Assistant Coaches

I know Dawson has said he is relocating to Melb with his young family,but to see the sheer respect he has from the players both docker & Peel players and his role this yr at Peel ie mentoring, I don't think it would be such a silly idea to get him as one of our development coaches at Peel

Move Roger Hayden to backline coach of AFL side and move Prior on

I know Dawson has said he is relocating to Melb with his young family,but to see the sheer respect he has from the players both docker & Peel players and his role this yr at Peel ie mentoring, I don't think it would be such a silly idea to get him as one of our development coaches at Peel

Move Roger Hayden to backline coach of AFL side and move Prior on

Not sure Roger is up to it but would love Prior to be replaced with someone decent. I think Daws was loved as much for being a larrikin and good bloke as for being a mentor from what I've heard.

If there's someone out there that would come to Freo and can do a better job than Bond, then we just have to get them for sure.
The Cats have promoted Simon Lloyd from Head of Development to now replacing Steven Hocking(off to the AFL) as Head of Footy Operations.

We had him and for what ever reason he was lured to Cats at end of 2015. He will do a great job.

The Cats have promoted Simon Lloyd from Head of Development to now replacing Steven Hocking(off to the AFL) as Head of Footy Operations.

We had him and for what ever reason he was lured to Cats at end of 2015. He will do a great job.

Probably wanted to one day go home and the opportunity presented. Whether he saw more opportunity at the Cats who knows but it also remains to be seen if he's a better football manager than Bondy.

Bondy has for about 10yrs only had one GF as The Footy Operations Manager and now going thru his second rebuild. it all too comfortable.

I wonder how many clubs are in the same position? Only 5 clubs have won a premiership in the last 10.

Is it best to swap and change every few years trying to find the right person or do you have faith in the person you thought was good in the first place and give them enough time to put a plan in place and execute it. For a football manager to be successful, he'd need a very good team of coaches under him, a very good recruiting team under him and a very good team of players under him, all at the one time, without any problems, issues or distractions. He then has to have the luck that everything comes together in one game. And unless that's already in place when he gets to the club, it'd take years to pull together.

Luke Hodge spotted having a coffee with Brent Guerra on the weekend on George Street in Freo. Heard some strong mail floating around he's a decent chance to be an assistant at Freo next year - thoughts?
If this comes through I will deem this to be the Debut Post Of The Year

I wonder how many clubs are in the same position? Only 5 clubs have won a premiership in the last 10.

Is it best to swap and change every few years trying to find the right person or do you have faith in the person you thought was good in the first place and give them enough time to put a plan in place and execute it. For a football manager to be successful, he'd need a very good team of coaches under him, a very good recruiting team under him and a very good team of players under him, all at the one time, without any problems, issues or distractions. He then has to have the luck that everything comes together in one game. And unless that's already in place when he gets to the club, it'd take years to pull together.

Well Scham I dispute whether he has a "very good team of Coaches" under him. Prior, Rock, Hale & Eastaugh with the exception of Stone are average performers. Guerra was pushed back(from Joint backline coach) to development after one year as was Marc Webb(midfield coach in 2016). Rock replacing Webb in midfield wasn't a startling success

Also Bondy was pushed sidewise during the 2016(strong perception he always wanted something for nothing in trading) trade period giving Brad Lloyd the ultimate say in trades ie Brad Hill, Hamling, McCarthy & Kersten to club. His recruiting team got it right this time - Ryan, Darcey, Cox and Logue.

Lets get more Freo back into Dockers by getting Ryan Crowley back as an assistant and the big land would be getting Luke Mc back from East freo to takeover the Backline.

Well Scham I dispute whether he has a "very good team of Coaches" under him. Prior, Rock, Hale & Eastaugh with the exception of Stone are average performers. Guerra was pushed back(from Joint backline coach) to development after one year as was Marc Webb(midfield coach in 2016). Rock replacing Webb in midfield wasn't a startling success

Also Bondy was pushed sidewise during the 2016(strong perception he always wanted something for nothing in trading) trade period giving Brad Lloyd the ultimate say in trades ie Brad Hill, Hamling, McCarthy & Kersten to club. His recruiting team got it right this time - Ryan, Darcey, Cox and Logue.

Yep, agree. Maybe it's starting to turn? The recruiters are doing well, the playing list is improving and if we can get a quality addition to the coaching team (plus a restructure of responsibilities) who knows, his plan maybe coming into place.

I can second antoni_grover and I saw Hodge having a coffee on George St. He's been here all weekend officially doing some public speaking but I think he's also talking to clubs about assistant coaching roles. His manager said last week that practically every club is sounding him out.

From a lifestyle perspective for a young family, hard to beat Perth, especially Freo.

I can second antoni_grover and I saw Hodge having a coffee on George St. He's been here all weekend officially doing some public speaking but I think he's also talking to clubs about assistant coaching roles. His manager said last week that practically every club is sounding him out.

From a lifestyle perspective for a young family, hard to beat Perth, especially Freo.
If he could teach our boys to stop over committing to the contest that would be swell.

The Hawks were excellent at keeping players on the outside of a contest ready to either recieve the handball and go or jump into the contest if the initial bloke got beat.

Agree, we should look at him.

The other person we should look at is Marty Mattner. Back to back Premiership coach in the SANFL, Premiership player at Sturt and Sydney swans.

Chris25 - What is your opinion on his coaching?

Been thinking more about this and he definitely looks the goods. He won a premiership as a player at Sturt, then one at the Swans and has now coached Sturt to the last 2 in his first 2 seasons as a senior coach (spent 2 years as a development coach at the Swans after playing).

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...e/news-story/dbd27e58ea02febfece3b93395de8d5a

Would be a good replacement for Stone.

I think Richmond just illustrates how important this process is.

People are giving Hardwick a lot of credit, but I think equally or even more importantly they really nailed their assistants and footy ops this year. Balme and Caracella seem to be very highly rated. Leppsitch too, even if he didn't make it as a senior coach.

I think Richmond just illustrates how important this process is.

People are giving Hardwick a lot of credit, but I think equally or even more importantly they really nailed their assistants and footy ops this year. Balme and Caracella seem to be very highly rated. Leppsitch too, even if he didn't make it as a senior coach.
Is Rawlings still part of that setup? Also, was there tension between Choco and Hardwick?

Hodge was at a conference where one of my mates was attending.

Guerra is probably a good mate of his. I doubt he'd be apart of Freo's coaching staff for 2018 however that would be a sensational get.

Couldn't do any worse than Rock

Is Rawlings still part of that setup? Also, was there tension between Choco and Hardwick?

I don't think so. Word is that Choco was cruising and that he spent most of his time and focus on developing and keep Dusty out of trouble. Did fa else.

Carracella is apparently very football smart and the current game plan is more his design than Hardwicks. Having said that, as Reiwoldt said on Saturday, it took Hardwick to be man enough to accept that his way wasn't working and to allow change and accept someone else's game plan.

Rawlings not at Tigers.

I don't think so. Word is that Choco was cruising and that he spent most of his time and focus on developing and keep Dusty out of trouble. Did fa else.

Carracella is apparently very football smart and the current game plan is more his design than Hardwicks. Having said that, as Reiwoldt said on Saturday, it took Hardwick to be man enough to accept that his way wasn't working and to allow change and accept someone else's game plan.

Rawlings not at Tigers.
I'm impressed how quick it changed at Richmond though.

Hodge was at a conference where one of my mates was attending.

Guerra is probably a good mate of his. I doubt he'd be apart of Freo's coaching staff for 2018 however that would be a sensational get.

Couldn't do any worse than Rock

Unfortunately I suspect that you're right and he was just in town and so caught up with an old mate. He'd be in extremely high demand and would probably have other clubs in mind to go to. If he was going to come to WA he'd more than likely got to his mates Mitchell and Simpson.

I'm impressed how quick it changed at Richmond though.

Yep, it makes a mockery of all of the nuffies that excuse our performances due to a few new players in the team and thinking it takes time to build team chemistry. Also the calls that it takes a couple of years to learn and bed in a new game plan. That's a load of crap and is a fair dinkum excuse.

The Tigers had a whole new coaching team, a host of new players and a new game plan. All bedded in, in less than one season!

Not sure if others picked up on it in a recent Ross interview but he mentioned wanting to streamline the coaching dept not expand it. Had me thinking we might not replace Stone but rather just shuffle the deck chairs to fill the gap.

Yep, it makes a mockery of all of the nuffies that excuse our performances due to a few new players in the team and thinking it takes time to build team chemistry. Also the calls that it takes a couple of years to learn and bed in a new game plan. That's a load of crap and is a fair dinkum excuse.

The Tigers had a whole new coaching team, a host of new players and a new game plan. All bedded in, in less than one season!
Their medical team are pretty spot on this year also ,not many serious injuries.