Anthony corrie makes ryan lonie look like jonathan brown.

Mate I said that he cost us nothing so its no big deal. I also think that he is being un-fairly criticised and wasn't as bad as everybody is making out. You need some perspective. I never said he was the future of the club - nobody has - just that he could prove a handy part player FOR NOTHING.

You've been all over the board today crying bloody murder about everything. Now we're all dissappointed about the weekend but all this unjustified sniping and fingerpointing isn't doing anyone any good. This is distinct from reasoned and level headed debate and discussion - the opposite of your OP.
Well Corrie Had 2 tackles for the game and you claim that he tackled hard and well. I must have been watching another game. His career average tackles is 2.2 per game. He averages less than 1 goal per game over his career. Last night he look terrified when put under physical pressure by a smal forward and you tell me that he is an asset to the club. Give me a young bloke who will have a red-hot go anytime; even off the rookie list. Once again he demonstrates our inept recruiting. I would not have given selection 200 for him - if such a selection existed!

My argument is that we already had too many players who go missing when it counts. So why add another one. I reckon the Michael Voss must be licking his lips.

As for my sniping, in relation to this season who have we beat? Cellar-dwellers, Melbourne; a weary Brisbane; and an undermanned and out-of-form North Melbourne. In my book it is simply not good enough. So I reckon that my comments are totally justified. Did you see our skills last night; especially our kicking? They were appalling. Somebody has to be held accountable. But according to you everything is just fine. Maybe by 2019 we might be on track at this pace!

@ brisbane.
michael voss in and the first person shown the door was anthony corrie....

pretty much sums it up.

but to our recruiters they saw it as xmas, pick 93 for corrie...who wouldn't? (strong sarcasm)

i wouldn't! we got rid of egan and got corrie.... so why exactly did we get rid of egan?? f**king list management really sucks at our club!

new coach must have a big, big broom to sweep up the mess our current one has made. corrie, leigh brown etc...

some people will point out clement, medhurst, holland and how those are examples of recycling that worked....well fair enough but the ones that havent worked far outweigh the ones that have.

we shouldnt have to cop the shite that brown and corrie serve up.

corrie = downhill skier

And Leigh Matthews reckoned he was worth having in for 20 games last year, I wouldn't consider Lethal overly soft.

He wasn't great and he Milne let him know about his effort on the wing early in the piece, can't have done his confidence any good.

Anyways after a good game last week, albeit against a weaker opponent, and then a poor one this week (although he wasn't alone) I'm willing to give him the benefit of the doubt. I reckon he has shown a bit, needs space to work in though and the Saints constricted us completely.

Won't do us any harm to give him a fair dinkum crack up the top, we didn't pay anything for him so we might as well try to milk the freebie. If it doesn't come through, so be it.

I don't reckon he'll stick round long because ultimately I don't think he has any redeeming features to convert him to a midfielder and I don't think he is a dangerous enough small forward to ever push any of our true mercurial players off the park.
We aren't anywhere near the top level this year, so it can hardly hurt blooding these sorts of blokes and seeing whether or not they can cut it. If they get a decent chance and don't prove anything, we can show them the door far more confidently come the end of the year IMO.

Odds are Corrie won't make it, but I'm willing to give him more than 2 weeks.

Well Corrie Had 2 tackles for the game and you claim that he tackled hard and well. I must have been watching another game. His career average tackles is 2.2 per game. He averages less than 1 goal per game over his career. Last night he look terrified when put under physical pressure by a smal forward and you tell me that he is an asset to the club. Give me a young bloke who will have a red-hot go anytime; even off the rookie list. Once again he demonstrates our inept recruiting. I would not have given selection 200 for him - if such a selection existed!

My argument is that we already had too many players who go missing when it counts. So why add another one. I reckon the Michael Voss must be licking his lips.

Fair enough he only had 2 tackles but he chased hard and applied alot of pressure as well. He had 5 tackles last week so his pressure can be quite good. The incident you keep bringing up was the only soft moment I saw him have in the game. Now i'm not saying that he had a great game I just think that he is coping an unfair amount of criticism for the game he had - which isn't as bad as you're making out. He did quite a few good things including setting up alot of play through the corridor. You say he looked terrified under physical pressure and I also disagree. There was one instance where he was sold into trouble by Stanley and copped it but that is hardly his fault. My two points are that he cost us nothing so nothing lost and that recycled players that look bad at one club can play important roles in a new side. To say sack the player after a couple of games is absolutely ridiculous (unless its L BRown LOL).

As for my sniping, in relation to this season who have we beat? Cellar-dwellers, Melbourne; a weary Brisbane; and an undermanned and out-of-form North Melbourne. In my book it is simply not good enough. So I reckon that my comments are totally justified. Did you see our skills last night; especially our kicking? They were appalling. Somebody has to be held accountable. But according to you everything is just fine. Maybe by 2019 we might be on track at this pace!

Don't put words in my mouth. I never said everything was fine far from it. Look some of your criticism has been constructive - like thread you started on Brown - but alot of it has been, like this thread, knee jerk and reactionary. I'm all for constructive criticism and accountability but calling for players heads after one average performance that wasn't as bad as you've made out is uncalled for.

You are spot on greening22. What a joke the defences of Corrie are.

1. He never should have been picked last week as his form wasnt good enough in the VFL.

2. He was sub par again on Monday.

All up shouldnt have been picked up by the club, another MM ring in clogging our list.

What a laugh it will be if hes picked again for Sunday, this club is going backwards that quickly its laughable.

Pick young blokes late in the draft and rookie draft that havent played AFL, quite a few gems come out of that part of the draft if you are smart and do your homework.

You obviously didnt see how well Schneider Dawson Gardiner and Ray played on the weekend.

What a boring cliche, lets pick players we've never heard of because they have are guaranteed to be better than recycled players.

My God you come up with some Harry hindsight gems.

You obviously didnt see how well Schneider Dawson Gardiner and Ray played on the weekend.

What a boring cliche, lets pick players we've never heard of because they have are guaranteed to be better than recycled players.

My God you come up with some Harry hindsight gems.

St Kildas quest for a flag is not built on those guys and that is not the core of their recruitment strategy and the list they have built.

Look at the article on the research by RMIT I have posted in the thread assesing our list.

I believe if we are smart and do our homework that we are a better chance of getting gems late in the draft/rookie draft than recyling players.

On the subject of recycled players, a recycled ruckman such as Gardiner is what we have desperately needed for years. And not one of those string-bean types.
As for Corrie, he did look pretty soft the other night. He will stay in the side because he can kick.
Toovey is reaching his use-by date. I would almost like a player to fall over for 6 weeks so we could try rookie Francis on the small men in the forward line. He has been amongst the best the last three weeks in the VFL.
As for Cook, until he improves his kicking and decision making, we don't need him in the mid-field. Watching Goddard's long accurate kicks to team mates the other night gave me an appreciation of the value of players with good kicking skills.

I believe if we are smart and do our homework that we are a better chance of getting gems late in the draft/rookie draft than recyling players.

If Paul Roos or Alistair Clarkson thought the same way they wouldnt be premiership coaches

I believe if we are smart we will look at every available player and assess his potential value to the club, regardless of whether he has played no games or 150.

There is no evidence that Zac Dawson wont play more games for StKilda than say Tyson Goldsack will play for Collingwood. Both are late pickups, the only difference being that one was burned off by a Premiership side who needed to make room for the new draft. Of course we could have had both by rookie listing Dawson ahead of Thoolen, but thats another story.

Incidentally its no coincidence that most(all?) of StKildas recruits have come from premiership sides or top four sides - picking up the out of favour player who'd get a game anywhere else but for one reason or another is considered surplus in a good side. Its like taking candy from a baby .

On the subject of recycled players, a recycled ruckman such as Gardiner is what we have desperately needed for years. And not one of those string-bean types. .

Of course he is. Underpants is clueless if he doesnt admit that we've had a dozen chances to recruit players like Gardiner over the years.

If Paul Roos or Alistair Clarkson thought the same way they wouldnt be premiership coaches

I believe if we are smart we will look at every available player and assess his potential value to the club, regardless of whether he has played no games or 150.

There is no evidence that Zac Dawson wont play more games for StKilda than say Tyson Goldsack will play for Collingwood. Both are late pickups, the only difference being that one was burned off by a Premiership side who needed to make room for the new draft. Of course we could have had both by rookie listing Dawson ahead of Thoolen, but thats another story.

Incidentally its no coincidence that most(all?) of StKildas recruits have come from premiership sides or top four sides - picking up the out of favour player who'd get a game anywhere else but for one reason or another is considered surplus in a good side. Its like taking candy from a baby .

Of course we should look at all players. I favour youth though, L Brown and Corrie are no spring chickens and their weaknesses were well known. Personally I dont agree with us playing L Brown or Corrie and dont consider either earned their call up and think both should be dropped for Sunday. I also dont agree with us recruiting them.

Incidentally I also couldnt see why the club re rookied Thoolen, not a fan of his.

By the way dont rate Gardiner that highly either, wouldnt have gone near him.

Of course we should look at all players.

Make up your mind then.

If you dont like Corrie, thats one thing. Jury is out myself, although one reason we lost to Essendon was that they had too many running receiver types just like the player we hope Corrie could become. Agree he came in with not a lot of form though. Wellingham was picked with even less form so you win some you lose some. Corrie so far has had one good game and one bad game.

But using Corrie as an example that the whole concept of recycling players doesnt work just flies in the face of the facts, when you consider what Hawthorn Sydney Geelong have achieved with the complete opposite policy to the one you espouse. And StKilda are on an identical path to those teams as well.

Regards Leigh Brown, I have no problems recruiting him as a back-up due to his versatility and tendency to remain injury free. Without him we'd have just Brown in defence should Reid and Presti have repeats of their 2008 injury troubles. However the problem is that he isnt being used as a backup. Malthouse may be playing tough love with Wood and Bryan, but he's taken it too far. Another small sign that he's losing the plot.

You say he looked terrified under physical pressure and I also disagree. There was one instance where he was sold into trouble by Stanley and copped it but that is hardly his fault.

He was just standing there with his thumb in his bum when he should have been moving and giving an option. And he had time to give it off if he hadn't been panicking about the big boys coming at him.

If you are going to be rude, I'm unlikely to continue discussion with you ...

I never stated we shouldnt look at any player, my mind is made up.

Of course you look at all players, whether you recruit them though is a whole other story ...

I dont really care if you continue discussion with me or not. Pretty immature to put me on your "ignore list" though, I thought only 18 year olds did that.

You stated that we should study hard and draft untried players instead of going the recycled route. You are blatantly wrong. You need to study hard and draft/trade for the best available player for the best possible price irrespective of whether they are rookies or experienced players.

Well it is ridiculous.

Nobody on this forum pretends to be able to play AFL football. Does that mean we shouldn't criticise a player we feel deserve it?

Leigh Brown is a better footballer than me. Doesn't mean I can't point out that he's a shit player at AFL level anyway.

if DL annoys you how about you stop quoting him

easy enough? would of thought so

Make sure it has Leon Davis peering out of the shadows in the corner.;)
i made one check out double07s profile

depending on how i feel ill make more and less sarcastic ones lol

He was just standing there with his thumb in his bum when he should have been moving and giving an option. And he had time to give it off if he hadn't been panicking about the big boys coming at him.

I probably need to watch that section of play again. I remember it as he was the only one who presented and I didn't really blame Stanley because it was his only option because no-one else presented. I stand by everything else I said. I'm not saying Corrie had a great game just that to call for his head after two senior matches is stupid and unfair. Also the fact he cost us nothing means that regardless of whether he fails for us we havn't lost anything.

Fair enough he only had 2 tackles but he chased hard and applied alot of pressure as well. He had 5 tackles last week so his pressure can be quite good. The incident you keep bringing up was the only soft moment I saw him have in the game. Now i'm not saying that he had a great game I just think that he is coping an unfair amount of criticism for the game he had - which isn't as bad as you're making out. He did quite a few good things including setting up alot of play through the corridor. You say he looked terrified under physical pressure and I also disagree. There was one instance where he was sold into trouble by Stanley and copped it but that is hardly his fault. My two points are that he cost us nothing so nothing lost and that recycled players that look bad at one club can play important roles in a new side. To say sack the player after a couple of games is absolutely ridiculous (unless its L BRown LOL).

Don't put words in my mouth. I never said everything was fine far from it. Look some of your criticism has been constructive - like thread you started on Brown - but alot of it has been, like this thread, knee jerk and reactionary. I'm all for constructive criticism and accountability but calling for players heads after one average performance that wasn't as bad as you've made out is uncalled for.
Yes; he had 5 tackles last week but against a very ordinary and undermanned North Melbourne team when there was extremely little pressure applied. Now I must have been watching another game when you state that " but he chased hard and applied a lot of pressure as well." I did not see any of the latter at all. In fact I have the game taped and I shall go through and look for these sacrificial acts that you have referred to.

Now I would make sure that he goes back to the VFL and demonstrate that he can actually perform statistically over 3 or 4 games in terms of possessions, goals, and tackles, and then I might give him the benefit of the doubt but right now, no way.

As to being "knee-jerk" and "reactionary" in relation to Monday night, it was a totally disgraceful perfromance so much so that it entered the record books as our greatest losing margin against St Kilda. However the motivation for my thread was not only the events of Monday night but our entire season so far. Simply the selection of Corrie is indicative that the club is in a sorry state at present. But then again what would I know as I have only been going to Collingwood games since 1967!