- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Richmond
- Other Teams
- #VICBIAS
Massive Astbury fan. Just does the right thing, every time.

Yup agree 100%. He reads the play very well, makes good decisions, and has great composure and vision when he has the pill.
These are fantastic attributes for a first round, up and coming midfielder, but he is 195cm and 81kg! Has shown so much for a potential KPP at such a young age. Getting plenty of game time and once we get another 8-10 kg on him he will be a star.
Have said it before, but reckon there's a fair bit of Jimmy Hird about this kid.![]()
Maybe 85kg but he will add some this pre season so it wont matter to much. Looking foward to him and Griffiths playing in a couple of years.Think he weighs close to 90kg now
Maybe 85kg but he will add some this pre season so it wont matter to much. Looking foward to him and Griffiths playing in a couple of years.
I'm with MT. Rance has yet to play in a Richmond team that is up and going - like so many others he'll do better with confident players around him and there's been a lot to like re his improvement on 09. Can play a number of roles I think. I do query his pace a bit.I think Rance will be a pretty good player. Not sure which is his best spot but think he'll become some sort of danger player. His only real deficency has been his overhead marking because we don't often see him take them but he actually took some nice strong high overhead marks at Coburg so he obviously can take them. Once he gets his confidence up he'll be very good imo. Could play a Max Rooke type forward role or may even surprise as a big midfielder. Can help out in defence too
Love this kid too. Others have mentioned his spolis, also love his tackling - plays very physical for a young raw kidMassive Astbury fan. Just does the right thing, every time.
Those teams are almost there. And Westhoff is still a while away from playing. And Webberley will be in our best 22 by the end of the year.How about this
Moore Goudis Newman
Deledio Post Connors
Astbury Martin Rance
Taylor Westhoff Morton
Reiwoldt Griffiths Nason
Graham Cotchin Foley
Cousins Tuck Jackson Edwards
OR
Moore Goudis Thursfield
Connors McGuane Newman
Astbury Martin Deledio
Morton Post Nason
Reiwoldt Griffiths Tuck
Graham Cotchin Foley
Cousins Collins Jackson Tambling
I could go on all night about Dave, Astbury can play anywhere, he really has a good head on his shoulders. When I told him he did great in his first game he said I didnt do enough, he kicks 3 goals in his first match and he wasnt happy, thank God we have kids like Dave who arent happy with second best.
Ben Nason, Dustin Martin, Jeromey Webberley, David Astbury, all great.
Troy Taylor, Relton Roberts, Ben Griffiths and Matty Dea have shown a bit but need more games for you to what I already Know.
Grimes, Westhoff, Goudis, Gilligan(back on board) Hicks and Contin will show something.
Oh and Mitch Farmer is starting show why Dimma wanted him.
You're starting to warm up, like and love Astbury what about the rest of the guys we have gotten?
ITS TIGER TIME.
Not by richmond fans.I really like him. He is so clean with the ball, a real one touch player. Very underated.
Saw that1st qtr, he quickly handballed off and in the same motion pointed 180deg behind him for the (forget who it was) recipient to kick back over his (Astbutys) head. Amazing stuff, and i bet Dimma will point that out to the team. Astbury knew where it had to go but wasnt in a position to do it, so took the next best option to get it there. The player did, and we changed to space, and it was delivered beautifully into the forward line with ease.
This kid has the "footy smarts" like i havnt seen for someone so inexperienced. What a ripper he is![]()