Anyone interested?

I am thinking of starting up a Melbourne website in the next few weeks, and wouldn't mind to see if anyone is interested in helping me out.

I can do some HTML and can get a site and all, but if anyone knows more about HTML or if someone can possible help me out, then that would be much appreciated. It'll be a site with scores, updates and etc. Have a few columns, which you guys would be welcome to do.

Just thought I'd see if anyone is interested as if you are, then it will happen as I can't really do it on my own! I'm off to class now, catch ya all later and hopefully I can get a response here! :)

I'll be in it. I was thinking of starting one up myself when school was over. Dont know a lot about html, but I can always improvise with Geocities Pagebuilder! :D

I was actually thinking of doing that as well, sure I'm willing to help out! I have some HTML experiance, but frontpage is just as easy to use, and much faster. There are plenty of good servers that allow you to upload your frontpage website to their servers, plus you can update it offline. Could even get Bluey to sell us a domain, which I remember hearing he can get for $6.

Originally posted by Deestroy

I can give you a copy of frontpage if you'd like, it's much like any other Microsoft program (like a cross between publisher and access, and isn't too hard to use), or you can try an online editor. I've tried both, and found frontpage better overall, but it's upto you!
I also have a couple of graphics programs around somewhere for headings and the like, if I can find them.

Sounds very good mate - would Front Page already be installed on my computer at all?? :confused: :confused:

I can get cracking on it tonight even. I will more than likely go with Geocities or something, then scroll through their front page and the like and try and get some ideas.

Also, if you have any ideas as to what should be on the side, then please post in this thread. I already know it will be a "no groupie" zone! :D

What to put on it.. Well
There HAS to be a Jolly Squad section! :D
Hmm...
Match Previews
Match Reviews
Rants (Andrew might be good at that!;))
Err..
Articles
Maybe a message board

Thats about all I can think of for now.

AS for Frontpage, it would only be on your system if you have a Microsoft office package that had it installed.

What to put on it.. Well
There HAS to be a Jolly Squad section! :D
Hmm...
Match Previews
Match Reviews
Err..
Articles
Maybe a message board

Thats about all I can think of for now.

AS for Frontpage, it would only be on your system if you have a Microsoft office package that had it installed.

Jolly Squad section is a MUST! :D

Message Board - probably just have a link to BigFooty, and if Bluey can give us a cool domian and stuff, then we will do that.

Reviews, Previews are good and we can have a player of the year medal etc. Do stuff on the draft, trade talks etc.

Really, the possibilities are endless. I'd probably get 2-3 people who can update/do things so it's not one person holding the load. Andrew would be SWEET for a rants type thing, I'm gonna sign him up ASAP. Anyone else can do some too.

Seriously, if we can get this off the ground, I reckon we can make it HUUUUUUUUGE! :D :D

Also, if anyone has ideas for a name or something, feel free to put them here. Any other ideas are most welcome! Thanx. :)

hmmmm website ey???? umm yeah if u want a link back to bigfooty for the message board it mgiht be alright, but u would have to have a banner for bigfooty. get some traffic back. ummmm if not go to www.aimoo.com they do the demonland board and its fantastic.

i might be able to write some columns. a female perspective. and ummm yeah a picture gallery. although copyright is an issue there. and when the 2003 season kicks off have tipping and votes etc
alsooooooo have umm a player of the week and do a profile on them. or maybe have a profile section and compile your own set of profiles for each player.
u could also have a links page for other demon related footy sites. ie demonland, demonology and the official site.

my html skills go as far as redecorating my online diary every couple of weeks so it isnt the best. hehe.

Originally posted by Dee
hmmmm website ey???? umm yeah if u want a link back to bigfooty for the message board it mgiht be alright, but u would have to have a banner for bigfooty. get some traffic back. ummmm if not go to www.aimoo.com they do the demonland board and its fantastic.

i might be able to write some columns. a female perspective. and ummm yeah a picture gallery. although copyright is an issue there. and when the 2003 season kicks off have tipping and votes etc
alsooooooo have umm a player of the week and do a profile on them. or maybe have a profile section and compile your own set of profiles for each player.
u could also have a links page for other demon related footy sites. ie demonland, demonology and the official site.

my html skills go as far as redecorating my online diary every couple of weeks so it isnt the best. hehe.

From my relative limited dealings with the AFL regarding copywrite laws, pictures can be used if:

a/ They are taken by yourself
b/ All logo's and sponsors badges are removed (i.e. Airbrushed out)

I'd be happy to contribute in some way (just don't tell Rob, i still owe him an article :()

Thanx Nicki.

We are going to check out all avenues over the coming weeks as we probably won't have it up for a while yet, but we are already in the process of working a few things out.

I don't know if I want to link to other Melbourne sites, as they seem a tad gay, no offence. Want to break away from those sorta ones, do our own thing, although I don't know how different we will be.

A column from you would be sweet, as a girl's perspective would be nice. I think you can be responsible with that! ;) Everything else mentioned will probably go on the site, but who knows what will be on there.

And a banner for BF would be no probs. Quite simple to link to the banner and have them go to the site. :)

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
Thanx Nicki.

I don't know if I want to link to other Melbourne sites, as they seem a tad gay, no offence. Want to break away from those sorta ones, do our own thing, although I don't know how different we will be.

oh yeah just on the message board side of things. if u just link it here u have no control over it. but what happens on here will be linked back to your site. following? whereas if u have your own forum or message board u have complete control. and maybe elect a mod or 2 to help once things pick up. and yeah with the other sites they may seem "gay" but they help each other out and if u can get on the good side of them and get some members of their forums onto yours......and vice versa then it will work better. then u can tell them to get nickedand dump the links with them. :D

Originally posted by Dee

oh yeah just on the message board side of things. if u just link it here u have no control over it. but what happens on here will be linked back to your site. following? whereas if u have your own forum or message board u have complete control. and maybe elect a mod or 2 to help once things pick up. and yeah with the other sites they may seem "gay" but they help each other out and if u can get on the good side of them and get some members of their forums onto yours......and vice versa then it will work better. then u can tell them to get nickedand dump the links with them. :D

True. I was trying to make sure we stayed true to this one here, but we will have to see. Bit of a ways off yet.

And we should probably get on their good side, but we want to be the REBELS of the Melbourne boards! ;) :D

Originally posted by danzy_rocks
you want stuff on Sandy?

Not suite yet Danzy, but when the time comes, you shall be the first person I turn too. Heck, you could even manage the Sandy part and do write ups if you would like! Would be great!

And thanx Footyman - I just hope we make progress and quickly! :)

I'd be happy to help out too in regards to editorial content.

I helped the MFC comms dept put together the 2000 season media guide a couple years back, and have a background in PR and media.

Just let me know you're ready.

The Sherrif.

Well Sheriff, I'd love to give you a spot - but after past experience, we are going to be a Robbo free zone! :D

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell

Not suite yet Danzy, but when the time comes, you shall be the first person I turn too. Heck, you could even manage the Sandy part and do write ups if you would like! Would be great!

ok cool, just email/PM me if you want any sandy stuff! (and I'll try not to say stuff like how great Templeton is :p)

Me? NEVER!
No. I'd be more than happy to do that. There is plenty for me to go on about.
This all looks very good. I here by offer myself to be the Official Sandy reporter. You all know how much interest I take in that!:rolleyes: