.

For skills and running (ATM) I'd still have Browne, Carrazzo, Russell and Grigg ahead of him.

With any luck he has blown out the cobwebs and this weekend he demands his spot in the ones by running in the midfield and hitting his targets, but he needs to earn it.

Who will he come in for?

Most of the boys you mentioned plus others.

A rusty Andrew Walker is still better than a Jordan Russell, a Simon Wiggins or a Shaun Grigg any day of the week.

OK folks no news on how he played last weekend so can I (we) have some information from people in the know!!!

There was quite a bit about Tex's performance in the Bullants game day thread.

If you're too lazy to look it up, get Chrissy Moltisanti to look it up for you :p

Any of the boys you mentioned plus others.

A rusty Andrew Walker is still better than a Jordan Russell, a Simon Wiggins or a Shaun Grigg any day of the week.

I disagree.

I just think with some depth now we should be selecting players who play well enough to be selected.......not just players who "should" be in our best 22.

Based on last round Tex's game was pleasing, but by the sounds of it, not polished.

He will get there, but I would play him in the ressies until he does.
Whats the rush?
Wiggo was a MAJOR factor vs Tiges, and did some very good things in previous weeks.

Russ will run with Gram all game.......Tex might just run out of legs.

Grigg is growing week by week and appears to be a confidence player. Dropping him when he is playing well for a senior player whi isn't could do more harm than good.

By all means, pick Tex for the Saints if he improves this week, runs the game out, and hits targets, but otherwise, give him some more time in the two's.

When he comes back, where do you think he'll be played? As a backman, in the midfield, or perhaps be reinvented as a forward?

I don't agree - all of those boys (with the exception of Grigg possibly) are playing roles that Tex wouldn't be doing. Wiggins is playing as another marking target up forward and JR is trying to blanket people.

Walker as a player generally is obviously streets ahead of those blokes but to bring him in for them (particularly Wiggins) could disrupt the team.

Iam sure last week i read somewhere Tex saying that Ratts said to hime he will play half forward/midfield..

He is by far in our best 22,i cant belive people think otherwise!

Iam sure last week i read somewhere Tex saying that Ratts said to hime he will play half forward/midfield..

When fit or last weekend?

I think you misunderstand. It's not about whether he is our best 22 generally, but rather whether he's in our best 22 next friday, after 5 months off footy.

Hallelujah.

The question is will he still rotate through the middle with all the other class in there? Maybe in the past we needed to do this as we had no Judd, Stevo injured and Muph/Gibbs both pretty new to the big time.

I personally would like him to just stay on the flank and possibily a run on the wing but having typed this I am thinking of one Eddie Betts that has been going in the middle so maybe he will. I love it when eddie goes in the guts, it just seems to lift us, what do you guys think?

Yes he probably will go on the ball, but probably for only about 5-10 minutes a quarter, what a shame, we might have to put Stevens or Judd up forward to rest instead of the bench :rolleyes:.

When he is fit he will play a mostly in the midfield or as a forward flanker.

The good thing about having lots of players to rotate through the middle is that generally every one there is fresh for most of the game, and also it will be good to put genuine onballers in there instead of makeshift ones to give blokes a rest.

P.S. Eddy in the middle is great, I'd love to see him fitter and play up the ground more.

I disagree.

I just think with some depth now we should be selecting players who play well enough to be selected.......not just players who "should" be in our best 22.

Based on last round Tex's game was pleasing, but by the sounds of it, not polished.

He will get there, but I would play him in the ressies until he does.
Whats the rush?
Wiggo was a MAJOR factor vs Tiges, and did some very good things in previous weeks.

Russ will run with Gram all game.......Tex might just run out of legs.

Grigg is growing week by week and appears to be a confidence player. Dropping him when he is playing well for a senior player whi isn't could do more harm than good.

By all means, pick Tex for the Saints if he improves this week, runs the game out, and hits targets, but otherwise, give him some more time in the two's.
To win some games and make the 8. Ssssshhhhhhhhh don't mention the F word.

Hallelujah.

Before i saw him play against Port i was of the mindset of not rushing him back,but after seeing him play i think get him straight back in!

His fitness was pretty good,he was sprinting up from the forward line up the wing to get to a contest and then sprinting back in to the forward line for a lot of the game,his oppent looked gone,couldnt keep with him.All in all i thought his game was pretty good!

I think he would add something for us against the saints especially in the pace department,so yes i think he should come in,but i do see your point on depth atm and who would we drop to get him in(how good is it to finally have this problem).

If he gets 15 or 20 odd disposals and kicks 2 or 3 goals and is knackered by 3/4 time then I'll be happy with that.

Remember he has hardly played under Ratts. And hardly played much with half the team. he has a new game style to get used to, needs time with the Blues.

Trust me, we wan't this guy in, he was good last year, probably our best in the second half. With Ratten's game style and the core of good players around him Walker will be a match winner and nearly our most damaging player when he gets up. Trust me on this, sit back and enjoy the ride.

P.S. Keep an eye on Grigg, he'll be next years Marc Murphy. The kids just about to click.

If he gets 15 or 20 odd disposals and kicks 2 or 3 goals and is knackered by 3/4 time then I'll be happy with that.

Remember he has hardly played under Ratts. And hardly played much with half the team. he has a new game style to get used to, needs time with the Blues.

Trust me, we wan't this guy in, he was good last year, probably our best in the second half. With Ratten's game style and the core of good players around him Walker will be a match winner and nearly our most damaging player when he gets up. Trust me on this, sit back and enjoy the ride.

P.S. Keep an eye on Grigg, he'll be next years Marc Murphy. The kids just about to click.

Where have you been? Have you watched any games this year?

Too late he is already a gun!!!

Totally agree with you,Tex has the ability to rip a game apart!

And from the stuff ive been reading he's saying and from seeing him on the weekend he has a point to prove..he knows how good he can be(i think he could easily win a brownlow),and i think in his mind by now he thinks he would be a bit further ahead in terms of what he has achieved, and i think he wants to prove it to everyone!

Between him and Gibbs they will be our best 2 next year!!