Andy Otten

• Thread starter Thread starter Gets!

If worst comes to worst this could be the start of something for someone like Phil Davis or even one of the new recruits.

Hoping for the best though, from the sounds of it whatever the news it's going to be serious. Hoping for it to be a freak stinger or something but an ACL or worse would seriously hurt our flag chances...

Bad news for Andy. Hope it’s only something minor like a medial or lateral meniscus

Much rather he have the full reco if it's an ACL. Let's hope it' a PCL or a bone break or even Cartledge, though the cartledge isn't that painful.

Yeah, he's very young with a whole career ahead of him.. As tempting as it is to get them back out there ASAP... its his next 200 games that should be the focus, not his next 20. I'd go conservative and get the full reco.

Really sad news. Gun kid and seems like a good bloke too.

Yeah, he's very young with a whole career ahead of him.. As tempting as it is to get them back out there ASAP... its his next 200 games that should be the focus, not his next 20. I'd go conservative and get the full reco.

Really sad news. Gun kid and seems like a good bloke too.
Agreed. He's got so much footy ahead of him I'd be sticking to the traditional method. He aint 35.

This is bullshit though, he is a serious talent. :(

Another text message from my mate, who is either full of shit, or has some inside word;

"He's at the doc's now. He's shattered. Girlfriend left work early to be with him. Reckons he heard a loud crack and knew it was bad straight away."

Another text message from my mate, who is either full of shit, or has some inside word;

"He's at the doc's now. He's shattered. Girlfriend left work early to be with him. Reckons he heard a loud crack and knew it was bad straight away."

His girlfriend lived in Melbourne...so she's obviously moved over?? That'd be good! One young gun who won't be going home! :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Saw it at training. 99% sure it's ACL. Similar movement to Burton.

Took a long time for training to resume its normal zest...Edwards let a huge F-bomb when it happened...boys very down.

Massive loss. Was expecting heaps from Otten in defence then midfield this year.

Hard to replace in defence...Hentschel/Stevens too slow, Young not skilled, Sellar just not quite the polish and our best replacement in Talia is realistically a season off.

Less hard to replace on paper in the midfield but does hurt our depth.

His girlfriend lived in Melbourne...so she's obviously moved over?? That'd be good! One young gun who won't be going home! :thumbsu::thumbsu:

I have no idea to be honest. I'll ask my mate where he's getting his info from and post his response here.

Took a long time for training to resume its normal zest...Edwards let a huge F-bomb when it happened...boys very down.

Massive loss. Was expecting heaps from Otten in defence then midfield this year.

Hard to replace in defence...Hentschel/Stevens too slow, Young not skilled, Sellar just not quite the polish and our best replacement in Talia is realistically a season off.

Less hard to replace on paper in the midfield but does hurt our depth.
Davis??

Maybe as the 3rd tall his skinny physique wouldn't be such a problem (Talia already a far better build), but i wonder if his agility be good enough compared to Otten.

All comes down to match-ups i guess. For the taller ones Davis be fine but sometimes the 3rd tall plays on a pretty agile/fast 185-190cm opponent...i don't think Davis is up to that.

Maybe as the 3rd tall his skinny physique wouldn't be such a problem (Talia already a far better build), but i wonder if his agility be good enough compared to Otten.

All comes down to match-ups i guess. For the taller ones Davis be fine but sometimes the 3rd tall plays on a pretty agile/fast 185-190cm opponent...i don't think Davis is up to that.
For that position, raw agility doesnt matter, its his ability to play as a defender (ie positioning, reading play).

His rebound is proficient IMO, as he racked up high 20's disposals for North quite a few times last year.

And I'd say yes he can provide the 'agility' you talk about as both Craig and Rendell have stated that he could play as a midfielder if needed.

Even Better! Surely if this is possible we MUST do it. 3 months could have him fit by round 2 and maybe playing by 5-6.

No, I hope he does the 12 month operation. He's young, don't do half the job, then re-do it later in his career which could be the end of his career. Do the full job now!

Just did a quick bit of research, whilst the 3 month job isn't a half arsed job, it is quite risky by the sounds with more side-effects than the traditional 12 month reco. Probably best to go down the 12 month path.

For that position, raw agility doesnt matter, its his ability to play as a defender (ie positioning, reading play).

His rebound is proficient IMO, as he racked up high 20's disposals for North quite a few times last year.

And I'd say yes he can provide the 'agility' you talk about as both Craig and Rendell have stated that he could play as a midfielder if needed.

I really rate his rebound but i don't rate his pure defensive ability as highly (from the SANFL games i've watched on TV so i haven't seen every game he has played).

"Andy stuffed his knee. Possibly ACL, Possibly worse. Doesn't look good"

Worse??????? Only knee injury I can recall that is worse than an ACL is a Hentschell type.

Best wishes to the lad, hopefully it's only a strain that hurts like hell for a day or so, he's a damn fine player.

Agree with that mate, however the players did regroup a lot quicker than I thought they would. I had just looked away when this occured, was it in a marking contest as they were switching the ball or did his knees just go the wrong way when he turned?