Training Training thread - news and live reports

• Thread starter Thread starter Phillyroo

He would be one of the AFL Acamedy kids. Sat with a few of them on the plane coming home. They were all going to clubs to do a bit of training this week and leading into xmas.
Thank god. At first glance I thought it was Wags with a ridiculous man bun.

Did Sam "2nd best distance athlete in the AFL" Gibson have any operations in the off-season?

If not, I have more questions.

Who was supposedly the best?

I doubt many, if any, other players covers more ground than Gibbo.

Did Sam "2nd best distance athlete in the AFL" Gibson have any operations in the off-season?

If not, I have more questions.
The answer to the questions are that he has just had a kid and not done any training while Wood and Fordham have been in Utah

Is that Hrovat in the pic ^?

Bloody hell he's small! (whoever it is)

Who was supposedly the best?

I doubt many, if any, other players covers more ground than Gibbo.
Blicavs, given that he was an actual world class distance runner.

Clubs keep things close to their chests but Gibbo is generally considered next best.

Others sometimes cover more ground too. Loogie has been known to rack up the most k's in game and I wouldn't be surprised if Wood did too.

Blicavs, given that he was an actual world class distance runner.

Clubs keep things close to their chests but Gibbo is generally considered next best.

Others sometimes cover more ground too. Loogie has been known to rack up the most k's in game and I wouldn't be surprised if Wood did too.

Ah....of course. Forgot about him, thanks Rob.

I reckon you are right that Gibbo would be second. Sloane and Gaff seem to cover lots of ground also.

I guess it depends on roles etc, not just running capacity as you imply.

Forwards lapping midfielders.

Crv5hCjVIAE78v9.jpg

Shouldn't be surprising unfortunately, considering how slow/stagnant we have been through there.

Being stagnant is probably more of a product of a bad system and bad coaching, you don't need to be fast or have great endurance to plod from one position to the other. I think it is not knowing where to go or what to do and not being told differently by the coaches. If they were doing something the coach didn't want them to do then there would have been some effort, irrespective how token, of doing it differently. We pretty much went through the motions from mid season onwards.

I just don't think he has recovered from his achilles injury, he has been kicking the ball like it is a beach ball as well. It is sad, but most players don't age as gracefully as Boomer.

Being stagnant is probably more of a product of a bad system and bad coaching, you don't need to be fast or have great endurance to plod from one position to the other. I think it is not knowing where to go or what to do and not being told differently by the coaches. If they were doing something the coach didn't want them to do then there would have been some effort, irrespective how token, of doing it differently. We pretty much went through the motions from mid season onwards.

I just don't think he has recovered from his achilles injury, he has been kicking the ball like it is a beach ball as well. It is sad, but most players don't age as gracefully as Boomer.

I could easily put my pic of Scott thrusting his groin and pulling a face at this moment, but I will refrain.

If you expect Scott to do something different, mid-season that is as he seems to change his game plan every year in off-season, then you will be disappointed.

Swallow is still good/tough in close, excellent tackler, and for mine best 22. He just can't run and putting Cunners and Zeibell in the inside mid rotation together is madness.

I could easily put my pic of Scott thrusting his groin and pulling a face at this moment, but I will refrain.

If you expect Scott to do something different, mid-season that is as he seems to change his game plan every year in off-season, then you will be disappointed.

Swallow is still good/tough in close, excellent tackler, and for mine best 22. He just can't run and putting Cunners and Zeibell in the inside mid rotation together is madness.

I'm just saying that I don't think our lack of movement is due to players fitness or their desire. As I said, if the players were not doing what the coaches wanted them to then there would have been some effort, even a token effort, towards making more of an effort to move around.

Even guys who could run and did have endurance didn't move aggressively, most of our movement was reactionary and lacked any kind of system. I blame Scott primarily for the way we play, at the end of the day, he is the coach and he is responsible for the standard of footy we play.

Being stagnant is probably more of a product of a bad system and bad coaching, you don't need to be fast or have great endurance to plod from one position to the other.
Incorrect. You need to be uninjured, unimpeded and have a good engine.

I think it is not knowing where to go or what to do and not being told differently by the coaches.
Incorrect. Spitta never had trouble finding the pill. The guys body was wrecked last year and he just couldn't run. Or do you think Gibson is a better runner than anyone else because he has better instruction?

We pretty much went through the motions from mid season onwards.
Come one mate, you're better than that.

At last, the truth comes out.