Apple Isle Showdown: Tas Govt threatens to end Hawks, North deals if no plan for 19th side

There are quite a number of aspects of Australian society where the results matter more.

Look at anywhere where there are quotas. e.g. QLD police were in the news recently for taking candidates with lower entry scores/standards in order to meet quotas.
Deadset ...quotas are not your settling inertia...

They're a clear example of focusing on results rather than merit.

The aim might just be to get the best result. Anyway, it depends on the job.

Getting the highest marks in a private school doesn't always give you the best person for a particular job, like community policing.

Even in Quota's they need to show the right merits for selection in anything.

More technical jobs need the people who get the best results. Recruiting via quota doesn't mean they'll end up in the job. ie Dentists, Engineers, Brain surgeons still have to pass the tests/exams to bet the job at the end, no matter what the intake method at the start is.

ie mature age students often do well when given a go. ;)

The aim might just be to get the best result. Anyway, it depends on the job.

Getting the highest marks in a private school doesn't always give you the best person for a particular job, like community policing.

Even in Quota's they need to show the right merits for selection in anything.

More technical jobs need the people who get the best results. Recruiting via quota doesn't mean they'll end up in the job. ie Dentists, Engineers, Brain surgeons still have to pass the tests/exams to bet the job at the end, no matter what the intake method at the start is.

ie mature age students often do well when given a go. ;)
So nothing is certain..and we don’t need to panic..I am therefore living above my “quota”...but it is temporary...

This is a bit of an aside, but I've always found it odd that the Liberals (and associated supporters/parties) always try to spin cutting costs and not investing as positives. If I'm paying taxes, I want it to be spent. I don't want to hear that we have a surplus because we gutted hospitals lol
Still a better alternative to the Labour Party who of past couple decades generally govern buy spending all of our money doing ******* all then as a kicker they run up huge debt giving handouts to bludgers . The days of labour being the working mans party are long gone

Oh?

So there are lots of AFL grounds that allow lower grade teams (and their reserves, U18s, etc) to play, train and base out of them?

I know Richmond considered the added cost of ground maintenance of adding VFL and women's teams to their *training* ground.

One reason there aren't more games on the MCG (or Docklands) is that the ground maintenance people consider the wear and tear on those grounds to be at their limits. (and those are some of the most high cost/best maintained turf in the country)
Think about it champ how many afl clubs are based at at mcg and marvel of course there not going to use them for lower levels . completely different scenario to Tasmania each ground would be used 5-6 times a year you do know sanfl grand finals were played at footy park and games regularly at Adelaide oval when you upgrade a stadium you want it used as much as possible not what your suggestion

No, 5-6 split, reversing each year.

Launceston Utas will get a major upgrade. It'll host any finals.

Thats the politics of it.

I'll also bet that their won't be any stadium changes in Hobart.

That too is the politics of it ;)

So 15,000 members in Hobart, 15,000 members in Launceston, none of them would buy a full 11 game membership.

Meaning the money they get would be many millions, if not tens of millions behind.

Then you need a few Tassie sponsors able to chip in millions each, and more chipping in hundreds of thousands.

Every way you look at it the Tassie govt will need to be putting tens of millions a year in, every year, with the AFL chipping in more than GCS and GWS.

Is that guarantee a part of the plan? Or does the plan claim self sufficiency (beyond the standard handouts all clubs get)?

The AFL really gets no extra money out of a 19th team. They need a 20th for the 10th game. But woulf Fox Footy be adding tens of millions a year for that 10th game? Im sure the 9th game added very little to total viewers.

Work hard, and they'll be sure to drag you back.
Plenty of people working hard to get a Tasmanian AFL side to happen.

And we've got the likes of you doing your very best to drag it back.

Still a better alternative to the Labour Party who of past couple decades generally govern buy spending all of our money doing ******* all then as a kicker they run up huge debt giving handouts to bludgers . The days of labour being the working mans party are long gone

When? They've been in power once in the last 20+ years, and in that time they were internationally lauded for steering the country through the GFC.

I wouldn't shame someone for being a conservative, but you do (objectively) have to be dumb as dogshit to vote for the LNP.

When? They've been in power once in the last 20+ years, and in that time they were internationally lauded for steering the country through the GFC.

I wouldn't shame someone for being a conservative, but you do (objectively) have to be dumb as dogshit to vote for the LNP.
Agree to disagree I’m no massive liberal man buy any means but I definitely see them as the lesser of two evils . you must have been a sleep during the Rudd Gillard terms they were a disaster ran the country into the ground huge debt and the reason labour haven’t got a look in since at least liberal spend money in some areas that bear fruit i work in the building industry and have never been as busy . I’m a union member but that actually now hates how unions have pretty much taken over the Labour Party

The Federal debt more than doubled (250 to 540 $billion)between 2013 and 2019 before Covid. Its now over $1000 billion

ie the LNP Government more than doubled the Federal Debt. BEFORE Covid19

ie the LNP ran up a larger debt after the GFC was over than by the ALP did in the 2007-2013 years which included the GFC.

ie do you now see who ACTUALLY ran the biggest debt by a long way?????

The Federal debt more than doubled (250 to 540 $billion)between 2013 and 2019 before Covid. Its now over $1000 billion

ie the LNP Government more than doubled the Federal Debt. BEFORE Covid19

ie the LNP ran up a larger debt after the GFC was over than by the ALP did in the 2007-2013 years which included the GFC.

ie do you now see who ACTUALLY ran the biggest debt by a long way?????
Question for you as a Tasmanian do you remember what Tasmania was like the last time we had a labour government debt huge unemployment thousands leaving for interstate and look at the place now covid aside is absolutely booming !

Yes, during the GFC.

We're going ok now. What LNP policies have done that?

Without doubt, the MOFO effect has been a driver of Tourism. The mass exposure effect has been notable.

People have decided they like the small city/regional lifestyle.

Federal Government directing recent immigrants away from the Sydney/Melbourne population black hole has boosted things.

ie I don't think either were/are State Liberal policy initiatives.

Anyway!

How do you feel about the policies of the current Liberal party? Which has pretty much done all of those things and destroyed our relationship with China. You're last line is very correct BTW.

Nothing like a bit of ignorant right wing revisionism on two of the most significant financial disasters in history.
1. Club's survived the GD because they were almost entirely amateur. There were no million dollar contracts dependant on TV rights which in turn were dependant on marketing revenue. It wasn't even a thing. I'll note that the effects of the GD lasted for the whole decade until the start of WW2.
2. The GFC was prevented from having the same international impact due almost exclusively to the intervention of world governments. Had your precious 'Free market' been able to take it's natural 'free' course, the world economy would indeed have tanked the same way it did some 80 years prior. However due to massive financial government intervention, which is pretty much as socialist as you can get, this collapse was prevented from happening. Australia has free education, free health care, minimum wages and a myriad of other laws designed to keep competition and equality in the market. That my friend, is socialism.
3.Long term, free market policies kill competition. What happens at the end of a game of Monopoly? Someone ends up with ALL OF THE MONEY.
4. How many supermarkets brands used to be in Australia?
5. Petrol Stations?
6. How many mobile phone companies started in the 90's and how many are left?
7. How many hardware stores are there now?
8.Pure free market economics is a theory that, like communism, doesn't work in reality.
9.If we lived in a pure Neo Liberal free market economy, there'd be no Covid assistance to businesses. It'd be survival of the fittest, sink or swim. Which all Neo Liberals want unless it's their business that is doing badly, then they want government help. Until then it's all chest beating about the right of the individual and 'I should be free to do what I want'. 10. Anyone who thinks that our economy would be in the position it's in without the largest ever government spending to intervene, again which is absolutely Socialist, is a complete ignoramus and someone who clearly isn't capable of understanding even simple economic and social policies.
Hahahaha. Spoken like a true socialist. Are you a teacher or work in local council? Maybe in a call centre or social worker?. Anyway.....

To answer your questions;
1. Club's payed players, but payed what they could afford. So long as there is competition, players will be incentivised, even in the VAFA.
2. They should have let the bank's collapse, then voided mortgages, and had a debt jubilee. Then let the free market find the new sound monetary system, beyond fractional reserve lending, which we did, in the form of crypto and now the physical metals markets. 😉
3. Unless money turns into Bitcoin? 🤣
4. What does IGA stand for?
5. Ever heard of Tesla?
6. Plenty
7. Bunnings did very well. Kudos.
8. Everything reverts back to the free market after academics have their way and try to regulate everything. It never lasts.
9. If libertarians ran the show, no one would give af about Covid. MSM would not require licenses, and news would be decentralised. Covid is for scared kitty leftists.
10. Australia has the highest personal debt ratio in the world. One of the highest property prices, which is a result of financial regulations allowing licensed money printing. We are living in a debt bubble, and rare assets are now hyper-inflating.

Wars have been fought between the left and right, so I don't expect you to understand. But what you must know, is that the free market ALWAYS wins.

Good try!

Oh, we get it.

Your dream is for a bunch of 3rd rate clubs that have so little revenue that they wont be able to fly to their away games, let alone pay players.
No, my dream is to liberate the AFL, based on free market and democratic principles, to shape itself in an organic way.

It would certainly stop tanking!

Imagine the crowd and telly interest in the VFA GF that determines promotion of a Melbourne Club and the massive crowd and viewers watching the last H&A match to determine which Melbourne Club would go down.
Don't say that too loud, the hoards will come for your jugular.