AndyWalkersGirl

Forward Coach - Matthew Lappin. Our forward line has been an absolute joke for a few weeks. I do not understand why Lappin is our forward coach - is he the best there was for the position, or is the old boy mentality that Carlton still seem to have?

Surely he needs to go at the end of the year and we get someone in who has better credentials.

Opposition Coach - Brett Munro. One coach to study the opposition is frankly not enough. And if he is doing his job properly, then there is obviously a communication problem between him and the rest of the coaching panel, because we are constantly being out played and sometimes, out coached.

Development Coach - David Teague. This is where our club is failing and falling vastly behind other clubs - development. What is the point of having an A grade facility in Visy Park, if we do not have A grade people behind it to develop our kids properly. Why on earth did we employ David Teague in this role? Capuano needs someone much better alongside him. Get rid of Teague as Bullants coach/develpment role because surely there are better people out there for the job.

Weights Coach -Stuart Livingstone. There are posters here who will sook and moan about how we are ýoung'but that is just a poor man's excuse. I looked at Dale Thomas yesterday, the way he tackled with intesity, the way he chased hard for tha tsecond, third tackle. His tackles stick. Our boys can't tackle to save themselves. Judd and Gibbs are the only two who stand up in a tackle. Perhaps our weight coach needs to harden our boys up a bit more because we cannot stick our tackles at all, and when we do get tackled, we can't break it or stay standing in it.

A lot of people are asking for Ratten's head. I disagree, I think he is simply doing the best he can with the things on offer. I think it's othe rpeople around him that need to be shaped up or shifted out. The players need to learn to take responsibility, not to look for other excuses or reasons about losses or poor performances. It is not Ratten's fault entirely. I think our club has screwed up with some of the coaching staff.

Sticks is President. Surely he needs to stand up with Gregg Swan and say that crap performances by our staff is not good enough, and time to move the B graders of the world on and away from our club.

Very vaild points AWG, wonder what our Assistan Coaches are doing other than pockeing a huge pay check. But once again it's up to the players as well, they continue to escape the blame and maybe people actuyally make excuses for them. A coach can only do so much, they can't run out on the field and teach the players to run and contest and make space or to help out a team mate.

If you have lazy, passengers who don't give a shit then a coach cannot do anything, the best game plans on earth will turn to shit if the players can't motivate themselves to play on a big stage. Something has gone desperately wrong at Carlton and it's looking like the bad days again for us, Ratten has finally woken up and shown anger, but he should have done that after the Hawks game.

Stuff this shit about protecting the players, they are willing to get paid hundreds of thousands and yet they need to be protected from critism? It's about time the Carlton Football Club playing list woke up, about time harsh decisions are made, yes we are young, but that excuse is running out of steam quickly as well.

Matthew Lappin is an abrasive character who rates himself very highly

There are better assistants out there than him

But as usual.........the hierachy rates friendships and history over ability

Nice post AWG - not the easy "If we lose it's the head coach's fault no matter what" post.

There's heaps of reasons why teams don't perform well. Hell, perhaps we are performing well but we're expecting too much

Don't know whether there's a process in place at Carlton at the moment, but be great to see an "end of year" independent audit commissioned by the club to see where the Blues are heading, their strengths, weaknesses, how we sit compared to the other AFL clubs, and what's needed to climb further up the ladder, how all coaches are performing, etc

I say independent, because if it's done internally you don't necessarily get an objective picture. Should even do it if we win a premiership

Wouldn't mind seeing a successful ex-AFL coach do it, be it Blight or Matthews for example

And look in the coaches box and you see Craig Bradley, one of the most skilful players to play for Carlton, but.....

Forward Coach - Matthew Lappin. Our forward line has been an absolute joke for a few weeks. I do not understand why Lappin is our forward coach - is he the best there was for the position, or is the old boy mentality that Carlton still seem to have?

Surely he needs to go at the end of the year and we get someone in who has better credentials.

Opposition Coach - Brett Munro. One coach to study the opposition is frankly not enough. And if he is doing his job properly, then there is obviously a communication problem between him and the rest of the coaching panel, because we are constantly being out played and sometimes, out coached.

Development Coach - David Teague. This is where our club is failing and falling vastly behind other clubs - development. What is the point of having an A grade facility in Visy Park, if we do not have A grade people behind it to develop our kids properly. Why on earth did we employ David Teague in this role? Capuano needs someone much better alongside him. Get rid of Teague as Bullants coach/develpment role because surely there are better people out there for the job.

Weights Coach -Stuart Livingstone. There are posters here who will sook and moan about how we are ýoung'but that is just a poor man's excuse. I looked at Dale Thomas yesterday, the way he tackled with intesity, the way he chased hard for tha tsecond, third tackle. His tackles stick. Our boys can't tackle to save themselves. Judd and Gibbs are the only two who stand up in a tackle. Perhaps our weight coach needs to harden our boys up a bit more because we cannot stick our tackles at all, and when we do get tackled, we can't break it or stay standing in it.

A lot of people are asking for Ratten's head. I disagree, I think he is simply doing the best he can with the things on offer. I think it's othe rpeople around him that need to be shaped up or shifted out. The players need to learn to take responsibility, not to look for other excuses or reasons about losses or poor performances. It is not Ratten's fault entirely. I think our club has screwed up with some of the coaching staff.

Sticks is President. Surely he needs to stand up with Gregg Swan and say that crap performances by our staff is not good enough, and time to move the B graders of the world on and away from our club.

Yep the people he has around him are the ones I question, Teague especially this role is important development, when you look at other sides ie: Pies, Demons, etc their young un;s seem to be coming on, and depth, Lappin, Munor, I reckon there's better out there...

Confidence and belief are a huge factor as well.

I just cannot understand why on earth our club has gone with David Teague as development coach. What a total joke.

I agree, we need an independent audit at the end of the year. Collingwood are going miles ahead of us with off-field, members, supporters, attendance... and here we are, going no where at the moment.

In terms of recruiting, can someone explain to me why we didn't try for Luke Ball?

I just cannot understand why on earth our club has gone with David Teague as development coach. What a total joke.

I agree, we need an independent audit at the end of the year. Collingwood are going miles ahead of us with off-field, members, supporters, attendance... and here we are, going no where at the moment.

In terms of recruiting, can someone explain to me why we didn't try for Luke Ball?

Fair call that our development coaches need to be looked at. Don't know Teague's qualifications, job description, or just how well those in the know rate him, so will leave any comment on his role. The NB's seem to have performed pretty well over the past couple of years, so hard to be too critical if that is his primary responsibility. Obviously he is juggling a dual role, and the 'development academy' only came into being last year (from memory?) so perhaps there is still a bit of bedding down to be done.

Don't know about the weights coach either. No point chipping the coaches on the periphery when we have more pressing concerns at the top. Question marks over our dietician through as clearly we have bg problems with hunger.

Didn't we co-tentant the Storm until recently? Beats me why we can't stick a tackle.

Luke Ball? May have something to do with the fact that we had already brough in McLean and Ball showd no interest in going anywhere other than Collingwood. Harry hindsight vindicates his choice.

The player who was pick 30 in the last draft and priced himself out of the reach of 15 clubs?

Ball wanted to join Collingwood who are top four and the right demographic for a player of his experience.

Rinse and repeat for Barry Hall.
What does size have to do with a player's performance and desperation on the field? :confused:

I could name more than two players who stand up in tackle and use their size.

Yarran's smashed McPhee to win a contested possession and then broke a Pavlich tackle to get free.

Grigg stands up in tackles.

It's more a lack of want, than a lack of size.

How do you know if there is a communication problem between Munro and the rest of the coaching panel?

That's just an assumption.

Our attendances aren't as high as Collingwood's because they're up and not locked into Etihad stadium.

They got a great deal at the MCG.

Essendon and Carlton are restricted by having a mausoleum with the capacity of just 52,000 as their home ground.

Blame Collo and the AFL who made us move to that goat track.

I would prefer the club to piss the Bullants off, field our own reserves side, and play out of Visy park. Development'Reserves coach is a very impoirtant part of the senior sides make up, David Teague is not the right person for that role imo.

Instead of aiming the gun at the coaches, aim it at the players. No amount of development coaches, or people to study the opposition will help what happened yesterday.

Its the players application that is severely lacking. As Ratten said they refuse to put their body on the line, tackle, the basic fundamentals of football.

hard to rate teague as a coach. From the bullants game on the weekend it looks as if we play an old fassion 90's style of footy that involves a lot of kicking long into the forwards line. I recon the fact that Teague was coached by Pagan really shows. It's not a bad style of footy played in the VFL but the lack of use of short kicks was dissapointing. Teague might be ok as a VFL coach, not sure about as a development coach. It's hard to say.

What does size have to do with a player's performance and desperation on the field? :confused:

I could name more than two players who stand up in tackle and use their size.

Yarran's smashed McPhee to win a contested possession and then broke a Pavlich tackle to get free.

Grigg stands up in tackles.

It's more a lack of want, than a lack of size.

I think Yazza is a little way off using his chunkiness TG if he is to ever be a true inside player but I love your fanaticism

I would prefer the club to piss the Bullants off, field our own reserves side, and play out of Visy park. Development'Reserves coach is a very impoirtant part of the senior sides make up, David Teague is not the right person for that role imo.

Yes, yes and yes. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Yup numbers and Serenity... it isnt hurting the filth at all to have their own VFL team and I reckon that it could be a good move by the club to get into this big time.

I am also wondering why Teague is working as a development coach... it's not as if he was an a-grade player when he was playing. We should have a proper development coach at the club who is part physio, part coach and can actually monitor the players to ensure that they are developing physically and in a skills sense.

The one thing that I am against is having the sports scientists telling the coaching staff that kicking training can strain muscles and that they should only be doing a certain amount of kicking in training.

From here, I would like to see the club really start cranking up the kicking training and work them into the ground doing that.

I am also wondering why Teague is working as a development coach... it's not as if he was an a-grade player when he was playing. We should have a proper development coach at the club who is part physio, part coach and can actually monitor the players to ensure that they are developing physically and in a skills sense.

As rightly pointed out by Blue Yoss, Teague is one of four development coaches with the other three being Darren Harris (Development and Academy Manager), who was recruited from the Eagles, Braddles & Matthew Capuano (dual premiership ruckman), whose work with our young rucks is already showing promising results.

It is not unusual for the VFL coach to also be one of the development coaches given the amount of time the VFL coach spends with the younger players on the list (some of our senior players should have a look at some videos of how Teaguey played the game, no question of putting his body on the line).

We need to throw a lot of money at getting Lloyd as a dev. coach. We need a person who specialises in developing tall players and Lloyd has super credentials. All the exsheedy coached Essendon players are doing really well coaching their teams (Bailey, Hardwick, Harvey). He was one of the greatest tall forwards of all time and had all the tricks and smarts to go with his skill. His knowledge of forward line structure would be top notch. He's played in the modern era. Has worked with the AIS in footy player dev. IIRC. Comes from another club than all the carlton's coaches who are mostly excarlton players.

Including the development coaches, we have 9 coaches, 5 of whom did not play for Carlton, while Teague played with both North & Carlton. Not as strong a Carlton flavour as some would think.

Also it's time to try and get SOS back to the club and move Teague on. I'd be happy for him to coach the bullants and let him try his hand as a head coach at that level. Also another person highly qualified to develop our talls and would be able to bring a lot from his time at St. Kilda and the Bulldogs.