Bendigo Bank Cats
Look forward to Collingwood and Essendon in this one, think they've earned the right to go at it every year.

With Anzac Day falling on a Friday next year, can't help but think this would be a great chance to open our Friday night account at Kardinia Park.

My preference would be for a 5:10 twilight game sandwiched between the game at the 'g and the one in New Zealand. Sydney would be my choice of opposition, always a good game with the best supporters of any other club.

Could we make it happen, and what would be your ideal time/opposition?

Look forward to Collingwood and Essendon in this one, think they've earned the right to go at it every year.

With Anzac Day falling on a Friday next year, can't help but think this would be a great chance to open our Friday night account at Kardinia Park.

My preference would be for a 5:10 twilight game sandwiched between the game at the 'g and the one in New Zealand. Sydney would be my choice of opposition, always a good game with the best supporters of any other club.

Could we make it happen, and what would be your ideal time/opposition?

Why?

makes it that anzac day is about these teams, which it shouldnt be. should be rotated so it doesnt become to be more about those clubs than it does about the anzacs, which at present i think it does. need to be very careful the game doesnt become more important than the day, and the way all the lead up is about these two teams and their previous games on this day is a bit disturbing in my book. i dont care about it being 'fair' to share it around, that is a football and $$ argument, i just think it should be shared so that the dons and pies dont become synonymous with anzac day and the anzac spirit because that would be tragic.

Personally, I'm not bothered that other clubs don't get access to the ANZAC day game at the MCG. It's a traditional showdown that many football fans enjoy outside of the fanbases of these clubs (this fan included) - imagine Gold Coast vs GWS as the 'headliner' on ANZAC Day if it was shared around equally. Meh. I look forward to this match every year regardless of the fact I'm a raving mad Cats fan, and ultimately, today is about the ANZACs and their sacrifice.

On the topic of ANZAC Day - my blog post - A day of remembrance

Wasn't that long ago this was just another day of football. Credit where it's due these two have built this game ( and this day ) up to some extent.

Disagree. Its just another example of patronizing certain clubs to the detriment of others. Everytime I hear "its the biggest home and away game of the year" , "Its the2nd only to the GF" type rubbish... it just makes me sick.

IF this game is to pay tribute to all the brave , that have served our country , then its should not be a statues quo duo every year. I didn't realise it was only Collingwood and Essendon people that went of to serve the country!

Anzac Days have been around for years before 1995 eg. For example..
http://www.footyalmanac.com.au/1980-a-personal-footy-almanac-round-5-friday-25-april-v-fitzroy-mcg/

Been to plenty of days over the years and it always moving but now , this emphasis on these two team....It makes me feel its like watching Qld V NSW state of Origin. Something that does not involve me.

The created the game. Semi Myth. That the game is so big now is only partly to do with these two teams, the resurgence of the Anzac story made the day far more relevant. For a long time , Anzac Day was seen as WarDay that celebrated death etc as in the song "The band played Walzing Matilda". The promoted it well but other clubs could do a good job of it.

On money. One could also make the case that EssVPies gets a big crowd most weeks and they don't need such addition help. In 1994 , a year before this 'event' started they played Ess v Pies on 23rd of April and got 74,300. Just how many more do they get because its Anzac day 10,000? An extra 20,000 for a North V Melb game may deliver better value but it wont give us this big "best ever day" etc.

I do admire the supporters of both clubs. Wed,Thurs ,whatever they turn up. Give them that.

OK , rant over. Yes I'd love to have a night Anzac match at the Cattery. All for it.

Honestly not too fussed about Essendon and Collingwood having dibs on ANZAC Day every year, but I'd love for us to be involved in a twilight/night match. The opposition or venue wouldn't bother me massively.

If it were to be at Kardinia Park, then I'd go with a night match (7:40pm start) televised live against the gate vs. Richmond, Carlton, or St Kilda. Knowing the AFL though they'd probably give us GC or Port.

I dont want any additional Anzac day games. Well I actually dont mind a second one in a different time zone.

I was in the Army, and ANZAC day was irrelevant to 95% of the population.
I'm sorry, but it was.

We'd do a march through Heidelberg or somewhere and there would be 1000 people there if we were lucky.
We had somewhere to commemorate. Firstly we'd been awake since 4am drinking coffee and rum with the officers. The one day where they actually treated you like a mate.

Then after the march we'd head to the town hall and play two up for money with each other and the police. Free food and alcohol obviously.

But the public had nothing. Families didn't go home and have a roast lunch to commemorate.
No one used to host BBQ's.

Now days the words ANZAC day are ushered a billion times on radio and TV. I have no problem that the word 'game' appears after those two words quite often. It's the first 2 that are important to me.

It's pushed the meaning of the day to the front of everyones thoughts.
I like that it's Essendon v Collingwood each year because I always get to see someone I dont like lose.

Would my nine year old have been to 6 gunfire breakfasts at the Shrine if there was no game? Sure.
But that's because of my history.

Without the prominence of this game generations may have missed the opportunity to learn what happened 98 years ago.

BTW, at this stage, I fully expect to have the whole family at Anzac Cove in 2 years to give my full respect.

My preference would be for a 5:10 twilight game sandwiched between the game at the 'g and the one in New Zealand.
You do know the time difference to NZ,don't you ?
Under your way the game in NZ would be starting around 9.30/10pm NZ time
Also I think Freo have a night game when Anzac Day falls on a friday.Geelong played in it a few years ago.

You do know the time difference to NZ,don't you ?
Under your way the game in NZ would be starting around 9.30/10pm NZ time
Also I think Freo have a night game when Anzac Day falls on a friday.Geelong played in it a few years ago.

Yep, the inzidders should be well charged by then :p

makes it that anzac day is about these teams, which it shouldnt be. should be rotated so it doesnt become to be more about those clubs than it does about the anzacs, which at present i think it does. need to be very careful the game doesnt become more important than the day, and the way all the lead up is about these two teams and their previous games on this day is a bit disturbing in my book. i dont care about it being 'fair' to share it around, that is a football and $$ argument, i just think it should be shared so that the dons and pies dont become synonymous with anzac day and the anzac spirit because that would be tragic.

Well said, and I agree with all you say, particularly with regard to the bolded.

For mine, the game should be used as a vehicle to promote the sacrifice and spirit of the ANZAC's, yet I sense the reverse is occurring. That should never happen.

Admittedly, the ANZAC story is highlighted during the build-up to the game, but thereafter it's completely forgotten. I'd like to see some of the half-time coverage used to acknowledge the ANZAC's and keep them at the forefront of people's minds on the day.

BTW, at this stage, I fully expect to have the whole family at Anzac Cove in 2 years to give my full respect.

It's something you won't regret! I attended the dawn service at Ari Burnu years ago. Words cannot describe.

Yes I'd love to have a night Anzac match at the Cattery. All for it.

Why Anzac? We'll never own it. Why not Good Friday. The AFL must bow to the inevitable and play a game on this day, just as the NRL has already done. We could make Good Friday "our day".

I dont want to get worked up over this, but why?
For money? To be different?
How about the religious groups just work with the Hawks and the Cats to get the message across of what easter Monday means?
Because I have no friggin idea

If anything, the people that lose sight of what this day is all about (anzac day) is the supporters of the teams that play it.
Leave us out it thanks.

Why?
I personally wouldn't watch any game on Good Friday

Well said, and I agree with all you say, particularly with regard to the bolded.

For mine, the game should be used as a vehicle to promote the sacrifice and spirit of the ANZAC's, yet I sense the reverse is occurring. That should never happen.

Admittedly, the ANZAC story is highlighted during the build-up to the game, but thereafter it's completely forgotten. I'd like to see some of the half-time coverage used to acknowledge the ANZAC's and keep them at the forefront of people's minds on the day.

And what I hate most is the line "you can never compare football with war" right before they make a reference to similarities between the two.

Why?
I personally wouldn't watch any game on Good Friday
I don't know why you wouldn't watch a game on Good Friday? If its for religious reasons that's your prerogative. But I don't know how long the AFL can hold out.

One Friday out of 30 without footy isn't a bad thing, is it too much to ask?

How does it hurt anyone to have a footy game on that day though? Does it make the day any less significant? Is the day significant at all anymore? I know when Easter comes around, everyone is happy because they get extra days of work and some chocolate. It has already lost all meaning about what it was about anyway. Much like Christmas Day it has become a commcercial thing.

May as well kick off the Boxing Day test a day early aswell then.

I just think one day of reflection and appreciation shared with friends and family isn't necessarily a bad thing.
No trading, no footy, just a day off regardless of faith to spend quality time with those that mean the most to us.

Anyway like I said I personally wouldn't watch a match on Good Friday

After the success of the game in NZ today I would imagine that will try it again next year around the same start time of 6pm, however being a Friday night they may possibly play a game starting at 8.30pm as well in either Adelaide or Perth making it triple header

Although I really hope the AFL will give us a Friday night game in Geelong next year - we have had the Swans in Sydney the last two years on a Friday night, maybe next time they will switch it and send them down to us for a Friday night game - with nice weather would easily pull a crowd of around 30,000 you reckon

It seems at the moment that Hawthorn and Geelong have Easter Monday as our own (or Easter Tuesday when ANZAC Day clashed with Easter Monday)

Whatever your opinion on Essendon, Collingwood and ANZAC Day - there's no chance the AFL will change things

As long as 60000+ keep turning up to the Hawthorn/Geelong Easter Monday match, the AFL will keep scheduling it - and that's to the financial benefit of both our clubs